We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambiance - ok food ”
Review of Andalucia Tapas

Andalucia Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Andalucia Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #218 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good ambiance - ok food ”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I'm staying downtown Houston for a convention and yelped for a nearby restaurant with different vibe. Andalucia looked great and when we arrive the ambiance was good, many people enjoying their good happy hour. Great tapas selection and by far our favorite was Pulpo a la Braza. Solomillo en higo/Nuez was also good. Slow service as the restaurant was very busy. Good house wine at affordable prices. Recommend to make reservations if you plan to arrive around 8pm.

Helpful?
Thank Gemsinvestments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    62
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wide selection of hot tapas”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

FOOD:
*Empanadillas de Res (beef empanada) - very decent. Puff pastry was crispy and had a good flavor to it.

*Albondigas Morunos (Roasted Lamb meatballs) - lamb was gamey, couscous was good but too salty

*Pinchos de Res - marinated beef tenderloin was tough, no flavor

*Cola de Buey (Braised Oxtail) - good,but sherry wine sauce did not go well with the meat.

*Caracoles al Ajillo (Sauteed Escargot) - the best description I can give you is the escargot tasted similar to dirt.

*Queso de Cabra Horneado (Baked goat cheese) - can't go wrong with fried cheese!

COMMENTS:
* From Hostess @ 5:20 pm: "If i give you a table now are you going to stay until 8:00 pm?". I did not feel welcome at this point.

* After we were done with the first order, I ordered one more tapas. When the last dish came, instead of picking up the dirty dishes, the waitress just pushed the dirty dish to the side instead of taking it away.

*lack of experience with menu suggestions.

* asked for my bill for a 2nd time.

ADDITIONAL INFO:
*Parking lot across the street is $10-$15

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to like this place so bad, but couldn't. First, the place is way too big, bright and touristy. I was hoping for intimate and cozy. The 7or 8 tapas we ordered were fine, but not memorable. The flamenco music was just okay. The guitarist just wasn't technically very advanced. The percussionist was fine too, but frequently went off on his own playing I don't know what. The flamenco dancer wasn't nearly as agile as I expected. Sorry to be harsh, but she was I'm sure good in her prime, but definitely past it. A bit on the slow and out of shape side to really put on a memorable performance. If this is the best Houston has to offer Id suggest making the trip to San Antonio or Austin who have better musicians and dancers.

Helpful?
Thank Joeyavidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Ate at Andalucia for the first time today. Atmosphere was better than average but the food and service were mixed. Gazpacho was the worst I ever had as it was like glorified tomato soup, and lousy compared to my recipe. I understand there is no set recipe for gazpacho, as some are chunky, some not, but this was lousy. On the other hand house salad and lamb meatballs were very good. Service seemed inconsistent, as waitress came by frequently then rarely came by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly a good find”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The restaurant is unassuming, crowded and noisy; the service is fast competent and friendly. The menu is quite extensive and without going into details, I would suggest that for the lovers of tapas reading this review there are dishes for all tastes. The prices are moderate. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andalucia Tapas also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Andalucia Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing