We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely served our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
Ranked #166 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
389 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Definitely served our needs”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

On a recent trip to Houston, we chose this Wingate facility (we've been well served by Wingate in other locations). This specific Wingate is hampered by it's physical location - and that is the main reason for our 'very good' rating as opposed to an 'excellent' rating. The room was clean and comfortable (not as 'roomy' as other Wingate facilities - but adequate <even with three adults>. The staff was welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. The interior areas were well maintained and clean. All and all, it was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardB562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    200
    135
    66
    36
See reviews for
168
138
58
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and the staff. The overall appearance of the hotel was bright, clean, well-maintained and comfortable. The staff including Tiffany and Hilda were very welcoming, cheerful and helpful at all times. I enjoyed the breakfast that was served in the main floor dining room. The variety of breakfast food was fresh and delicious. The dining staff kept everything very neat and stocked for guests as they arrived at different times. My room was very clean and comfortable and included a microwave and refrigerator. It had everything I needed to enjoy my stay. While this may not be the most luxurious hotel in Houston, if you are looking for a bargain in excellent hotel service, you may want to give the Wingate Bush Intercontinental Airport a try. If I am ever back in Houston, this is definitely where I will be staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nystr0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITALY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My Sister in law and I have stayed at this Wingate several times lately due to her having to go to MD Anderson. The staff has always done their best to accomodate our needs for a ground floor room which is so important to us. We love the cookies and great breakfast. We will be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Lavonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Close to IAH, friendly service, very good free breakfast, great rate*********************************************************************

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great Airport Layover airport for in transit. Friendly staff and quick shuttle to and from Airport. Clean rooms and good sleep co0nsidering proximity of airport. The fact that late arrivals are not an issue made the stay even more easy.. I would recommend this hotel for transit or even visiting Houston to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWARK
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

excellent service, efficiency of staff, Ability of the hotel staff to deliver a great experience throughout the stay.
thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank DAISY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was thrilling to arrive in Houston for the first time to film a television appearance, and having this hotel so close to the airport with lots of amenities and an attentive staff made the trip fantastic.

My ground floor room with king-size bed was plenty spacious. Great reception on the flat screen TV, and the writing/computer desk in one corner and lounge chair/ottoman in the other made me feel right at home. I didn't hear a peep from other guests which made for a restful sleep in the super-comfy bed.

I enjoyed the manager's evening reception with hot and cold snacks and a superb iced tea (wines available on request), and the free breakfast the next morning (everything you could imagine in hot and cold versions for a great start) put a big smile on my face before leaving by car for the day.

It's so convenient to have a generously-sized microwave and refrigerator in the room. Tiffany, at the front desk, told me exactly where to go for lunch, and she was "on the money" in terms of selection and low cost. What a sweetheart.

There was one insect problem that I admit is common with all hotels which management immediately addressed, and I mean immediately (kudos to the staff). I'll just say that the phrase about things being bigger in Texas is absolutely true!

Stay here. It's convenient to all roads and a safe, comfortable location for all things Houston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
11.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton HOU Intercontinental Airport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
14.2 mi away
Modern B&B
Modern B&B
#62 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Kingwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH

Property: Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
Address: 1330 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77032-2932 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Intercontinental)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed 60 room property with everything you need for an enjoyable stay in Houston!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Bush Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing