We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff Made this Trip Worthwhile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
Ranked #190 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was thrilling to arrive in Houston for the first time to film a television appearance, and having this hotel so close to the airport with lots of amenities and an attentive staff made the trip fantastic.

My ground floor room with king-size bed was plenty spacious. Great reception on the flat screen TV, and the writing/computer desk in one corner and lounge chair/ottoman in the other made me feel right at home. I didn't hear a peep from other guests which made for a restful sleep in the super-comfy bed.

I enjoyed the manager's evening reception with hot and cold snacks and a superb iced tea (wines available on request), and the free breakfast the next morning (everything you could imagine in hot and cold versions for a great start) put a big smile on my face before leaving by car for the day.

It's so convenient to have a generously-sized microwave and refrigerator in the room. Tiffany, at the front desk, told me exactly where to go for lunch, and she was "on the money" in terms of selection and low cost. What a sweetheart.

There was one insect problem that I admit is common with all hotels which management immediately addressed, and I mean immediately (kudos to the staff). I'll just say that the phrase about things being bigger in Texas is absolutely true!

Stay here. It's convenient to all roads and a safe, comfortable location for all things Houston.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepper1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 660 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

The stay itself was good apart from the theft that took place by a member of staff who entered the room once we vacated, and then straight away we called the hotel and the phone which was suprisingly turned off. We spoke to the person on reception who said that there was no phone in the room and that he has questioned the staff. Outside the room there is a cctv camera covering the room and the hallway. We will be passing this comment onto the managing director of this hotel chain and would like to see it investigated as it has caused extreme anxiety and trauma before our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msgrewal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After a long international flight and a layover no thanks to United Airlines. The Windgate on 1330 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX was a great place to stay the night after a long day of traveling. Great price, great rooms, great everything.

Room Tip: Any room would do just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Although we spent a lot of time at the track, our weekly stay at this hotel was great. The GM really went above and beyond in providing us with the best service and value. Thanks for putting up the signs to enable us coaches, adults and parents the opportunity to at least get access to the business center. The late check out was also greatly appreciated! I look forward to booking with you again the next go around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed there for 1 night, but was really pleased with the service and the room. The room was both clean and comfortable. An amazing breakfast spread the next morning before we left for our flight. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur_McTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Landed IEH and wanted one night close to the airport. This was the hotel picked from the reviews. Pretty close, modern hotel, clean. Good price. Friendly staff. Ok breakfast, good enough for 1/2 nights.pool looked nice, although it was off the breakfast area, depends how shy you are!
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I would love to thank the two ladies that worked the front desk THEY WERE GREA!!!! I had a cancelled flight and had to stay 5 hrs in houston . I booked this hotel on an iphone. We got there at midnight they were very warm and welcoming. We had 4 people and my daughter they got us a cot for her so we could all get a few hrs sleep before our flight. The room was very nice and very clean. Breakfast didn't start till 6 they allowed us to eat a lil earlier. THANKS THANKS so so much Ladies. Dawn

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnmtorres42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
2 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus North Houston Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton HOU Intercontinental Airport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH

Address: 1330 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77032-2932 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Intercontinental)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed 60 room property with everything you need for an enjoyable stay in Houston!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Bush Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing