We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel stay ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
Ranked #171 of 492 Hotels in Houston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel stay ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel went well beyond my expectations, and I bragged to my friends who stayed at the Hilton! The rooms were huge, be sure to get the jacuzzi suite! Jerrica, the manager, and Tiffeny, were the best hotel employees I have ever met. I would never stay at any other hotel than this one. The hotel was the highlight of the entire trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
You are an AWESOME person, you kept us with tears in our from laughing so much!!! Good luck and hopefully you'll make another trip to Houston soon Dr. T :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    182
    122
    58
    34
See reviews for
146
124
56
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This quaint hotel is most conveniently located 5 minutes from Bush intercontinental airport. There is ample secure parking. The rooms were updated and immaculately clean with quality toiletries, The staff is so wonderful. We forgot a few random things and they accommodated everything we needed, and they went the extra mile when I had a terrible migraine headache in the middle of the night and they even provided my brand of headache medicine(over the counter of course, they aren't a pharmacy!). There's fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, a good variety of fresh breakfast items. Despite the proximity to the airport I did not hear an over flying airplane my whole stay. Overall a quiet hotel. It's refreshing to find this high quality service for such a reasonable price. I plan on giving this chain and certainly this hotel more of my business in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We enjoyed having you stay with us ans we are so glad that we were able to accommodate with everything that you needed. We will see you soon I'm glad that we made you a loyal customer!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I arrived without a reservation after realizing I needed a place to sleep during my long airport layover. I was greeted and checked in very courteously. Since I was checked out extremely early and missing the breakfast, the very friendly clerk found a granola bar and apple for me. The room was clean and quiet, and my 4:30 airport shuttle was on time ands friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammolite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Although your stay with us was short it is very gratifying to know that my staff made an impression on you, come back and see us soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times and always enjoyed my stay. This hotel offers great value, dependable shuttle service, excellent front service (Darius is very helpful and nice), nice breakfast. Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelelectrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and your continued business with us we love to hear how well the staff takes care of our guests but after staying with us once you are family now!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Jerrica Connor has got a great team and a great hotel. Excellent location, Good Value. True "Free Hot Breakfast". Darius at the front desk was very helpful, got us in our room early and put our rooms together. And provided local restaurant info. We were in Houston for unfortunate Family Business and the staff bent over backwards to make it the best stay ever. Amber was very helpful at the front desk as well. Pool area was clean and refreshing. Rooms were well maintained, clean and well furnished. Definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I know that the reason your family was here was very unfortunate but we are glad that we got to meet and talk with all of you, your entire family was great!!! Remember next time that you are in town your Houston family is waiting for you at the Wingate!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Although I encountered several issues with the property the staff was exceptionally professional the entire time. Each person showed an interest to my issues and compliants without showing one sign of unconcern or frustration. The way they handled the entire situation with my complaints was awesome. I can not complain about the staff. They made my staying bearable. They should be commended for their professional attitudes and willingness to make my stay what I was expecting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I know that you had a few issues during your stay which again I apologize but I'm glad that you still commend the front desk agents as they did their best to try and accommodate you. Although there are some situations where the staff can only do so much I know that my team will continue to go above and beyond to please our guests. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg,
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I brought a group of College Students on a business trip and we stayed at the Wingate. While the hotel itself is in pretty good condition, there were numerous problems with housekeeping and the front desk staff. Our first night there, the rooms were not cleaned by housekeeping. When I approached the young lady at the front desk about the situation that evening, she seemed rather frustrated because housekeeping had left for the day. She even seemed bothered with us asking for towels, too busy on talking the phone I suppose. I could tell that it wasn't hotel business because she was speaking in Spanish and I'm somewhat fluent in the language. The next morning when I explained the situation to the lady who had checked us in the previous night, she stated the problem may have occurred because of our very late arrival. However, I called the hotel twice to notify them of this situation and we were in our rooms well before housekeeping started knocking on doors. Sounds to me as if someone may have neglected indicating that our rooms were occupied in the system.

When housekeeping was eventually called to service my room, all the housekeeper did was make the bed and left - nothing else. A student complained the next night that a lipstick stain on her pillow which she requested be changed was simply flipped over onto the other side. That is simply beyond ridiculous. The pillowcase should've been changed.

Besides this, other problems noticed by students were the front desk staff having continuous personal conversations on the phone, staff always on the computer in the business center, and the staff was eating much of the breakfast that is supposed to be for guests. While I didn't witness this personally, I have never known students to exaggerate about something like that. I emailed the hotel manager to contact me about 'issues' we were having but she never responded or called me. While some of the hotel staff were friendly, as a Management Professor, I strongly believe that more professionalism and customer service training is needed.

That being said, given the problems with housekeeping, I'm not so sure I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is particular about cleanliness. As for service and professionalism, I've seen better at a Days Inn and I don't even stay at those anymore! I expected better at a Wyndam property.

Room Tip: Be prepared to get a temporary Eztag, the hotel is located on a toll road and most of the stops do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sg2011523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I greatly apologize for your inconvenience but it is hotel policy that rooms are not serviced same day check-in. The front desk agent that you informed may have seemed a bit frustrated because housekeeping was already gone for the day and I can assure you that any phone conversations that you may have heard were work related as they were in regards to getting your guest rooms cleaned. We will take all of this a learning experience so that we can train better for situations such as these, we hope that you will give us another try and see how we've improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston IAH - Beltway 8
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston IAH / Beltway 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Houston- Sam Houston Parkway
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton HOU Intercontinental Airport
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH

Property: Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
Address: 1330 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77032-2932 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Intercontinental)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed 60 room property with everything you need for an enjoyable stay in Houston!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Bush Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing