We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great nap on layover from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
Ranked #181 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I arrived without a reservation after realizing I needed a place to sleep during my long airport layover. I was greeted and checked in very courteously. Since I was checked out extremely early and missing the breakfast, the very friendly clerk found a granola bar and apple for me. The room was clean and quiet, and my 4:30 airport shuttle was on time ands friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ammolite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Although your stay with us was short it is very gratifying to know that my staff made an impression on you, come back and see us soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 644 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times and always enjoyed my stay. This hotel offers great value, dependable shuttle service, excellent front service (Darius is very helpful and nice), nice breakfast. Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelelectrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for your review and your continued business with us we love to hear how well the staff takes care of our guests but after staying with us once you are family now!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Jerrica Connor has got a great team and a great hotel. Excellent location, Good Value. True "Free Hot Breakfast". Darius at the front desk was very helpful, got us in our room early and put our rooms together. And provided local restaurant info. We were in Houston for unfortunate Family Business and the staff bent over backwards to make it the best stay ever. Amber was very helpful at the front desk as well. Pool area was clean and refreshing. Rooms were well maintained, clean and well furnished. Definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

I know that the reason your family was here was very unfortunate but we are glad that we got to meet and talk with all of you, your entire family was great!!! Remember next time that you are in town your Houston family is waiting for you at the Wingate!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Although I encountered several issues with the property the staff was exceptionally professional the entire time. Each person showed an interest to my issues and compliants without showing one sign of unconcern or frustration. The way they handled the entire situation with my complaints was awesome. I can not complain about the staff. They made my staying bearable. They should be commended for their professional attitudes and willingness to make my stay what I was expecting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

I know that you had a few issues during your stay which again I apologize but I'm glad that you still commend the front desk agents as they did their best to try and accommodate you. Although there are some situations where the staff can only do so much I know that my team will continue to go above and beyond to please our guests. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I brought a group of College Students on a business trip and we stayed at the Wingate. While the hotel itself is in pretty good condition, there were numerous problems with housekeeping and the front desk staff. Our first night there, the rooms were not cleaned by housekeeping. When I approached the young lady at the front desk about the situation that evening, she seemed rather frustrated because housekeeping had left for the day. She even seemed bothered with us asking for towels, too busy on talking the phone I suppose. I could tell that it wasn't hotel business because she was speaking in Spanish and I'm somewhat fluent in the language. The next morning when I explained the situation to the lady who had checked us in the previous night, she stated the problem may have occurred because of our very late arrival. However, I called the hotel twice to notify them of this situation and we were in our rooms well before housekeeping started knocking on doors. Sounds to me as if someone may have neglected indicating that our rooms were occupied in the system.

When housekeeping was eventually called to service my room, all the housekeeper did was make the bed and left - nothing else. A student complained the next night that a lipstick stain on her pillow which she requested be changed was simply flipped over onto the other side. That is simply beyond ridiculous. The pillowcase should've been changed.

Besides this, other problems noticed by students were the front desk staff having continuous personal conversations on the phone, staff always on the computer in the business center, and the staff was eating much of the breakfast that is supposed to be for guests. While I didn't witness this personally, I have never known students to exaggerate about something like that. I emailed the hotel manager to contact me about 'issues' we were having but she never responded or called me. While some of the hotel staff were friendly, as a Management Professor, I strongly believe that more professionalism and customer service training is needed.

That being said, given the problems with housekeeping, I'm not so sure I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is particular about cleanliness. As for service and professionalism, I've seen better at a Days Inn and I don't even stay at those anymore! I expected better at a Wyndam property.

Room Tip: Be prepared to get a temporary Eztag, the hotel is located on a toll road and most of the stops do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sg2011523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

I greatly apologize for your inconvenience but it is hotel policy that rooms are not serviced same day check-in. The front desk agent that you informed may have seemed a bit frustrated because housekeeping was already gone for the day and I can assure you that any phone conversations that you may have heard were work related as they were in regards to getting your guest rooms cleaned. We will take all of this a learning experience so that we can train better for situations such as these, we hope that you will give us another try and see how we've improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Last February I stayed at the Wingate, because the hotel I normally stay in was fully booked.
It takes about 20 minutes by shuttle to get there, and must say that their way of transportation was great. Once their shuttle arrives at the terminal, you get greeted by one of their staff members who drives you to the hotel. At check in everything went well and the room I stayed in was perfect. It had a small kitchenette inside... had complimentary coffee in the room, and their Breakfast buffet had a nice variety.
I would definitely stay there again. The only negative side of the hotel is the location, as they don't have a restaurant, and when wanting to dine out, you need to take a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Hopefully we will be your first choice each time you visit our wonderful City of Houston!!! Although our location isn't the greatest our shuttle can take you to restaurants along the route to the airport that way you can save on a taxi. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Selected this hotel as was arriving at IAH late one night and departing from IAH the next morning. I selected this hotel based on a number of Tripadvisor reviews. The complimentary shuttle was nice, the checkin staff were friendly, but maybe I just received a poor room, 324. The A/C didn't seem to work well, maybe a thermostat problem. But I was very disappointed and disgusted with the amount of dirt buildup on the a/c unit. For the money it was OK, but not enough to recommend or book again without looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkuryak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

The a/c unit build-up is unacceptable and our maintenance and porter have been working to clean each and every unit as we do pride ourselves on cleanliness and should there be any issues we try to resolve them ASAP. I think that you will find that we have more to offer other than just a good rate if you stay with us again any issues bring them to our attention and we do our absolute best to resolve them for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton HOU Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#314 of 517 in Houston
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston IAH - Beltway 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bush Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH

Address: 1330 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77032-2932 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Intercontinental)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed 60 room property with everything you need for an enjoyable stay in Houston!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Bush Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing