We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
Ranked #182 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I began by looking for a simple, clean, free wi-fi, room near the airport (IAH) for a one-night stay. I don't expect much, just cleanliness, comfort, decent neighborhood. I found this one while searching for 2+ stars and was able to book a room easily. I didn't understand the 2+ rating since it was a Wyndham property because they've got a great reputation.

I walked in and was truly surprised. On the drive-up, clean area, very well maintained property. Lobby entry, very clean and elegant, super friendly and easy-going reception/registration clerk. Room was outstanding!! Very clear, well-appointed, separate business/dining area and a separate sleeping area, a true suite. Everything in the room was upscale, clean, classy.

There was one negative though...They do not have a restaurant inside but let me know that they had a sister motel next door where I could buy dinner. This was the negative...I didn't mind walking next door but the meal they classified as a "dinner" for $10.00 was nothing more than some breaded chicken strips, french fries, and salad (something they ran out of in the first 45 minutes!). I was completely unsatisfied with that. The good news is that it in no way reflected on my experience at Wingate. The free, all-you-can-eat breakfast was certainly fine (fresh cooked eggs, bacon, misc breads, sweet rolls, waffles, coffees, juices, and more).

All in all, this was a tremendous experience and I highly recommend it for cleanliness, service, shuttle service to IAH, comfort, and all the other amenities listed on their site. I have no complaints (except for food availability).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

I'm so glad that you truly enjoyed your stay with us! We have surprised many guests such as yourself with all of the complimentary amenities at a reasonable inclusive rate, unlike some places we do not sacrifice quality or cleanliness for a good rate...we have it all. I know that a restaurant in close proximity would be ideal for our location, but our drivers can shuttle our guests to places near us; I wish we could open something here (I'm keeping my fingers crossed for something). Hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 644 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

I really enjoy staying at this hotel and the consistently safe and courteous service provided by the staff and management of this property.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Ms. Mayo it is always a pleasure having you all here with us!!!

Jerrica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

It's a new hotel so you would expect better, but maybe there's a reason it was so empty during my 3-night stay. This despite cashing in on a Black Friday online deal for 50% off. The receptionist was incredibly rude to me when I checked in. I've never arrived at the counter to be asked "what's your reservation" so abruptly. This was followed by being given a room facing the highway, then a room that had been smoked in, then finally a decent room. Each time with much rudeness in between and zero courtesy.

Breakfast also royally sucked considering the brand and price of this place. Nothing hot, nothing fresh...just stale bagels, prepackaged donuts and cakes (real healthy!) and mini cereal boxes. Other hotels in the area serve much better breakfasts, with scrambled eggs, hash-browns, fresh cut fruit, etc.. so I was very disappointed.

Not to mention breakfast is only served until 9AM, even on Sunday!!

Small Peeves...
Advertises HBO, but there is no HBO (I even called the desk to ask which channel)

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

I greatly apologize that your experience here was memorable for all the wrong reasons because the behavior that you received is intolerable. I have made multiple staff changes as it unacceptable for the guest service agents to be anything less than friendly and customer service oriented. It is you the guest that any of us even have jobs and you should never have been treated as if you were and inconvenience. We are working towards improving all aspects of the hotel with the guests questions, comments, and concerns in mind. We hope you will try us again!!!

Jerrica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Very happy with my stay at this hotel. The hotel staff were great. Jerricca the manager was awesome and provided great tips on where to shop and where to have some fun. If and when I am ever back in Houston I will stay at this hotel. It was very convienent and the staff were excellent!

Room Tip: Get a suite.... its nice and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AP6910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

The staff works very hard to keep our guest satisfied, I am pleased to know their hard work is paying off. Wingate is still a fairly new to the area and we are looking to make our mark!!! Your review just pushed us closer to our goal Thank You so much and we hope to see you again soon!!!
Jerrica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Recently, I was a guest at the Houston-Wingate hotel and want to commend you on the awesome customer service experience that I enjoyed.

The front staff was very helpful and friendly.

I received excellent transportation assistance as well. Minnie - I think that was her name......was Fantastic. Her personality and willingness to go the extra mile were priceless.

As a previous Flight Attendant, I have been to many overnight stays at various locations and can say, without hesitation, the Houston-Wingate surpassed many of my expectations.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Although the location was not so good, the van was available after 6 p.m. to take you where you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadaGirlOutnabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

I appreciate your comments about my staff I will make sure that they are acknowledged, I love the fact that my staff will go above and beyond for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new Houston Home!!!
Jerrica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Wingate Hotel went out of there way several times to accommodate my mother's extra needs because of her age. I appreciated it. Jerrica Conner "Hotel Reception" is a asset to the hotel and the company! My family are world travelers and we have never had the service we were given at this hotel. Its the little things that mean the most for older adults like my mother. Thank you for everything Jerrica!
The full breakfast is fantastic and the greeting cookies are to die for!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

It was such a pleasure to have met your mother she is a Strong and Wonderful woman with an awesome spirit and outlook on life that is very apparent. I really enjoyed talking y'all and I look forward to seeing you both again I'll have your cookies and her chair waiting. Hopefully I'll make it to Hawaii one day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

No hassle check-in. Got a single room with king bed. Room was clean and ready when I arrived. Very spacious with a sitting area, closet, ref, microwave, small sink ala "kitchenette". Bathroom was just right in size and had Neutrogena supplies. Huge flat-screen TV. Breakfast bar had waffles, eggs, sausage, breads, coffees, juices. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Airport shuttle was on time and the driver was a great guy! Great value!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Martin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateIAH, General Manager at Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and the pictures you posted were awesome!!! I'm glad that you were able to enjoy of all the COMPLIMENTARY amenities that we offer at a low rate. Hope to see you back soon and maybe next time you can join us for our Managers Reception Mon.-Thurs. from 4:00pm-6:00pm.

Jerrica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton HOU Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#309 of 517 in Houston
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston IAH - Beltway 8
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH

Address: 1330 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77032-2932 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Intercontinental)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $73 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed 60 room property with everything you need for an enjoyable stay in Houston!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Bush Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing