We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook
Ranked #158 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Old Lyme, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, close to the airport”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here only one night, but after our less than stellar couple of nights at the Marriott near the medical center downtown, this was a welcome surprise.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. the staff friendly and courteous. Not too many guests at the hotel, so didn't have any noise issues.

We were there for a Monday night and they had "happy hour" with complimentary snacks, wine and beer. Nothing fancy, but a nice gesture. Breakfast the next morning was good, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. etc. plenty to eat.

Nice to have a small kitchenette area w/ micro, fridge, coffee maker & sink.

Parking was convenient with a gas station right down the road towards the airport (convenient for filling up the rental car)

Overall I would recommend this hotel as an excellent value, especially if you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    115
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
140
59
36
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Overall, our stay was satisfactory. However, if were to travel to Houston again, we would look for a different hotel. Here's why:

Good Points:
-Everyone we encountered that worked for the hotel was very friendly. We arrived several hours after the 3pm check-in time and the late check-in was no problem at all. The woman at check-out was also very pleasant.
-The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable.
-The air conditioning worked very well.
-The shower has a massaging shower head, so if you like that kind of thing, you would like that. (I don't know how tall people would wash their hair though; it didn't seem to be adjustable.)
-There is an indoor pool and it's open til 10.
-There is a free hot breakfast and free parking.
-The price. We got a deal through Hotwire and it was very affordable to stay here.

Bad Points:
-The free, hot breakfast. I know this is subjective, but I thought it was gross. The hot breakfast portion consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage patties, diced potatoes, and waffles. The scrambled eggs and sausage patties reminded me of the stuff you get at McDonalds, the diced potatoes were cold, and the waffles tasted sour. I don't know how that is even possible, but that's the only way to describe it. I think my husband and I both ate a quarter of the food we got because we were hungry, but quickly stopped.
-The smell. Except for the individual rooms, everywhere else in the hotel smells weird. It hits you when you first walk in, and in the space between the two sets of sliding glass doors it smells like BO. In the hotel, the BO smell is a little more subtle, but still noticeable. It's also very noticeable in the hallways.
-The housekeeping. We came to Houston to shoot a wedding, and our first morning at the hotel was a little hectic getting everything ready, so our room was a little in disarray. (Not like clothes everywhere, we just had an ironing board out.) We also arrived late the night before and just grabbed some Frosties from Wendy's for dinner. We ended up not eating all of them, but didn't want to put them in the trash cans because the trash cans had no bags and we didn't want it to make a mess. So we left them out on the nightstand, thinking housekeeping would see them and throw them away. We had also brought up two juice glasses from breakfast and sat the empty ones by the coffeemaker area for housekeeping to take with them. When we came back to our room at midnight that night, the ironing board was still out, all of the trash in the room was still there, and the juice glasses were still sitting there. It appeared that they had just made the bed and left. Maybe this is what they are supposed to do at this hotel chain, but it's not what we're used do.

Like I said, the experience was OK, but not great. If you want somewhere that's inexpensive for a night or two, this is probably better than a Motel 8. For an extensive stay, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieFromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stopped here on a 1 night layover on our way to Europe. Shuttle Service from the Airport was excellent and arrived in a timely manor, after arriving at the Hotel at 1am - we asked the Front Desk staff if the Burger King on the corner 1/2 mile away would still be open, which we were assured it was. After the half mile walk along the dark Houston frontage road to the Burger King it was a little disappointing to find it closed, there was however a convenience store on the same corner, so we were able to get a snack before hitting the sack.

The Room was clean and appointed with several nice amenities including a Fridge & Microwave. Nice sized room and bathroom, very clean with a nice sized LCD TV.

One of the major factors in deciding to go with this hotel was the previously read recommendations about the breakfast. They were not wrong - this hotel offers a full and free breakfast buffet with Hot & Cold food, coffee, juice, cereal, waffles, toast - anything you could ask for before hitting the road. We wondered down from our room at 8am - an hour before breakfast was due to end and the staff were still on hand making sure the options were well stocked. Along with the awesome rate and clean room, I'd certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling with a family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerHolgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We really did enjoy our weekend get away. The customer service was excellent, the cleanliness of the room was spactacular and the space was abundance...we had an awesome weekend!!!!!!

Room Tip: Excellent choice with any choice you make!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatemanager, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
I'm very glad you enjoyed your weekend at the Wingate by Wyndham! Bringing costumer satisfaction to our guests is our number one goal. Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Really a nice value and very personable staff. Beds were very comfortable, really good shower heads, good breakfast, enjoyed the nightly reception and cookies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmajorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. I enjoyed my stay.The breakfast selection was good as well....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatemanager, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your comment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I had stayed at the property in Henderson,LasVegas back in July 2011 my very first visit at any Wingate location. While visiting Houston I decided to try the location here. The price was well worth it the room was very clean with microwave and frigerator, It had up to date TV large screen. The King plus was excellent for the price. The hotel itself was quiet during the night and the curtains blocked the moring sun so you could actual sleep late if you wanted to. They have a complimentary breakfast with hot and cold items. The front desk staff was very professional would definately stay again.

Room Tip: The King room is well worth the PRICE!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepItMoving009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingatemanager, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
11.4 mi away
Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston - Willowbrook Mall
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Willowbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Willowbrook
Super 8 Willowbrook
#191 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sam Houston Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW/Willowbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook
Address: 9050 Mills Rd, Houston, TX 77070-5523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Houston's premier northwest business and shopping areas, Wingate by Wyndham offers features you expect from a first class business hotel. Within half a mile from 249 and FM 1960. Shopping and variety of restaurants within a mile distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Hotel Houston
Wingate Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing