We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd
Ranked #368 of 510 Hotels in Houston
detroit
1 review
“Nice rooms terrible staff”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

The staff is snippy , dismissive and no help at all.
Shuttle is not dependable , had tro walk twice to the hospital to make appointments, if full wait till next shuttle (hour later) or take a cab ( not very nice if its the last shuttle) .
Hotel offers no help such as a nice place close to eat. ( cant tell you that two hospital serve till late in the evening) . Or Religious services ( cant tell you that the Luthern hospital has services in the chapel).
Think they would have a metro schedule and map no way.
Need to check out early no one at the front desk untill 7 am , they dont tell you to check out day before if your leaving early.
Breakfast is packaged Bagels , packaged muffins coffee & orange juce gets you started untill you can get to better fare.
Room was nice clean , they only clean every 5 days unless you want to pay extra for every day.
Would not stay there ever again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcr161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    35
    31
    51
See reviews for
54
28
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I am a patient at MD Anderson. We have stayed at many hotels in this area over the last 9 months. This one is by far the worst in this price point. We were told one price for an extended stay and then arrived to learn it was $20.00 more a night. Thank goodness we were trying the place out for 1 night before we chose where to ultimately stay for 6 weeks. The outside, grounds, and lobby were immaculate. However, once we entered the elevator, we noticed a horrible smell. The smell continued to the second floor. The hallway had a huge red stain on the carpet - not sure what it was. The room was tiny. All the fixtures and furnishings were very old and tired, including the bedding and curtains. The silverware drawer and utensils were dirty. There were not enough dishes if you were staying for a period of time. The room itself was clean. Internet is not free. The shuttle driver was nice. It is within walking distance of MD Anderson - 2-3 blocks but I wouldn't recommend walking after dark. There are better places to stay in the area for the same price but much nicer. I think ultimately this place was a renovated Wellesley Inn and Suites because the phones said that on them and it was very musty.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pembob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2009

My dad has been a patient at MD Anderson since November '08. He and my mom have been residents of the Extended Stay on Braeswood for the entire time. On my recent visit, I was amazed at how the staff have embraced them like family. They know them by name and are constantly offering to help them and make their stay comfortable. One staff member in particular, Acelia, treats them like kin folk. My deepest most heartfelt appreciation goes to Mike the manager and the clerks, the 'breakfast crew' and the cleaning gals. Access to MD Anderson is perfect, their shuttle takes them to local places for groceries, and the price is unbelievably low. Words cannot tell you what peace i have knowing my parents are staying in such a wonderful place with such wonderful people.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiadawg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Great location to the medical center..The carpets need attention and our room was so small that you could hardly get around the bed..The bathroom could have been cleaned a little better!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We visit Houston's M D Anderson Cancer Center several times each year. For the past year we've stayed at Extended Stay Deluxe on Braeswood. The hotel is within walking distance of the Center AND they offer a shuttle that runs hourly all day long. The shuttle drivers we've had experience with are so friendly and get you where you need to be, on time, and safely. It's so nice not to have to pay the fee to park at the Cancer Center.

The hotel is lovely, welcoming and secure. The rooms are clean and so comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. You often meet other guests who are there for medical reasons and we've made some terrific new friends as a result of our stays.

We always feel safe, our privacy is always respected and protected.

I doubt we'll ever stay at a different facility for return trips. This place always feels like home.

  • Liked — It's comfortable, affordable and convenient
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Tx
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We knew that we would need to stay in a hotel in the medical center because of some medical issues, so we scouted out some of the area hotels. The Extended Stay was one of the best, cleanest, most affordable properties we found, and we ultimately stayed there. In fact, I had family move from the Marriott Residence Inn to this place because the accomodations were better suited to their needs and a better value.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are obviously used to dealing with patients from MD Anderson and they are friendly and want to work with you to get you the best possible stay.

The non-smoking rooms don't smell like smoke. The problem is that these rooms go quickly and you may wind up on the third floor which reaks of smoke in the halls and in the rooms. Our one complaint about the Extended Stay is that sometimes the rooms you want overbook and you unexpectantly wind up choosing between the smaller rooms, which are like closets or the smoking rooms.

Otherwise, if you have to stay near the medical center, you won't find a better value. We walked 2 blocks from the hotel to the MD Anderson Mays Clinic, which wasn't too bad, thus saving on parking. The shuttle is also a good option and is pretty reliable.

As a previous reviewer stated, the complementary breakfast is nothing to write home about; just coffee, some fruit, and bagels. However, all the shortcomings aside, this property is a good place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Convience
  • Disliked — Unreliable reservations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedar_Park_chump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed here while she was undergoing radiation treatment at M. D. Anderson. The rooms are clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The building was remodeled two years ago, so in my opinion critical reviews older than that are most likely referring to conditions that don't exist anymore.

We're in a non-smoking room on the first floor that has NO smoke odor. If you have a problem with the smell of smoke, I would stay away from rooms on the third floor, but the ones on the first and second are not a problem.

The shuttle arrives on time and goes to all of the medical centers every hour, plus to a shopping center with a Fiesta supermarket twice a day. The driver is very friendly and puts everyone at ease, which is a big plus here. Because of the proximity to M. D. Anderson, everyone here is either a cancer patient or the spouse of one, so it's nice to be around some understanding people.

We're within walking distance of the hospital, only a block to the parking garage, where you can take the sky bridges to the other buildings, inside with the glorious air conditioning. When you're walking outside past about 8:30 a.m. after June 1, you really can't go very far at all.

We're also close to the Metrorail, Houston's light rail train that runs north to downtown. It's surprisingly easy to use, quick and quiet (and air-conditioned!), and only $1 per ride.

Rates are quite reasonable, with discounts given for medical center patients. We're paying $75 a night plus tax (another $10 - $15) for a queen-size bed in the smallest room. Rooms with a king or two doubles also have a couch and more living space. I would recommend them for two people for the extra $10 or so a night, if you can afford it. All of the rooms come with a kitchen and dining area, so it really is a good price for what you get.

They have a free breakfast on weekday mornings, just coffee with bagels and cream cheese. Nothing fancy at all, but you're not here for four-star accommodations, you're here to be close to the medical centers and to get there on the free shuttle, so it works out just fine.

I would highly recommend this as a place to stay while you or a loved one is receiving treatment at one of the nearby medical centers.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank co12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd

Property: Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd
Address: 1301 Braeswood Blvd, Houston, TX 77030-4601 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Houston - Med. Ctr. - Reliant Pk. - Braeswood Blvd.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - NRG Park - Braeswood Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Houston-Medical Center Braeswood Hotel Houston
Houston Extended Stay
Extended Stay Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing