We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW
Ranked #219 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed May 3, 2009

My family and I checked into this hotel late Easter night for a one night stay. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly, our room was clean, the breakfast area was well stocked, and the location worked well for us. We thought that it was a great value for the amount we spent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveRoadTrips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2009

I stayed in the Comfort Inn one night on Wednesday, March 11…paid $80 dollars for the night which included internet access and breakfast. I found the hotel clean and comfortable...good internet access. The carpet appeared to be fairly new and the hallway had the smell of new paint. The breakfast was okay - juice, coffee, sausage, and pancakes plus a reasonable selection of cereals. Just across the street (easy walk), there are several places to eat and a Starbuck right next door. It's not a fancy 4 star hotel, but I found it to be quite satisfactory and a worthy place to stay. I'm in Houston every couple of weeks and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PossD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

My stay at this hotel ended abruptly after 2 nights when I found a bed bug crawling across me. I only found one, and did not see any other signs of an infestation. Hotel management did not charge me for the time I had spent, and to be safe I had my luggage professionally exterminated once I returned home. Unfortunately, this problem has put a sour taste in my mouth for value-based hotels and it's unlikely that I will stay in a Comfort Inn again.

Aside from this problem, overall the hotel was fair for the price. My room had a moisture odor, however it was bearable. The breakfast was also a little better than your average "run of the mill" continental breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ASpeedyGTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertx989, manager at Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2009

I would like to respond the bug found by" Beware Bed bugs"it was not a bed bug.
As he said he did not see any other because it was not a bed bug and was verified by terminx which exterminates 2 a month.
Houston being a warmer climate attracts more insects however our location is known for our extra clean rooms.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

I really like staying at this Comfort Inn everytime I make my way to Houston. Everything in the hotel is obviously brand new, from the lobby to the rooms and bathrooms. I highly reccommend this property to anyone staying in the Houston area. The location is central and the room rates are relatively low.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank high10p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

I think this Comfort Inn might be the best kept secret in Houston!! They recently had a major renovation at this hotel and everything from top to bottom is brand new! The breakfast is good and the service is just as nice. I've stayed all over Houston and this hotel in my opinion gives the customer the best quality for the price. I would definately recommend this property to my friends and fellow travelers!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sac2la21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
Thank タケポ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled on business
Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualityinntxf81, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston West at Clay Road
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston-Brookhollow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW

Address: 7887 W Tidwell Rd, Houston, TX 77040-5701 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Houston
#44 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $82 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/Nw Hotel Houston
Comfort Inn Houston
Houston Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing