We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People can be so picky!...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow
Ranked #216 of 508 Hotels in Houston
houston
1 review
“People can be so picky!...”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I mean really people...its the Red Roof Inn!! What are you expecting? I believe some thought they'd receive treatment as though theywere at the Waldorf Astoria!?!?!? Quite frankly, after reading these reviews, I expected a wretched night of gun shooting, flying roaches and stained sheets, only to walk out to a window shattered and broken into vehicle. To the contrary, it was average. No bugs, no stains, no loud suspicious sounds, no vehicle vandalism, no crime (that I'm aware of). The carpets certainly could have been vacuumed and shampooed better and the fridge never adequately cooled enough for my taste, but I didn't go to the Red Rood intending to vacation for a week with my family and pets. This is no luxurious retreat, but its not the "bates motel" either. Cheap price, quiet get a way, private, clean enough...works for me!

Room Tip: I chose the second or third floors because you can enter into the rooms from the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Red Roof inn Guest,

Thank you for your precious time to write the review, and please accept my apolgy for the carpet as i have mentioned in other reviews i just took over the property as new management and we are doing complete renovation to all the rooms and lobby and all the carpets will be replace with the new vinyl floor and carpet tile and in all the rooms we have new microfridges.

once again thank you for the review and i hope you accept my apology and will visit again to see the changes i have implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
17
13
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was there a total of 3 nights (I should have never sayed passed the first). When I walked into my room there it was horrable there was refrigerator just sittingn the room next to bed, no place for it so they just stuck it any where. Then when I asked where my microwave was they brought me another refrigerator (smaller) with one stuck to the top of it.
First night I was there they had to move me because the phone in the room did not work.The second night I was asked to move again, they had to move me a third time due to work being done in the motel. Floors, Bathtub yuck and fleas, elevetor was a mess.
Almost every time I went past the front desk they would ask me what room I was in... They could not keep up with where they had put people, the reason I know is because I got a 5:45am wake up call I did not ask for.
The people that worked there were without personality, the only one I felt had any was Lawrance who I believe only worked weekend nights.

I'm sorry but very bad experience will not go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This property is not in a good location to stay from a safety perspective. I travel 20+ weeks a year so I see my fair share of hotels. I rarely write a review of a property that I stay at but this one I feel was worth commenting on.

The front desk personnel were very nice and provided me with a ground floor room which I thought would be great since I would not have to drag my luggage up to another floor.

The minute I checked into my room I thought maybe I should go somewhere else. The room was terrible. It had dirty carpets, stains on the walls, and beat up furniture. It was just a filthy room. There was a "punch hole" in the bathroom door.

My company prepaid the room so I decided to stay. To add to the amenenties the room next door to me must have been selling drugs as they had several visitors throughout the night. One of deals must have went bad as the person staying in the room next door sent his dog out to take care of the bad deal.

What a bad night from any and every aspect.

Do not stay here for your own good and safety.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've stayed at this location at least 7 to 8 days out of the month for the last 6 months and I think it's AWESOME! I love their service. Housekeeping personnel are very courteous and polite each and every time. I've never had a problem with receiving everything I need during my stay. And the front desk clerks, I don't know where they find them, but they could come work for me any day...not that I'm trying to steal their employees or anything, but I'm in management and I would love to have a group like them work for me; especially Lawrence. He always has a smile on his face, even when dealing with difficult clients. I don't think I've ever seen him frown. He's very patient, because I'm always a difficult client. I have to be in a certain spot in the hotel and he makes every effort to accommodate me every time.

Room Tip: The KING is the best. The beds in the doubles are a little small for two people, if you ask me. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoljaGyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Red Roof Inn Guest,


Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff here at the Red Roof Inn! I just took over as the new management of this hotel and I am elated that the staff here has provided you with just excellent service. I sincerely appreciate the time you took to note the great service each staff member provided you. Be assured that I will personally acknowledge the team members that have gone above and beyond to make your stay so enjoyable!I look forward to meeting you when you return to this hotel next time. Again, thank you giving us your feedback and encouraging words!

Vinny Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I am a systems engineer that travels all through out the Continental United States in the Telecom field and since my stay here 3 weeks ago- I have had nothing but a great experience with the staff here at the ROOF. To begin with, the cleaning staff - especially Marina and Olga have made my stay very pleasent and they are attentive of my room and the equipment that I use for my profession which was a concern-no problems there!!! Also the front desk staff is very professional and greet me everytime I come "home" from work. Lawrence is very hard working and knowledgeable and has recommended local businesses that I have gone to, restaurants, sites, and also where NOT to go- Homerun with all. Most recently I have had the pleasure of meeting Vickie the Regional manager--very outgoing and is concerned with promoting the quality of this Hotel chain- Thanks Vickie for the 15 percent vouchers- I will use them. Elmer a new empolyee is also very courteous and goes the extra mile.
I had the opportunity to stay at a suite next door that offers full amenities- Refrig, stove, etc and was offered the same great rate I am paying here- I refused. Props to you Red Roof Inn NW Houston - keep up the great job!!!!! The pool is also very clean!!!!

Room Tip: I am staying on second floor and no problems with noise and they have a security guard in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Red Roof Inn Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff here at the Red Roof Inn! I just took over as the new management of this hotel and I am elated that the staff here has provided you with just excellent service. I sincerely appreciate the time you took to note the great service each staff member provided you. Be assured that I will personally acknowledge the team members that have gone above and beyond to make your stay so enjoyable! I also appreciate your comments about feeling like this is your home! You will be happy to know that we are actively working to enhance this hotel. In less than one month all our rooms will have microfridges and a guest laundry is currently in the works! All new and current guests will be pleasantly pleased with these enhancements. I look forward to meeting you when you return to this hotel next time. Again, thank you giving us your feedback and encouraging words!

Vinny Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've had to stay here w my family upon relocating. Yes the carpet and wallpaper in the halls is tacky needs to desperately be renovated. The housekeeping staff is nice and helpful. A few front desk employees stand out such as Jessica L. Who works with you is courteous understanding and has great customer service. Most of the other front desk are texting or surfing the internet and don't greet you. Jessica talks to you like an old friend. Unfortunately management is not great. The manager is not compassionate when helping with billing issues or concerns. Refuses to apologize for misunderstandings. I do recommend the hotel though based on price and staff just don't expect empathy from management.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkcashm3r3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I came into town at the last minute and at this hotel. It was a very pleasant stay and the front desk clerk was extremely nice and professional. If I had to stay in that area again,I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlala06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW
Comfort Inn Hwy. 290/NW
#207 of 508 in Houston
78 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Northwest
0.3 mi away
Towneplace Suites Houston Brookhollow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Houston - Energy Corridor
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston-Brookhollow
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Hwy 290 NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow

Property: Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow
Address: 12929 Northwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77040-6303
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is on the Northwest Freeway/US 290 and close to I-610. The hotel is near Toyota Center, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Reliant Center/Astrodome, Port of Houston, Minute Maid Park, Texans Arena, Texas Children's Hospital, Galleria Mall and Gleannoch Farms Golf Course. Many major chain restaurants are just across the street. Including Outback Steakhouse, IHOP, Chili's, Denny's, Red Lobster and more! Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow features an outdoor unheated pool, an elevator, coin laundry, guest computer and has interior and exterior corridors. All rooms at this hotel offer free WiFi, 42" flat-screen TV, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer and an iron & ironing board. Experience our complimentary continental breakfast and coffeehouse-style coffee/tea in the lobby. This location offers premium channels including ESPN, CNN, FOX News, HBO and Showtime. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Houston
Houston Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing