We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better motels in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston
Ranked #189 of 504 Hotels in Houston
sfr1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the better motels in the area”
Reviewed August 14, 2008

This little motel is waaay better than the rest of them in the area. I stayed here for one night at the end of July 2008. On the night before, I stayed at the Days Inn down the road and it was terrible! This Microtel was way cheaper and nice (when you are comparing 2 star places). Webster, Texas is literally across the road from NASA and that was the purpose of my stay.

I was pleasantly surprised at the layout and quality of the room at Microtel. It was a micro suite, if you will, with a pullout sofa sitting area with two seat dining table and a double bed on the other side of a bar area that divided the room. The bar area contained a mini fridge, microwave, and sink, with plenty of counter space to empty your pockets or drop your laptop. Although small and cramped, the room was modern looking and clean. (Remember "Micro" is in the name :) The bathroom was super clean, but no toiletries. The free wireless internet service was great!

The lobby is clean and welcoming, with a flat screen TV and 24 hour free coffee machine. In the morning there is a small breakfast service that looked like cereal, muffins danish, waffles and the like, but I did not partake due to the crowd of kids. (This is where the kids that are accepted into the prestigious NASA High School summer program stay.)

The staff was pleasant and courteous. I would recommend this place over any of the others on this street, except the Hilton...but I have never stayed there. Overall, this is a good value in the 2 star range.

  • Liked — free internet access, free parking, small outdoor pool
  • Disliked — 2 star place, because there are no 4-5 star hotels in the area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    112
    116
    41
    45
See reviews for
149
101
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

As a disclaimer, let me state first that I was in Clear Lake on business and my company placed me here. It would not have been my first choice.

The first thing you notice on your way to the elevator is the smell. They spray some destinkifying spray to cover the stench of the bags of garbage in the halls, the sweaty old clothes left in the stairwell, and the rotting food in the stairwell. Carpets are stained and the paint is peeling. Standard rooms had hand-lettered paper signs taped to them saying "conference room." Classy.

The rooms are tiny and spartan. The beds and pillows are very firm, but that's how I like them. Don't go barefoot. The carpets are filthy.

The free breakfast is minimal. The usual cheap frozen blueberry and banana muffins. Decent coffee. And a waffle iron with a black, charred waffle still stuck to it, abandoned. Wonder how long it had been left there.

The location is great, especially if you're planning to go to JSC. Lots of places to eat within walking distance.

If you can afford it, spend an extra 20-30 bucks and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — filth
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank storkdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genie15
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2007

I stayed there for a week in mid 2007. To corroborate the idea that Microtel is NOT clean, I can tell you that I developed 10 staph infections on back from sleeping in the unclean bed. Needless to say, I had to go to the ER, get each abscess lanced and packed and go on IV and oral antibiotics. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gene15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel994, GM at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston, responded to this review, May 18, 2008
Guest was upset at not getting the appropriate room type. This guest was asked for the hospital reports of the Staph Infection so we can forward to our Insurance carrier who would be more than willing to compensate the Guest. Guest refused and said he had nothing from the hospital. Needless to say, this person did not get the staph infection by staying at the hotel. - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

No ice machines working anywhere in the building.
Holes in the wall.
Torn bedspreads.
Hair in bath tub from previous occupant.
Empty beer cans in the drawers under the window seat.
Peeling paint.
Only enough towels and wash rags for 1 person.
Dirty carpet.
Message light blinking on phone when we got to room and front desk said the message was for the previous occupant ( the one that left all the hair behind?) and they would remove - light was still blinking when we left.
Exterior and lobby looked ok, but the everything else was shabby and in poor condition.
We will probably never stay at another Microtel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel994, GM at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston, responded to this review, May 18, 2008
I completely believe the bad experience this guest had at our hotel. We would like to let everyone know that this hotel changed ownership on October 9, 2007 (a few days after this guest's stay). The ice machine was not working but has been replaced with a brand new ice machine in the lobby and also another working ice machine has been added to the 3rd floor. Also, all the bedding had been updated to the Dream Well Bedding which is the new Microtel Standard. All towels have been upgraded, lobby furniture updated, all guest room doors painted, 4 flavor juice machine added, Maxwell House 24 hour coffee added, and many other updates have been made to the hotel. We sincerely apologize to any guests that were unhappy with their prior stays. Please give us a chance to show you the new Microtel Inn & Suites NASA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We were booked in this hotel not by choice for a school field trip. They ran out of clean towels the first day and did not give us enough clean sheets for the pull out sofa. The pull out sofa was supposed to be a second bed. We were in for a shock when two moms and two kids were not given a room with two double beds. There was a hole in the wall in the stairway, the toilet had brown streaks in the bottom, there was no plug for the bath tub and the shower squealed when the hot water was on. The continental breakfast was pre-packaged muffins, a gallon of milk resting in an ice water bath, containers of Fruit Loops, coffee and juice. There was no fruit or yogurt and no one came to clean up the milk spills. The entire hotel was in a state of disrepair. There were scuff marks and dirt everywhere and a general state of uncleanliness. I would not stay in this chain ever again. We were terming the place the MICROHE**.

  • Disliked — Lack of general cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lermis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2007

From reading all of the reviews, I was kind of afraid to stay at this
location. But the rooms were pre-booked for a wedding party. When I got to the hotel/motel (whatever) it wasn’t as bad as everyone stated
in the other reviews. We stayed in a ‘mini suite’ and we asked for extra pillows and extra towels and we got what we asked for….Granted
that we had to go to the front desk to get them, but who cares. For $60.00 a night I didn’t think the hotel would have 24hr maid service.
The front desk was really helpful by printing out the directions for us to the wedding and giving us recommendations to local attractions (Kemah Boardwalk). Its funny reading the reviews on this sight in general…it seems that 90% is just complaints and hardly any complements. All in all, I would recommend this hotel if you’re looking for an inexpensive place to stay and yes, it’s clean.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Soccer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

I was sympathizing with the other posters regarding the Microtel Houston. Cheap - yes, Clean-no. The curry smell described is accurate and at times the desk staff used the lobby as their living room (it also is the continental breakfast nook). Burn holes on the window cushion, generally below average cleanliness. At times I preferred to stand in the room rather than sit on a chair. We only spent 1 night, else I think we may have complained. If looking for a complete bargain, but not concerned about cleanliness--this is the place for you.

Helpful?
1 Thank PootersParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Houston/NASA/Webster Area
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Houston NASA/Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webster Hotel, NASA
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Webster NASA-Clear Lake-Houston
0.7 mi away
Budgetel Inn Houston
Budgetel Inn Houston
#325 of 504 in Houston
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston
Address: 1620 Nasa Road One, Houston, TX 77058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Houston Hotel Houston
Microtel Hotel Houston
Houston Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing