We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excelent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Ranked #94 of 499 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ciudad del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel is very modern, the room is very confortable, the shuttle is very useful, the food in Restaurant is very good, is an excellent option to stay on Houston. Also the pool is very nice, because also you can see movies there in the afternoon

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abraham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Good night is extremely important, and we like that you got one here at Hotel Derek. Cant wait to have you back.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    273
    176
    96
    81
See reviews for
95
292
62
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Good: nice rooms, courteous staff, decent breakfast, not too noisy, free parking, good location!

Bad: wifi sucks, housekeeping irregular.

Overall a decent hotel near the Galleria but they are not affiliated with any major frequent stayer programs.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

Austin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

It has been a couple of decades since I left college and I honestly wasn't thinking about going back in time when I booked my reservation at the Derek. It had been a long day when I arrived and I was tired. The hotel is hip and trendy and the service is very good. I really only had three issues in an otherwise enjoyable stay. The first occurred when I entered my room on the fourth floor and heard the dog barking so I went back to the front desk and they changed my room without question but I learned that this is a pet friendly hotel so you need to keep that in mind especially if you have allergies. The second issue had to do with the morning wake up alarm and although I could be mistaken there was the distinct odor of marijuana in the morning air. I am pretty sure it wasn't from an outside source since I was on the 14th floor. I am not normally exercised about someone else's recreational enjoyment but I was worried about the odor clinging to my clothes while I made my way to a government enforcement meeting with a client. Finally, though they may not be connected, there was a rather rowdy pool party at 7:00 am in the morning so sleeping in wasn't an option. Could be a great place if these items for your bill, though.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Been_Here-Done_It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you find Hotel Derek to be a hip and trendy spot, but we hate that fellow patrons took away from the experience that you should have had as our guest. Hotel Derek is a 100% non-smoking facility – though some skirt those rules with little regard for others. I can assure you the weekend you had imaged when booking Hotel Derek is exactly the vibe we often deliver and we’d love to welcome you back – please give me a call when you find yourself next in Houston so my team can arrange something special for you.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Planned a tween girls' hotel sleepover here because it is a fun and funky venue. Upscale enough to be a real treat, but not too pricey for mom. From the piped in smell to the rotating laser lights and brightly colored cow-themed furniture in the lobby, it was all a bit too overstimulating for my group of nerdy 12-year-olds. The lobby Starbucks is actually part of the hotel bar - so our bedtime treat of hot drinks had us seated in a loud bar on an weekend night. Again, a bit much for my crowd. Rooms were nice, large and spotlessly clean. Staff was very courteous, but lines were long at check-in and check out. Just not the right venue for our specific event.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

must say this was one of the best hotels, from the moment I arrive until departing I was greeted with warm smiles and good service. Jim Carry the concierge gentleman was over the top amazing. I was planning for a special weekend and he had many suggestions and on even a short notice made our weekend by providing chocolate covered strawberries, rose petals, and great evening suggestions. Would definitely return for another weekend getaway... PS.. Pool is awesome and they show movies every night pool side.
The only issues I had during my stay is valet arriving back to pick us up from The Galleria Mall we were told that we would have a 25 minute wait and after 45 minutes we caught a cab. The lady's at the front desk was very apologetics. Hotel also charges for late check out. I am not sure if this is normal for hotels all hotels I have stayed normally give a courtesy late check out if asked.
Still one of the best weekend ever. Thanks Hotel Derek

Room Tip: 1221 room had a view of the Galleria as well as hwy, but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
No doubt, Jim is wonderful and we are lucky to have him on our team at Hotel Derek. Loved to hear that you enjoyed the western movies by the Splash Pool. Cant wait to have you back.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I my wife and I stayed here this past weekend and we're greatly disappointed. There are so many good hotels in the Houston Galleria area that you don't need to experience the same disappointment. They have replaced their fine dining restaurant with a pool table, sandwiches and a Starbucks kiosk. Their front desk personnel is untrained and uncaring. We won't be back and hope to save as many as possible from the same disappointment we experienced. This hotel has really gone downhill.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
Green Features: LOL, this is a joke. They have so much to address that this isn't even a factor.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We appreciate your feedback… Its comments like yours that help us continue evolving into a fun and enjoyable place to stay. While we love the new restaurant concept, giving guests rich southern cuisine with a fun and approaching space, we realize it may not be the ideal spot if your preference is fine dining. Thank you again for your visit and your comments. I would invite you to call on me directly if there is anything that we can do to win you over and have you back for a second experience.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I felt I was in Las Vegas. Great decor from the hotel with a party vibe but the staff wasn't friendly. They didn't get my check in time correct so I had to wait. They didn't even thank me for my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you can see the view of the city
See more room tips
Green Features: There were a couple of notices that related to being eco-friendly
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#31 of 499 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Great Uptown
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Property: Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Address: 2525 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#31 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#89 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing