We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE BIT GOOD AND A LITTLE BIT BAD.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Ranked #113 of 510 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A LITTLE BIT GOOD AND A LITTLE BIT BAD.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

GOOD: the staff were uniformly friendly and accommodating. They genuinely try to please. In addition, there is no need to bring an alarm clock as the noise from trucks at a construction site will wake you promptly at 6:30 am. The chicken quesadillas were delicious. Wireless Internet acess was FREE for all devices, and it was so fast I tested upload and download speeds, both excellent.

BAD: Anyone who believes this is a trendy boutique hotel has never been to a trendy boutique hotel. Gimmicky decorations fail. The rooms are tired and poorly maintained. Obvious dirt in hallways. A colleague staying in another room cut her foot on a shard of glass that had been left on the floor. Service was spotty. One morning I went without breakfast, my order had fallen through the cracks. When breakfast was delivered, pancakes and French toast were pasty and tasteless. Room service is 20% plus a $3 delivery charge. I usually tip, but this structure annoyed me. I would have preferred that they just raised menu prices.

The positive attitude of the staff brought my review up to three stars. The hotel itself is below average.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    313
    215
    118
    107
See reviews for
123
353
75
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Hotel Derek is quintessentially Houston. Oil derricks and other modern Texas-style art and furniture pieces add funky charm to this boutique hotel. The rooms are modern and clean - even if not quite as spacious as you'd expect from the state known for its "everything's bigger" mantra. The pool was probably the biggest disappointment since all I wanted was to catch a couple rays and take a dip. The pool area is wedged in the back corner of the hotel - thankfully hidden from the Loop; however, the sun probably only shines through at high noon and the small triangular pool offers little room for more than a soak. The check-in staff was extremely friendly yet upon check out when we requested an hour extension the price they suggested go along with it seemed a bit steep and pretentious for a Monday morning. The valet staff, however, were all extremely friendly and overly accommodating and helpful! A comfortable, convenient and well-priced room for a totally Texas yet trendy hotel! I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereSheIsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Houston native moved out of state however my business travels brought me back to Houston. I have not stayed at Hotel Derek in several years however what a surprise. Not sure if property changed ownership or not however “major” improvements to the lobby and guestrooms. Cool vibe with friendly staff and “clean” rooms. Parking is parking; you deal with it in most large cities so not a big concern to me. One interesting item to note, hotel host “drinks with Derek” evening reception, great time with wine and light bites while meeting others staying at the hotel. Overall, I will be back for sure hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the Galleria, great views at night with the skyline. Noticed several comments abou...
See more room tips
Green Features: Metropolitan feel in the heart of Houston however southern hospitality rules! Employees at Hotel Derek are friendly and engaging. They also have a cool social media camera to take our photo in the lobby that posts on their FB page. Nice!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
So glad that Hotel Derek was able to impress you since your last visit. The property was acquired by new ownership and we’re thrilled that the enhancements are being felt. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights on business and would not stay there again. My room had a beautiful view . . . of a highway. And the glaring afternoon sun. Loud music blares everywhere, including the driveway. Really? Does that make them "hip" ? I just found it annoying. Bathtub was sort of rundown. No turn-down service or fresh towels at night unless you call to ask for it. Pool was under renovation (no loss, since it appears to be the size of an angular hot tub). Anyway, I was less than impressed, and if calling yourself a "boutique hotel" means kitschy furnishings, loud music, and zombie-like service, I don't want any part of it. When did 1950s motel-style fabrics become chic again? Give me the St. Regis any day!

Room Tip: Avoid the highway view (if possible).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We thank you for your recent stay. I want to stress Hotel Derek’s commitment to providing each of our guests with a superior service and contemporary design in a fun atmosphere. While we believe that Hotel Derek is a very cool boutique hotel located in one of Houston’s hottest neighborhoods, we appreciate that we’re not for everyone.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just stayed here two nights on business travelling from the UK. Overall a very nice hotel, modern stlye furnishes and some nice touches. Room spacious with all the necessary business conveniences. Staff courteous and pleasant. Breakfast good but $22.5 before gratuity??

Good location for Galleria (walkable !) as Hotel Derek is almost opposite Dillards.

I would say quite highly priced @ $199 per night, but overall happy with Hotel Derek experience. I will likely use again if we come back to Houston Galleria area as very convenient location..

Room Tip: Room 507 was pleasant, although overlooked the 610 Freeway so you may want to request the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philhollowayinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights . I would say that if you are looking for a hotel near the shopping centre then you can't go wrong. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and specious. Also the continental breakfast was excellent, good value for 20 American Dollars. Overall great hotel in a good spot for shopping.

Room Tip: Next to a big shopping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our service at Hotel Derek. Please come back and visit us soon from Sydney.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angless, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Self described clean freak here- love this hotel. Nothing is more important to me than having the space feel CLEAN. I can't tell you how many times I have stayed in hotels and just couldn't wait to check out. I love the fresh, crisp linens, very plush towels and it just smells delicious in this hotel. I seriously want to buy one of their mattresses- pillow top maybe? I was told they have remodeled- this hotel is now in my top 2 for Houston. Driver takes and drops me off at the mall, shops- wherever I want to go in the Galleria. CVS right across the street for anything I need, 2 places within walking to get mani/pedi. They have Starbucks!!! (heaven) Really fast internet, which is a must, and a good sized gym.

Room Tip: West side is over freeway and Galleria- they have this super quiet glass so you can't hear the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenHar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We were very excited to read your feedback and to learn that you love Hotel Derek! So pleased that you enjoyed the renovated hotel, Starbuck is definitely a heaven - especially in the morning. Cant wait for you to come back.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#26 of 510 in Houston
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 510 in Houston
1,659 reviews
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 510 in Houston
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Property: Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Address: 2525 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#89 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing