We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Ranked #138 of 518 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is located well for the Galleria or anything inside the Loop. The parking garage looks a little dated and was almost full on a Wednesday night. Checkin is easy and the lobby is attractive.You have to slide your room card before you can punch an elevator button. The room was large, clean, and had a full length sofa for sitting and storing things. The king bed was very comfortable. Waterpressure from the showerhead was extraordinary and made a relaxing shower. This is a good place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewac0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thrilled to hear that enjoyed the location, hope you were able to experience the wonderful shopping at Galleria and Highland Village. Cant wait to have you back soon – newly designed garage happening this weekend too.

Live Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Walking distance to the Galleria.
Easy on an off the main roads. Soome rooms do get quite some noise if room facing motorway.
Have stayed here many times for business.
Possible to park across the road for free.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redondo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We get great rate through work - includes buffet breakfast and valet parking
Close to 610 and other major highways - not far from downtown
Shuttle within 3 mile range
Clean rooms, clean hotel, good breakfast, friendly staff
Stayed here 3 nights for business
Walking distance to some good places to eat
Pet friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exmazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Derek. You will be pleased to know that we donate a portion of pet charge to the Houston SPCA to support their wonderful efforts. We so appreciate the feedback and looking forward to having you back soon.

Live Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

WATCH OUT FOR HIDDEN CHARGES!! The hotel is nice, but not really inclined to please the customer. My wife and I booked a room here for three nights. When we arrived, we were informed that there was no complementary breakfast, and NO free parking. NONE! The options were $28 for valet, $23 for self parking, and $20 something for breakfast. There website failed to clarify these little details, so needless to say we weren't happy to hear about the $60 something dollars we were being charged in advance just to park at our hotel...and of course, there are no other options without being towed. When we expressed our concerns, their attitude was along the lines of,' ...Well. This is just how it is. If you don't like it, don't stay here'. So in conclusion, we've had a pretty negative first experience, and will most definitely be choosing a different hotel to stay at next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBryceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanking you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Hotel Derek strives to deliver a fun atmosphere in a stylish setting with exceptional service to each of our guests, although we appreciate that our inclusions and pricing aren’t for everyone. We do serve an elaborate breakfast buffet, as well as a la carte dining in our four-star restaurant which represents a very good value and ranges in price from $10.00 to $22.00. There are packages that include breakfast and parking within the room rate that we think you’d enjoy very much. Please visit our website for additional information or contact us directly when your plans bring you back to Houston!

Live Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very posh, hip, in the scene kind of hotel. Location is great. Decor is very stylish. I did not go to the bar or restaurant, but my boss who stayed here several times said it's great. Pool is very tiny, more like a wading pool, but it has a nice layout, curtains to create privacy, and a table area for gatherings. Parking is ridiculous though! $19.99 + tax to self park in a garage.Room was clean. Bed was great didn't want to get up. Its a nice hotel but I would never pay there asking price, try to find a blind deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsNJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We love reviews like yours! Thank you for sharing such kind words about Hotel Derek’s new stylish look. You’ll need to plan another visit in October so you can experience the newly designed splash pool with movie wall.

Live Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I love this hotel, but I'm not a fan of the lack of privacy when it comes to the bathroom situation. it's a sliding door that cannot be locked. Other than that, no complaints!! New self-park + valet available, close to the Galleria, and very clean/modern hotel with a great staff!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittiecatshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We usually stay at the Hilton; however, saw a Groupon deal that was irresistible! The service was great, rooms were clean, and I had the opportunity to be chauffeured around in a Benz Mini Van all day while my husband had business to take care of. Very satisfied with the stay! Also, they were toddler friendly! Enjoy your stay at Hotel Derek!

Room Tip: During our stay we enjoyed an upgraded room - I think Deluxe and not a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

So excited to learn that you took a chance and decided to stay with us at Hotel Derek! We love that you had a great experience, hope that you were able to enjoy the wonderful shopping experience in the area. Look forward to welcoming you guys back.

Live Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 518 in Houston
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Address: 2525 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#89 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $125 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing