We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Retro/Classy place to stay while in Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Ranked #107 of 506 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Retro/Classy place to stay while in Houston”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We get great rate through work - includes buffet breakfast and valet parking
Close to 610 and other major highways - not far from downtown
Shuttle within 3 mile range
Clean rooms, clean hotel, good breakfast, friendly staff
Stayed here 3 nights for business
Walking distance to some good places to eat
Pet friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Derek. You will be pleased to know that we donate a portion of pet charge to the Houston SPCA to support their wonderful efforts. We so appreciate the feedback and looking forward to having you back soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    300
    208
    112
    98
See reviews for
112
337
69
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

WATCH OUT FOR HIDDEN CHARGES!! The hotel is nice, but not really inclined to please the customer. My wife and I booked a room here for three nights. When we arrived, we were informed that there was no complementary breakfast, and NO free parking. NONE! The options were $28 for valet, $23 for self parking, and $20 something for breakfast. There website failed to clarify these little details, so needless to say we weren't happy to hear about the $60 something dollars we were being charged in advance just to park at our hotel...and of course, there are no other options without being towed. When we expressed our concerns, their attitude was along the lines of,' ...Well. This is just how it is. If you don't like it, don't stay here'. So in conclusion, we've had a pretty negative first experience, and will most definitely be choosing a different hotel to stay at next time we're in town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBryceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanking you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Hotel Derek strives to deliver a fun atmosphere in a stylish setting with exceptional service to each of our guests, although we appreciate that our inclusions and pricing aren’t for everyone. We do serve an elaborate breakfast buffet, as well as a la carte dining in our four-star restaurant which represents a very good value and ranges in price from $10.00 to $22.00. There are packages that include breakfast and parking within the room rate that we think you’d enjoy very much. Please visit our website for additional information or contact us directly when your plans bring you back to Houston!

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very posh, hip, in the scene kind of hotel. Location is great. Decor is very stylish. I did not go to the bar or restaurant, but my boss who stayed here several times said it's great. Pool is very tiny, more like a wading pool, but it has a nice layout, curtains to create privacy, and a table area for gatherings. Parking is ridiculous though! $19.99 + tax to self park in a garage.Room was clean. Bed was great didn't want to get up. Its a nice hotel but I would never pay there asking price, try to find a blind deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsNJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We love reviews like yours! Thank you for sharing such kind words about Hotel Derek’s new stylish look. You’ll need to plan another visit in October so you can experience the newly designed splash pool with movie wall.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I love this hotel, but I'm not a fan of the lack of privacy when it comes to the bathroom situation. it's a sliding door that cannot be locked. Other than that, no complaints!! New self-park + valet available, close to the Galleria, and very clean/modern hotel with a great staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittiecatshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We usually stay at the Hilton; however, saw a Groupon deal that was irresistible! The service was great, rooms were clean, and I had the opportunity to be chauffeured around in a Benz Mini Van all day while my husband had business to take care of. Very satisfied with the stay! Also, they were toddler friendly! Enjoy your stay at Hotel Derek!

Room Tip: During our stay we enjoyed an upgraded room - I think Deluxe and not a standard room
See more room tips
Green Features: AWESOME!!! They are one of the few GREEN Hotels I've ever stayed at
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
So excited to learn that you took a chance and decided to stay with us at Hotel Derek! We love that you had a great experience, hope that you were able to enjoy the wonderful shopping experience in the area. Look forward to welcoming you guys back.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

First impressions last forever, from the manager to the cleaning staff, everyperson seems happy, and ready to help you. I felt save at all times. The restaurant at the hotel was very good, and the amount of food and its freshness exceede my expectations, good ambiance. The restaurants close to the Hotel were excellent, walking distance. The nail SPA across the street "O Now" was fantastic, went twice. A CVS also across the street was very convenient. The shuttle bus to Galleria Mall so helpfull. The Hotel was 15 minutes, from the Brown Convention Center, and the Shuttle buses took 30-40 minutes, due to the multiple Hotel stops pick-up service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelisa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing such kind comments about our Hotel Derek Team - we are so pleased it left a great impression. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Live well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My daughter convinced he to stay here because the Jonas brothers were staying here and she and her friends are big concert goers... but she ended up getting yelled and harassed by TRAVON a security guard who followed them everywhere and yelled and asked them to leave the premises. Her friends were meeting us and they couldnt figure out the parking situation. Travon told them they were seen circling the property and made them leave. The Jonas brothers always ask their fans to support them everywhere they go, they're great role models and my daughter and her friends were treated like criminals and these girls are teenagers. This is hotel Derek not the White House. I'm so upset on how my daughter was treated. I came down from the elevators to see travon yelling at my daughters friend with the rudest demeanor. Never staying here again. And I hope the Jonas brothers never do either.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelamtorres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hotel Derek's chic style and location often attract high profile guests. It is always a top priority to protect the security and privacy of all our guests. In this particular instance, our team responded to a situation that was escalated by a band affiliate – clearly they felt uncomfortable being tailed all the way from Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#21 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#34 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Property: Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Address: 2525 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#89 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing