We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Nearby Hotels
$286
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$225
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$235
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston(Houston)(Great Value!)
$262
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$217
$189
TributePortfolio
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Houstonian(Houston)
$399
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
$247
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$334
$299
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveler rating
469
353
245
145
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
353
245
145
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalleria areaboutique hotelthe loopstarbucks coffeevalet servicefree shuttlerevolvescvsconciergerobescouchconferencefreeway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,228 - 1,233 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in January 26 & 27th. First impression of the hotel is great from the outside & the lobby. The staff are very friendly & the parking - only valet parking is available despite website descriptions - is comparable to other rates (approx $21 per night). Unfortunately, I didn't like the rooms which may be personal preference. It came across as an old, renovated motel which has been done well but not brilliantly. The room we stayed in was the King Deluxe. Room space was ok, the bathroom was very small. The door to the bathroom was the original sliding door & was a bit of a struggle to move. The ceilings are low & the old popcorn stippling. The walls are thin - when we arrived there was a party next door which was handled by security after 3 phone calls to the front desk. The decor is contemporary, leaning towards kitschy. The positives are that the location is just a stroll to the galleria, the staff are very helpful (we received free parking after the problems with our partying neighbors) & the price is good. It was a good stay but I would probably try something else next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graysus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our stay couldn't have been better. I asked for an early check in for when we arrived since our flight arrived at 5am and despite the hotel having been full the night before they had kept the room free for us for no charge. My company travel agent had also messed up the booking such that we had two reservations instead of just the one, all very easily resolved by the hotel staff. On departure we asked for a late check out and again, no problem at all. Room was extremely comfortable and quiet, good service all round. I'll definitely stay here in future on my next trips to Houston.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RiodeJaneiroAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We appreciate your kind comments in regards to our comfortable room at Hotel Derek. We are glad that found our staff to be helpful - it is always our intention to exceed your expectations! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The service was over the top, even for two non~VIP travelers. Very interesting decor, the rooms are such a fresh change from "big chain," and the ambiance has a high cool quotient. Breakfast was great, too! Dinner was somewhat unremarkable, but the service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

You will be asked to pay a $100 pet fee that is non-refundable and is not mentioned on any of the hotel booking websites that you book through. Also no self parking and the valet cost is $20. What a terrible price gauging place.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdunbar05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We love your pets at Hotel Derek! We're sorry our pet fee took you by suprise - certainly not our intention. For a full review of our pet services and special amenities please visit our website, under special services. We hope you'll enjoy knowing that a portion of all pet fees are donated to a local pet shelter for their amazing efforts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

very modern and comfortable hotel. nice rooms and great shower. fast and free wifi. price was great on priceline. only issue was expensive valet price and it took 15 minutes in the morning to get the car. besides that great choice!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidperez0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are ecstatic to know that you found our hotel to be modern and comfortable. We will utilize the comment in regards parking you outlined to further develop our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews