We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCAM ALERT!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Ranked #115 of 510 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SCAM ALERT!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel lists itself as "pet friendly" and, sure, you can stay there with your pet, but only if you are willing to pay a price equivalent to getting a second room for your pet. The UNADVERTISED PET FEEis $100 !!! Oh, and. There is a "valet fee" too. Also unadvertised. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We apologize that our valet parking and pet fee took you by surprise – certainly not our intent. Hope you’ll enjoy knowing that a portion of your pet fee is donated to the Houston SPCA for their wonderful efforts.

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    313
    215
    118
    107
See reviews for
123
353
75
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel as prior reviews suggested a hit and miss experience. Guess we got only the 'hits'. We had booked four rooms for our party and we were all placed on floors that had recently been updated...without asking. Three members of our party tried to check in early and were unable to ...they were rewarded for their patience with free breakfast certificates (a big deal at $20.00 per person). The rooms were extremely clean, updated, and comfortable. Wish I'd had more time to linger in the lobby - soft music, low lights, seating alcoves...really an oasis given the hectic world right outside the front doors. We waited a long time for our car the first day but soon discovered that using the texting service brought the car to the front door even before we made it down the elevator...highly recommend doing that!
A few - very small negatives...First the duvet cover. It is tied up in the corners which can be uncomfortable. It's also extremely heavy - a lighter down would have been perfect. Another issue was the powder creamer. Nice starbucks coffee pods but no cream. Had to drink the tea - nice assortment of Tazo teas provided at the beginning of stay... but never replenished. But otherwise a surprising oasis in a very hectic part of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for such great comments. We strive to be the best for you. Excited to announce that Hotel Derek had recently opened Starbucks, so be sure to stop by next time you’re visiting.

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The accommodations are very good. The location is convenient, but because of the location, there can be some traffic issues. Plan ahead. Overall, it was a great stay and the staff was excellent. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. I was surprised that there weren't more diners there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfurtwengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
So thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Derek, especially our buffet breakfast. Being in one of the busiest intersection in Houston, the traffic can be little frantic sometimes but I am glad that you found our location convenient.

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Everything from as soon as you walk in the lobby meeting the sweet staff and every room after that is absolutely beautiful. The staff was so friendly and surprised us in the room with a fruit and chocolate tray! The room was so lovely and the bed was very comfortable. I think one of my favorite things was the breakfast buffet. It had a very large variety and several healthy options (which is very important to me). There are also several lounges throughout the hotel to just hang out in and relax. I cannot wait to come back here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel and you won't have to listen to the traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirandalewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a WONDERFUL comment above. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations in every possible way. Looking forward to having you back soon at Hotel Derek!

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Call girls run wild here and EVERYONE seems to turn a blind eye to it!!

My best friend and I returned to the hotel after a nice dinner, and we are young, but we dress modestly (pretty much zero skin showing on this chilly night). It was getting late, probably close to 11 pm. As we were pulling into the the valet zone, we noticed a shady looking man in an all red suit with matching red fedora (complete with a bright purple feather) approaching the doors of Hotel Derek. We jokingly suspected he could be a pimp... and our theory was proven true. As we exited the car he gave a little cat call and tried to get us "beautiful ladies" to go talk with him. As we ran inside and waited for the elevator, a young girl in a white lace skirt that didn't even cover herself was also waiting and talking on her cell phone. "Okay, I'm on my way. ### right? Make sure to leave your door open so I can come in." She said before she noticed us standing behind her... she got real quiet after that...

Also was disappointed that the rooftop lounge wasn't finished yet, even though it's one of the most boasted features on their website. I was also promised an updated room, but it was very outdated looking... and the strange brown stain on the sheets looked way too much like someone used the sheets as toilet paper for me to be completely comfortable sleeping on.

Employees are more than awesome though. They are probably the only saving grace of this unashamed hooker motel.

Overall, I did not feel safe spending two nights in this overrated prostitution house, and definitely won't be back unless they amp up their security... which won't happen because they'd lose their rich businessman clientele that like their extra accommodations... BEWARE!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank klp837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great hotel with good room and restaurant. The room itself is spacious enough for small sofa, writing table and large rectangular windows etc. TV system is good with pull outs mountings (tilt-swivel), wifi etc. Alarm clock with iPod docking (can charge iPhone as well). There are valet service and courtesy shuttle. I have issues with my room, the staff quickly moved me to another room with no question asked - thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LazyServer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Glad to hear that we were able to provide you with all the equipment to make your stay feel like a home. Thank you for your feedback!

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff is very helpful, professional and courteous. Valet parking is a nice touch in such a poor parking location so there is no worries for your vehicle. Located close to the great shopping in the Galleria area, this is a nice albeit a little bit of a splurge to stay at during the Christmas holiday madness.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cazzintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you found our staff to be helpful yet professional. It is always our intention to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#27 of 510 in Houston
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 510 in Houston
1,659 reviews
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 510 in Houston
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Property: Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
Address: 2525 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#89 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing