We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Free Parking, Free Wifi, Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #116 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Location, Free Parking, Free Wifi, Great Deal”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I got this hotel on Hotwire for an excellent price. The hotel is fairly hidden and somewhat hard to find, but it has easy access to the highway and I never had a problem with traffic.
Rooms are spacious with a mini fridge, microwave, and 2 free bottles of water. Bathrooms have shampoo, conditioner, lotion, nail files, cotton balls, etc. They even had makeup remover wipes for women, which I really appreciated.
I didn't have any trouble with the free wifi. Check in was a breeze and they let me in my room 3 hours early. Work out room is decent - few cardio machines and free weights. Breakfast is your typical buffet - eggs, waffles, yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc. They had cookies daily at 4pm, a great business center in the lobby, and the staff was more than happy to answer any questions.
Free parking was also a plus, however it's outdoor parking outside the hotel (not covered) and I wouldn't leave any of my valuables in my car. The area can be a little sketchy, but that's just downtown Houston in general.
I travel to Houston 12-15 times a year for work and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    129
    33
    20
    10
See reviews for
67
66
26
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went to Houston for the Yesus tour/concert. Most convent location At a fair price. Facility is older clean but needs renovation. Staff is friendly and helpful and the free parking is a big plus, and the food desert makes knowing what you want very important

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Ronald W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our friendly and helpful staff, complimentary parking facility and quality of food. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for NBA AllStar Weekend in February. This Inn Surprised me! The hotel provides free parking which was a huge plus during this particular weekend. In addition, it's walking distance from all the sporting venues in downtown Houston. Moreover, they serve breakfast in the mornings and leave goodies in a display by the elevators. My room was equipped with complimentary internet and 2 comfy queen beds. The staff was accommodating and we're more than helpful with directions and insight about entertainment and places to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncorprec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines G, Guest services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I am really happy that you had a Fantastic Experience with us, with our property, our staff and all the extras we offer all our valuable guests... we await your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I am kind of embarrassed to reviewing so many Holiday Inns. Due to lack of availability of hotel rooms in all of Houston, I had little choice and booked with a known brand. Now I know why it was available. The location is close to downtown but in an area that is completely desolate and void of any entertainment. The appeared to go through a "forced" transformation into a newly remodeled Holiday Inn (like the new ones) but fell significantly short. Common area was ok, but fitness facility equipment was broken, the belt on a treadmill like ice (dangerous). The elevator is dark as is the rooms. Quality of finishes in the rooms poor, just painted over. Room smelled damp. The walls are very thin and sounded like someone was jumping on the ceiling like Super 8 quality.

The only good things I can say is free wifi and bed was nice...love the soft pillow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTCFIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear JTCFIA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Really rude and unhelpful staff. The hotel manager cannot be bothered to address your concerns, and the front desk manager is completely unsympathetic. I travel a lot for business and have never experienced such rude service. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear ssm17,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our service and facilities are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret you found the level of service you received, less than satisfactory. Your comments are certainly very troubling. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to assure you that this will be looked into.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this hotel while attending a meeting in the convention center. We were extremely comfortable and happy with our accommodations. We stayed in a spacious suite which was an L-shaped set-up with two comfortable queen beds and a separate living area with couch, chair, wet bar, and fridge. The bathroom counter space was amble and the whole room very clean. The hotel is in a quiet area right near the convention center with many restaurants within walking distance. The hotel had pleasant staff and the lobby area was nicely decorated. Complimentary breakfast and afternoon lemonade/cookies were satisfying. The hot tub/pool area was clean and nicely designed. All in all, we were delighted with our stay. It was a great find in a great location. Thanks to the employees and staff who work hard to accommodate their guests so well. One can tell that they make this their goal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the parking lot which does not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines G, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your kind words regarding our staff and our facilities mean so much to us! Our goal is to keep our guests happy! We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you need to be downtown this is a convenient hotel . Its location is its biggest plus . Only a few blocks from the convention centre it is also within easy walking distance to the baseball , soccer and basketball stadiums . A short walk also to the trolleys that run to the football stadium . The hotel is what you would expect from the HI Express brand . Rooms could do with livening up but are clean and comfortable . Fridge and microwave in the room . Good quality TV . Wifi excellent in room . Complimentary breakfast . No food or bar in evening but plenty of eating and drinking options nearby . Staff friendly and accommodating . Nice touches in lobby free milk and cookies , lemonade etc . Probably a little costlier than I had anticipated - but as stated earlier it is the location that is the biggest plus . Spent 5 days here . Stayed also at the same time last year . Will use in future . All in all good value for money .

Room Tip: No real advice here but is in a relatively quiet area so no room impacted by noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines G, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your spectacular review of our hotel. We are very happy that you choose us again and again, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#121 of 517 in Houston
102 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Athens Hotel Suites
Athens Hotel Suites
#303 of 517 in Houston
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1810 Bell St, Houston, TX 77003-4206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Houston
#95 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay anywhere else? Make The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Convention Center your first choice for your next trip to Houston, Texas. Located in beautiful downtown Houston one block from the Houston Toyota Center, Houston Rockets headquarters, and two blocks from the Houston Convention Center, Houston s biggest convention center. Astros fan? We are just 0.5 miles from Minute Maid Park and the Astros, 2 miles from the University of Houston, 3 miles from the Texas Medical Center, and 6 miles from Reliant Stadium. The Holiday Inn Express is within a mile of Exxon-Mobile, Chevron, Shell, Meridian, Lyondell, Planned Parent Hood, as well as restaurants and the Houston Theater District.In a hurry? Stop by our complimentary hot breakfast bar and pick up a warm cinnamon roll or a biscuit with gravy, or you can pick from our other favorite selections. Whether you are traveling to Houston for business or leisure our hotel accommodation has all of the must have amenities you expect and more: free parking, large heated pool, business center, fitness center, free wireless Internet access, ATM on site. Enjoy spacious guest rooms, incredibly friendly employees and service. We are sure that on your next trip, you will make Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites your first choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing