We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the fun stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #98 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

HIE was close to Minute Maid Park and in walking distance to restaurants, shops, and bars. The hotel was nice, very clean, and the staff was very nice and helpful. If you are going to an Astro's game or even at the convention center or Toyota arena, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippin_it_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a convention at the Hilton-Americus. I was expecting a hot spot and a cot. The staff were nice and helpful. The room was a typical holiday inn express that was remodeled. The extras made the hotel fabulous. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi was great just a little heavy in the chlorine. Breakfast was tasty, and the 4pm hot baked cookies are great after a long conference day. Parking is secured with Houston police always stopping by for cookies.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuthernBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This reasonably priced Holiday Inn is in what is called "mid town Houston" although significantly cheaper than other downtown and midtown hotels. Even better, if in town for the basketball arena (Toyota), convention center (Brown) or baseball (Minute Maid) it is an easy and safe walk to all of these sites. Typical Holiday Inn Express...there is a hot (but not gourmet) free breakfast every morning, free wireless access all over the property, and more importantly for a downtown hotel, free parking (highly unusual and valuable) and the beds are very comfortable and the shower is excellent (in the end, aren't these the most important things?) This is an excellent value for the money and convenience.

Room Tip: Four floors all with easy access to lobby and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here with family. Nice place. Staff is friendly walking distance to george brown center and surrounding places. I'd stay here again. Stayed on first floor. Pretty nice room.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank Abel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is an older hotel in the downtown area. It has its pluses and minuses, for sure. If you want an inexpensive option when coming in town for an Astros game, this place fits the bill. The pool and area are nice and clean. They offer free cookies and milk during the afternoon/evening hours. Bottled water is complimentary, all you have to do is ask for it at the front counter. You can take the water into Minute Maid park with you. The park itself is less than a mile's walk. I wasn't sure of the safety factor when we arrived and saw all the signs posted in the parking lot, claiming that the hotel was not responsible for theft. However, we did not feel safety was a huge concern walking to and from the park, even at night. We will stay here again if we make another visit to Minute Maid Park because this is the most reasonable hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitKatluvr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Here while presenting at a conference in Houston, I found the HIE downtown to be a very warm, welcoming and service-with-a-smile environment. Though a bit older than some, it was exceedingly clean and quiet. Comfortable bed on the firm side...plenty of pillows.The wireless was responsive and fairly quick, and the business center in the front lobby very accessible. Upon an early arrival, the desk clerk generously checked me in way ahead of schedule. Breakfast was the traditional HIE fare and well-stocked. Can't beat those hot cinnamon rolls and good coffee! Clean, pretty inside pool with hot tub, and just a 2 block walk to the convention center. Lovely stay...kudos to the accommodating staff!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at nicer and newer hotels in Houston but we keep coming back to this Hotel on Bell St when we are in town to see the Astro's play ball. Now the good things about the Hotel. Great clean rooms, clean indoor pool, good morning breakfast with fresh fruit and a new pancake machine, and around 3 or 4 in the afternoon they put out fresh cookies. The staff has always been very nice to us. The Hotel is safe and a nice walk to the ball field. When you take into account the free parking and the free breakfast this makes this hotel a good value. Now for the bad. Remember this is an older hotel but every thing works normally. When we stayed this past weekend one of the elevators was out of order,not really that big a deal since this is a small hotel. When we travel it is just the 2 of us. But if I had a family and was looking into saving some money, still allow my kids to have a great time and feel safe, this would be the hotel for me.

Room Tip: Family's should ask for a room with a Frig and Mircowave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpursSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#139 of 518 in Houston
115 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1810 Bell St, Houston, TX 77003-4206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Houston
#95 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay anywhere else? Make The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Convention Center your first choice for your next trip to Houston, Texas. Located in beautiful downtown Houston one block from the Houston Toyota Center, Houston Rockets headquarters, and two blocks from the Houston Convention Center, Houston s biggest convention center. Astros fan? We are just 0.5 miles from Minute Maid Park and the Astros, 2 miles from the University of Houston, 3 miles from the Texas Medical Center, and 6 miles from Reliant Stadium. The Holiday Inn Express is within a mile of Exxon-Mobile, Chevron, Shell, Meridian, Lyondell, Planned Parent Hood, as well as restaurants and the Houston Theater District.In a hurry? Stop by our complimentary hot breakfast bar and pick up a warm cinnamon roll or a biscuit with gravy, or you can pick from our other favorite selections. Whether you are traveling to Houston for business or leisure our hotel accommodation has all of the must have amenities you expect and more: free parking, large heated pool, business center, fitness center, free wireless Internet access, ATM on site. Enjoy spacious guest rooms, incredibly friendly employees and service. We are sure that on your next trip, you will make Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites your first choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing