We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #115 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Central Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really nice stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Here while presenting at a conference in Houston, I found the HIE downtown to be a very warm, welcoming and service-with-a-smile environment. Though a bit older than some, it was exceedingly clean and quiet. Comfortable bed on the firm side...plenty of pillows.The wireless was responsive and fairly quick, and the business center in the front lobby very accessible. Upon an early arrival, the desk clerk generously checked me in way ahead of schedule. Breakfast was the traditional HIE fare and well-stocked. Can't beat those hot cinnamon rolls and good coffee! Clean, pretty inside pool with hot tub, and just a 2 block walk to the convention center. Lovely stay...kudos to the accommodating staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    119
    31
    19
    9
See reviews for
59
58
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SpursSA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at nicer and newer hotels in Houston but we keep coming back to this Hotel on Bell St when we are in town to see the Astro's play ball. Now the good things about the Hotel. Great clean rooms, clean indoor pool, good morning breakfast with fresh fruit and a new pancake machine, and around 3 or 4 in the afternoon they put out fresh cookies. The staff has always been very nice to us. The Hotel is safe and a nice walk to the ball field. When you take into account the free parking and the free breakfast this makes this hotel a good value. Now for the bad. Remember this is an older hotel but every thing works normally. When we stayed this past weekend one of the elevators was out of order,not really that big a deal since this is a small hotel. When we travel it is just the 2 of us. But if I had a family and was looking into saving some money, still allow my kids to have a great time and feel safe, this would be the hotel for me.

Room Tip: Family's should ask for a room with a Frig and Mircowave
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpursSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here to save a few dollars compared to the other higher-end hotels that were actually connected to the convention center. It wasn't your typical, in-the-middle-of-nowhere-outskirts hotel, although the price might have suggested such. It was in a bland location, sandwiched between a highway and a few skyskrapers, but the area was safe and the walk to the convention center was quick. It was modestly priced, yet convenient to the center and the price included a good breakfast.

It looked like it was recently built, but the room I stayed in looked like it had been well worn and half-remodeled. The decor didn't quite match and it wasn't the nicest Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in, but the room was clean. The sheets were a bit pilled and scratchy, but the mattress was supportive and the pillows were comfy.There was ample space, a sizable bathroom, and a mini fridge.

Due to availability restrictions, I only stayed here one night, but I wished I could have stayed here my whole trip as it was very convenient to the convention center. I didn't use the pool facilities, because I didn't think there was sufficient privacy (everyone walks by the window), but the area looked clean and well maintained.

The staff was very friendly and, despite the incredibly overbooked convention week, they were remarkably calm and accomodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind walking 5 minutes to the convention center and for those who prefer to stay away from the crowds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamJen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Whenever I am at a convention at the GRB Convention Center, I always try for this hotel. It is usually less expensive than anything in the area, it is nice, it has a hot (free) breakfast, and great (free) wireless Internet. My only complaints are that there are only a couple of restaurants within a few blocks (of course, not their fault) and the room heat/AC is pretty loud -- but that drowns out any noise from the freeway.

It would also be great for the Toyota Center and not bad for Minute Maid Park.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
280 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here for a full week-long business trip to Houston where my meetings were at the Hilton but I wanted to save 50%-60% off my hotel expenses.

It was just a 4 or 5 minute walk to the convention center/Hilton, as well as the Toyota Center. A bit further walk to Minute Maid Park. If you had to go to the north side of the city around Milam and Louisiana, it was probably more like 12-15 minutes, such as Pennzoil Place.

The rooms were very good, a/c was ok but a little damp. Breakfast included. Very nice bathrooms. Beds are fine. Not as luxurious or as quiet as the Hilton or other hotels nearby, but I saved around $200 a night. So I saved $1000 for the 5 night stay. I took a SuperShuttle from the airport for $26, so I don't know how parking is. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Domino1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Let's start from the beginning:

Parking for this hotel is kind of bad. There is a small parking area right in front of the hotel and a lot behind it where all the spaces seem pretty compact. Of course being downtown, if you miss the entrance to the hotel, you will have to loop back to get to it again.
Entering the hotel, you are greeted with a clean and quiet lobby. Check in was a breeze as the hotel had already been reserved and paid for.
We were assigned room 142. It was a clean and smoke free room on the first floor. The room included a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron, desk, sitting chair, king size bed and alarm clock. Everything was clean. The shower fixtures could be replaced. The shower head sprayed two separate ways and the other fixtures seemed to be detaching.
The biggest complaint is that our room was located next to the employee area. We could hear all conversations and equipment moving. Not exactly a pleasant way to wake up or get woken up. Request a room elsewhere if you see this could cause a problem.
If you have never been to Houston, be sure to request a dining area map. We had a tricky time trying to navigate to a restaurant.
The staff here was friendly and helpful. The early start breakfast is great and is included with your stay. With the convenience of being near the Toyota Center and ballpark, this is a great value stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
699 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Chose this hotel for a week-long business trip to Houston as it was the most economical downtown option. Due to a booking glitch, I ended up taking a junior suite instead of a standard room.

What I liked: Convenient location - 5 mins walk to the convention center & Toyota Center, and 10-15 mins walk to Minute Maid Park as well as most downtown shopping and eating places. Helpful and friendly staff. Spacious and quiet rooms with good facilities (fridge, microwave), cleaned daily. Standard breakfast for HIE but nice touch with the milk and cookies every afternoon. Small pool - good for kids.

What could be improved (if possible): Area around the hotel was very isolated after dark. Hotel looked dated in some areas (elevators, exterior). No in-room safe. Public transportation a little sparse and unpredictable, especially on weekends. Carpet felt a little damp when I arrived, not sure if that was due to a recent cleaning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianwyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#106 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Downtown
Athens Hotel Suites
Athens Hotel Suites
#313 of 501 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1810 Bell St, Houston, TX 77003-4206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Houston
#95 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay anywhere else? Make The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Convention Center your first choice for your next trip to Houston, Texas. Located in beautiful downtown Houston one block from the Houston Toyota Center, Houston Rockets headquarters, and two blocks from the Houston Convention Center, Houston s biggest convention center. Astros fan? We are just 0.5 miles from Minute Maid Park and the Astros, 2 miles from the University of Houston, 3 miles from the Texas Medical Center, and 6 miles from Reliant Stadium. The Holiday Inn Express is within a mile of Exxon-Mobile, Chevron, Shell, Meridian, Lyondell, Planned Parent Hood, as well as restaurants and the Houston Theater District.In a hurry? Stop by our complimentary hot breakfast bar and pick up a warm cinnamon roll or a biscuit with gravy, or you can pick from our other favorite selections. Whether you are traveling to Houston for business or leisure our hotel accommodation has all of the must have amenities you expect and more: free parking, large heated pool, business center, fitness center, free wireless Internet access, ATM on site. Enjoy spacious guest rooms, incredibly friendly employees and service. We are sure that on your next trip, you will make Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites your first choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing