We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Embassy worthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria
Ranked #53 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

At $217 per night, this was a very disappointing Embassy stay. Started with check-in when we were informed pool was closed for repairs and would be for 9 more days. That should have been added to their website I think. Guests could use nearby Hotel pools but what a hassle!!! Rooms were typical ES and fairly clean but the little things you expect from ES were ignored. Tear in sofa cushion, cheap linens, no HBO on TV, only one remote for 2 TVs. Breakfast was OK but not as extensive as other ES. They stop serving at 9 and 9:30 would be better for families I think. First morning at 8:15 they were out of 2% milk (only had skim) and said they didn't have anymore milk. Second morning ran out of orange juice at 8:30. Note that hotel was not very crowded at all. On my floor, a dolly was left in a hallway all day and all night and outside one of the hotel side doors was a cup full of water and cigarette butts. Still have two more nights here so maybe things will get better but I doubt it. Front desk people were nice and omelets are very good and location very good. Walked easily to Galleria Mall. But this ES needs to take more pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Tom T,
On behalf of The Embassy Suites Near the Galleria please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay! We tried our best to inform all of our guests that the pool was going to be closed for renovation purposes. During that period of time we did give the option to our guests, to be shuttled to the hotel next door to use their pool. I have also shared your comments with the Housekeeping and F&B department about your experience. The great news is that the pool is now open and we are very pleased with the results. Once again I’m very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected! We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future so we can redeem ourselves. Please let me know if you need anything else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 928 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We accompanied my husband to Houston for his business meetings and chose this hotel, because of it's location. We were able to walk to the Galleria and fill the days shopping, eating, ice skating, and just people watching. The hotel is very clean and the staff are amazing! We really enjoyed the huge selection of breakfast items and the happy hour. My daughter couldn't wait to feed the swans in the lobby every evening. The only complaint was that the pool was still being repaired. We really wanted the luxury of a cool swim in August! However, when we spoke to the manager about it, Derrick, he went over the top to make our stay more enjoyable. I can't say enough nice things about the staff...truly great people who love their jobs! We decided the next day to take them up on their offer to use the neighboring hotel's pool and that worked out fine for us. Will 100% be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Berstory,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are very sorry about the pool being closed for repairs. I’m pleased to inform you that the renovation is now complete and I know you will see the major improvement. I’m sure we will get the opportunity to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Houston is famous for big large, and space is abundant- hence, all-suite hotels are quite common in this city.

The Embassy suites near the Galleria is exactly as it is- near it. It is within walking distance to the Galleria, and I found it easier to access thru Nordstrom.

Suite: Spacious and clean. Recent touch ups and updates can be seen- the hallway carpeting is brand new, and the bathroom wallpaper is too! Everything very clean and functional. The bed is very comfortable, though those yearning for a harder pillow may need to request for it.

As with all Embassy suites, there are 2 TVs, with HD channels. I wish they had a safe, but they did not. A microwave and kitchen-style sink is also in the living room. The living room also had a comfy sofa-bed.

Room service: Had in room dining once, it was acceptable. The menu is rather...limited, and features common food options.

Staff: Friendly, charming and professional, from the reception, to the breakfast staff to the housekeepers, all a gem who'd fit right into a luxury hotel.

Facilities: A cute indoor pool with Jacuzzi, and a limited gym (nice threadmills, dumbells, bench)

Free breakfast and evening cocktails: Good with friendly staff. Breakfast was...repetitive

What wasn't so great: The internet was very slow from my bedroom. Some devices couldn't pick up a signal. Better from the work desk/ living room.

There was no prior warning (not that I was aware) of pool renovation. One fine day it was just closed suddenly. The alternative is available next door, though.

Overall: A good value stay, and considering the space and location, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Fredd0,
We are very grateful for the informative feedback! We greatly appreciate it and thank you for mentioning how great our staff is. We value you your opinion and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The usual excellent experience staying at the Embassy Suites. Good food great service. Always disappointed when we cannot find a Embassy Suites near our destination especially when traveling with family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Ed B,
We are very glad to hear that your stay was excellent! Your feedback means so much to all of us. We also appreciated your loyalty to the Embassy Brand! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting family in the area. No complaints. Everything was just as a regular guest of Embassy Suites would expect. Great breakfast in the morning and courteous staff. Very clean with new furnishings. Pool is being resurfaced and not available but they offered to shuttle us to another property to swim if we so desired. The staff appears to be detail oriented and are very friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbeanlover2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Caribbeanlover2263,
It sounds like everything was great with your stay! Our number1 goal is customer satisfaction and we are very glad we achieved just that! The pool renovation should be done pretty soon and we are very excited! I’m sure we will get a chance to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful staff but there were several problems with the room. The staff sought to correct what they could but things should have been tended to before renting the room. However, the swans were great to watch, the front desk went out of their way to accommodate and the manager was exceptional. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel. It is only a short walk from the Galleria and close to many fine eating places.

Room Tip: There is a wonderful Greek place, yes I said Greek, just a block away where the food was wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Bama74,
We appreciate the positive feedback about the front desk they always try to be step ahead of any issues that might arise. We look forward to your return and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a fantastic stay! Employees at front were very, nice and happy!! Room was very clean.
Went to front trying to get directions and I had three people trying to help get me to my location.
Thank you!!! Will stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear girlsanantonio,
We are so grateful about your comments, especially the front desk staff! Our goal is #1 customer satisfaction and we are glad we accomplish just that with you. I’m sure we will get to see you very soon! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria

Address: 2911 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#119 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $130 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Houston - Near the Galleria is just 45 steps from Houston's destination shopping at the Galleria. We offer shopping packages and other deals to give you the best rate possible at our all-suite hotel. Plus, enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly cocktails at our evening reception. We're only 15 minutes from events at Minute Maid Park, the Houston Zoo and Downtown Houston Aquarium, as well as Rice University and the University of Houston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Near the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston
Houston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing