We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plain ol' Hotel with the World's Slowest Internet Connection” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South
Ranked #277 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Timbuktu, Mali
2 reviews
“Plain ol' Hotel with the World's Slowest Internet Connection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Nothing particularly notable about this hotel. The under-window air conditioners are a bit loud and the walls are thin but the price is good. The only real complaint I have is that the internet connection is abysmally slow. I travel a LOT (~100 nights a year) and I know what a decent hotel internet speed is like - this hotel does not have a decent internet connection speed.

Room Tip: Do NOT get room 102. It is right next to the front desk and was loud all night. The only time the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horatio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston_TXManager, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Horatio H,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had at the hotel. We have upgraded the internet and all the old a/c's this month and you should be seeing a substantial improvement. Furthermore, if you ever have any problems at our hotel, please let the front desk know that you would like to contact me, Terry, on her cell phone. I will be happy to talk to you at anytime. Thank you for your review and if you are ever in Houston again, please consider us to be home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    60
    29
    38
See reviews for
73
41
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WINNIPEG
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our family booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and it was great. The hotel is clean even though the decor is tired, the beds are comfy, the staff are very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a short stay with family it's a great hotel, we would stay there again. The pool is small but we weren't there for that anyway. There is a great complimentary hot breakfast and within walking distance is Godfather's pizza, Jack in the Box, Taco Bell. Close to the airport and easy to get to considering the huge traffic freeway system in Houston.

Room Tip: We didn't really find a difference in floors but there are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUSTERBROWN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This cottage country atmosphere was truly remarkable! Great breakfast everyday, nice and friendly room attendents........ not to mention the Hotel management was excellent with assisting me with all my speacial request! I had no problem connecting to the internet like I do at most places, and the rooms were spacious and most comfortable. I even enjoyed there nicely remodeled fitness center! My stay was for a week..... but it was every bit of Home away from Home!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hea-Von B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have stayed at Country Inn & Suites for several years. It is my home away from home. I have nothing but good things to say about the courtesy of the staff and cleanness of the rooms. I can be pretty picky at times, but I must say there has not been anything dissatisfactory during my many stays that would warrant a complaint. Great job! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Request a suite if traveling with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindahoward_yazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I booked a pre-paid room for an overnight stay before a connecting flight. This hotel advertises complimentary transportation to and from the airport. However, they failed to mention that their shuttle stops at midnight so when I called for it at 11:50PM, it was not available. The additional $15 taxi fare eliminated any bargain this hotel might have been. Also, when I called, the desk clerk seemed unaware that this hotel is listed as "Country Inn Houston Airport South" so he treated me as if I had called the wrong hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advoctae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

My family had the misfortune of staying at this Hotel January 2, 2012, prior to our cruise vacation. My vehicle was broken into sometime during the night and my stereo system ripped out and luggage was stolen. I parked right out the front door and was told there were security cameras of the lot. I will not stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay with your car, it's not safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel the night before Thanksgiving as we arrived late evening
The shuttle was quick & got us through the traffic jam at the airport to the hotel in no time
We did not have a car so getting food was not ideal
we walked up the street to Subway there was a pizza place there but no one was in there so not a good sign ..maybe the food was not good or maybe just a bad location
The room was fine, no problems
the breakfast was ok ..just your usually hotel breakfast fare

We got the shuttle back to the airport to pick up the rental car then off to our destination

It was fine for an overnight close to airport

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lht28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston / Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South
Address: 15555 B JFK Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on JFK Boulevard at the entrance to George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), the Country Inn & Suites Houston South hotel offers guests a convenient location, exceptional amenities and friendly service. Enjoy free wireless Internet access, a complimentary daily hot breakfast and free airport shuttle to IAH. Our Houston airport hotel's services also include an outdoor pool, a Business Center and a fully renovated Fitness Center featuring a brand-new elliptical, treadmill and multi-station workout area. Visit the Country Inn & Suites and see what makes us one of the best Houston Airport hotels for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Intercontinental Airport
Country Inn & Suites Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Country Inn Airport
Country Inn Houston
Houston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing