We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, with one major flaw...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Ranked #34 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with one major flaw...”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Hotel looks small from the outside, but is actually pretty large. It has its own indoor parking garage, which was OK, except that it now costs $10 per night to park there (it used to be $8/night.) This is actually cheap in comparison to parking fees charged by other hotels in the area; I think Hotel Indigo is the only one in the Galleria area that doesn't charge. The hotel is a short drive to The Galleria (not within walking distance). They had a nice pool/hot tub, and our room was well-appointed, and very clean. My only problem is that the ceilings are VERY thin, and you can hear the people above you walking around. I had the TV turned up, the A/C on, and my personal fan on, and I could still hear the creaking at all hours of the night, both nights that we were there. My advice is to either bring a pair of earplugs or request a room on the top floor, so that nobody will be above you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndstrukt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    229
    78
    28
    34
See reviews for
249
109
38
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was affordable and very comfortable for us traveling with our 3 kids. We stayed 2 nights. We enjoyed the room very much with the king bed and a pull out couch. Everything was very clean including the bathroom and the kitchen. The kitchen had everything that you needed to prepare meals. They have a mini-store downstairs in the lobby in chase you just want to grab something. The hotel is not within walking distance of the Galleria, but that was OK for us. Not a problem to drive a couple of blocks to get there. We did not get a chance to enjoy the Breakfast provided by the hotel, but did hear from other guests that it was good. We found places to eat and a grocery store to shop at right on Richmond Ave. The Pool is a bit smaller than I thought, but it was very clean. We got to enjoy it with the kids several times during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala, fl
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a cross-country road trip.

Pros - great location near Galleria, free breakfast and evening reception with wine, beer, and snacks, parking garage with entry at each floor, we booked it for an excellent price on hotwire.com

Cons - loud AC unit, rooms are showing signs of age

Overall, I think this hotel would be an excellent place to stay for a business traveler while still having everything a family would need.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersM2M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Very clean and nice hotel at the Galleria, very central in Houston and good choice for a hotel with decent price and nice amenities.
They had a happy hour every night with free beer/wine and food! It was really like appetizer and you could eat as much as you want.
Unfortunately no bar at night - and the pool is a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murxless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This property is in the Galleria area, off Richmond, close to highway access, but not within walking distance of the mall stores. It is close to a drugstore and a few chain restaurants. It does offer a complimentary breakfast, with hot entrees, weekday afternoon beer, wine and generous hot snacks (chicken wings, nachos, soups), Hyatt pantry, daily WSJ, 24 hour fitness, outdoor pool, many cable channels and covered parking garage. It is clean and has a friendly and visible staff. However, our room, #432, a 2-bedroom, 2-bath king suite, had a very odd vibe....seemed like we were staying in a do-it-yourself low-budget attic remodel. The kitchen was large, furnished with amenities, granite counter tops, and all appliances, but no table and chairs for dining! We ended up sitting on the couch and balancing plates on our knees. The bedrooms had desks and narrow bookcases, but no dresser or armoire for clothing and only one nightstand with the king bed. There was no closet in the room; just a clothing bar inside the bathroom. Curtains were cut off at bottoms rather than hemmed. Furnishings and decor were basic dorm room-in style, color and quality. Towel holders and paperholder rattled on the walls. I could not get a showercap. Room was clean, but not pleasing. One other peculiar feature to be aware of--the gate to the parking garage opens out and up. As we scanned the room card for admission, we always kept the car in reverse because of that sensation that the door was going to clip the front of the car. And, the 4th floor access door to the building never did open for us- it was jammed and then one morning we saw the handle on the ground. So getting into the building required parking on 3 and going upstairs to 4!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

A Gold Passport Diamond member, I have never stayed at a Summerfield. I loved it and it is now a Houston favorite. Clean room, excellent service and attention from a small staff, and good sized rooms. Very close to Galleria (you can't walk there though) and extremely easy access to freeway without traffic issues. Free beer and breakfast is great, I passes on the buffet though it would be perfect if I was there not for business. Quiet location and may switch there on 2 weeks from the JW Marriott. MUCH nicer than the Residence Inn. No room service no, but great restaurants nearby or a quick drive south on 1-610.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasCityGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I'm usually extremely impressed by Hyatt properties and the level of service. Pretty much everything was perfect but the one thing that really matters at the end of the day was not - my ability to get a good night's sleep.

The room was extremely clean and spacious and the staff was very friendly. They have free internet and the location is not too bad - everything in Houston is "far away" so it's not their fault.

That being said, the bed was too soft and made it almost impossible to get a proper night's sleep. If they fix the beds, this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EduTravelerMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Houston/Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Houston/Galleria

Property: HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Address: 3440 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-7010 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Houston
#25 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Houston/Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt House Houston Galleria, located three blocks from the Galleria Mall features an onsite H-Bar, complimentary Morning Spread(R) breakfast and suites with full-equipped kitchens. Enjoy many free perks such as property-wide WiFi, 24/7 fitness center and grocery shopping service. Lounge at our outdoor pool and firepit or grab a drink from our H-Bar with sharable menu items and full bar service. Each of our stylish suites is pet-friendly and offer full kitchens with stainless steel appliances, flat-screen TVs and Hyatt Grand Beds(R). Start your day with our new Morning Spread(R) breakfast with a yummy omelet bar. Forget something? We have a 24/7 Guest Market with snacks and travel items or take advantage of our new Borrows(R) program and we'll lend you anything from flatirons, yoga kits, board games and even pool toys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Houston/Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria Hotel Houston
Hyatt Houston Galleria
Summerfield Suites Houston
Houston Summerfield Suites
Houston Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing