We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic-Great , new carpet, flat screen, close to downtown, love the price, cheaper if you join the Best Value Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Downtown
Ranked #330 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel has have begun to remodel and is improving. This is a great budget hotel with good beds, flat screen T.V., mirco, fridge, and new carpet-yea!. I have stayed here twice when we needed to be downtown early for business. It is very easy to get to my car. Easy (miss the traffic) travel to downtown without paying $200.00 plus for a hotel. I love saving the money I save or spending it on something else I need or want! I will stay here again. Very friendly manager.

Room Tip: King non smoking
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is nice simple hotel. Price was good and acceptable. This hotel is nothing fancy, but has everything you need. Nice bed, spacious rooms, very clean, good breakfast. And it's not far from downtown at all. I was in town again for business and stayed here because the hotel of my choice across the street was sold out. I am completely satisfied with my stay. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is quite close to the city center and directly reachable by bus. the staff is helpfull. The rooms could be more clean. Because of the situation directly at the highway it's noisy. The air in the room was very bad.

Room Tip: If they have try a room with a window away from the highway.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uh6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was close to the client I was needing to stay. My criteria is location first, accommodations and amenities second. This hotel was decent, especially for the price the first stay, but this time, they gave me a dumpy room, with holes in the carpet, rundown furniture, and makeshift repair work all over. The lamp had a grafted power cord that was connected with electrical tape (which I unplugged for safety).

During my second stay, I was reminded that the WiFi did not work for my phone or email, which for a travelling business person, is paramount. I called the office, but they were unable to fix it during either stay. Needless to say, I was frustrated not being able to get much work done while there.

The "breakfast" consists of a waffle maker with watered down, overly sweet batter, two generic cereals, Sunny Delight, Milk and Coffee. That's it.

On the plus side, the location is pretty convenient, the bed was one of the best I've slept in in a lower end hotel. The staff is friendly, and they are renovating, so I will not completely bash them for these downfalls, but the place is a budget hotel - keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Was at a function at the Convention Center Downtown and didn't want to pay an arm and a leg. We heard others talking about staying at this facility. It was easy to find off of 45, nicely lit. My husband stayed one night and on the second night I joined him. The room was large, not exactly a suite but larger than a regular room. All items in the room worked correctly. The rock, I mean the bed was a little firm but it what do you expect. Evidently on Friday nights they charge an extra $5.00 due to being the weekend or possibly they thought that we had brought the dead cockroach in the bathroom with us and charged us for his stay. My husband had a couple of sideways words with the owner/manager over paying for the second night. I suppose he thought we were going to "cheat" him out of some money but that was a little silly since my husband left all his belongings in the room. It was obvious that he was planning to return and besides that he had used his credit card to pay the initial night. It had been a matter of miscommunication with the female that worked the desk. All in all, the room was quite clean (sans roach), comfortable, a/c worked well, felt safe and was reasonable. What more do you want for $60. ish per night?

Room Tip: Second floor room was quiet and felt safe.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

There were four of us staying at this property for a week recently while we were in town for the Quilt Festival. Firstly the manager would not accept our Australian passports as id, he wanted out visas. He went overboard in requiring payment even though we had lodged a credit card for security at time of booking. We extended our stay as it was more convenient and he insisted that we pay every couple of days. The room that 2 of us had had a kitchen in it but no crockery, cutlery or cooking equipment. Only 1 fan in the room worked, the cupboard doors were missing handles but I guess for the price it was OK. Our main complaint is the total distrusting attitude of the management. We were made to feel like we were not to be trusted. The other ladies' room had a microwave but no glass plate so they could not use it. Their toilet broke down towards the last day.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are planning to stay for a number of days that you pay every couple of days
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a great hotel to stay at for the price of the rooms. It's a convenient location very close to downtown. Not too much traffic around the area. The desk clerk was very friendly and the rooms were clean and tidy.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank bigsean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Sleep Inn & Suites
#129 of 517 in Houston
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scottish Inns Westcott Street
#343 of 517 in Houston
5 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Downtown

Address: 2536 North Fwy, - Downtown, Houston, TX 77009-5520
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $91 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing