We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than You Expect in The Airport But Not up to Pappa's Standards”

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen
Ranked #109 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Better Than You Expect in The Airport But Not up to Pappa's Standards”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Much better than the average airport restaurant and yet, not really up to the usual Pappa's restaurant group standards. I've eaten at several Pappadeaux restaurants. They typically offer high quality, very tasty food, and good service. Nothing imaginative or innovative, but usually very reliable creole and cajun standards. My most recent visit to the Houston International location was a little below standard. Service and food was a little off. Considering the usual highly reliable experience at Pappadeaux Seafood, maybe this was just an off day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    72
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is in an airport!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

What a nice! I hate airport food on whole. Even restaurants where you recognize the name. They are rarely up to snuff.

This a really good. I got the lobster bisque, loaded bake potato, and the pappadeaux oysters. I know what your thinking, shellfish in an airport?! But is was all great. I like ordering a loads bake potato when I am traveling to test a restaraunt. I am surprised how many are dried out or frankly raw. This was a lunch unto itself.

Food was hot, nice little wine list at the full bar. And a bonus

There were charging plugs under the bar. That was icing baby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobberBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“this is one of the original Pappadeaux where it started”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

they have a great crab salad, very pleased with the service, speed and meal. Went with 4 other of our team and everyone was very pleased with the food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank L G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great as always”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have eaten at this chain and were not disappointed at the Houston restaurant. The atmosphere was great with the jazz music playing. The food was fresh and flavorful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unusually good food for an airport”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Of all the airports I travel through this one resturant is by far the best of the best in an airport. Great food at reasonable prices. The staff is very friendly and appreciative.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Pasadena, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing