We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
190
94
46
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
94
46
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationnordstrom entrancefront deskwater wallfull kitchenwalking distancesmall kitchenhouston galleriafree breakfastcomfortable hotelhot breakfastyogurteasy accessdishwasherconditionersoapsofa
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 362 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

with sale fare of 133$ per night you can give 3 star to this hotel but if 210$ i WOULD not recommended IT and YOU could find better facilities with the same price nearby.
Pos: full kitchen, location, nice lobby, acceptable free breakfast, free internet and parking
cos: old condition and facilities, bathroom in the bedroom, closet in the bathroom, room not clean enough, old tube TV's, filthy carpets, a/c can't keep up and also very thin walls!
incident: toilet water could not drained (this is because it is very old toilet and pluming system) and water came out of the toilet bowl and all over the bathroom, I called housekeeper and she used bathroom towels to dry up and stop leaking water to the bedroom carpet! after that with the same gloves she took dirty towels out, dried the bathroom and brought the clean towels for us! OMG how can I use these towels anymore?!
we had 2 housekeeper during our 4 day stay, first one with light hair color (do not know names) was very clean and doing her job properly, but second one with black hair was horrible and causing us feel that the room is dirty and nasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Chairs and couches had tears and horrible stains were on the carpet! Somewhere I had read it was non-smoking but it was NOT; could smell smoke coming from neighboring rooms. Also, less importantly, decor (televisions) were very out of date.

The housekeeping staff was friendly and thorough but the overall experience was pretty poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin D, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you For your review of the Sonesta ES Suites Houston Galleria. We are pleased to let you know our complete reimaging and renovation of the Hotel will begin in the 1st qtr of 2014. We hope that you might try us again soon and let everyone know about our completely new Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The money spent on the renovations on the outside of the hotel should have been spent on the inside. They still have tube TV's. The carpets are filthy. The water comes out brown. The a/c can't keep up (and it's the end of October).
The reason I gave them a 2 insread of 0 was due to the staff. They were very helpful and accomodating. I feel bad that they're stuck at such a dump.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

When staying in Houston we try to avoid much driving during rush hours. This hotel, albeit a bit tired and worn, was perfect located for our stay. Short distance from our office in Post Oak, and the Galleria shopping mall is just a 5 mins walk from here. Big rooms, huge fridge w/freezer, clean rooms and with great staff. We need "office space" in our hotel rooms, and here the two of us could really spread out. For a 5 weeks stay in Houston this was a good solution. The room decor is old fashion, some tiles have seen their better days - so has the tub and the aircon sounds like the break-out of World War 2. But as long as it's clean it works well. Could very well stay here again on longer trips. Shorter trips to Houston when we don't need office space and a kitchen I would prefer somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWildNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms are just ok, old TV's cracked floor tiles, but enough space to move around. Full size fridge freezer was helpful. Corridors and lift seemed very tired.

Breakfast wasn't fantastic but edible. Free parking and free wifi brought this up to 2 stars

There must be better places to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lift
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigelandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews