We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and free laundry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Houston Galleria
Ranked #85 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great location-- walking distance to the Galleria mall, across the street from a couple great restaurant-bar spots, and a few short blocks from a 24-hour CVS. The biggest plus for me was the free laundry, especially since I stayed for almost two weeks. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heymrteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 334 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

I gave this facility outstanding reviews in the past. However, over the past 3 months the hotel has had a change in management and a large turnover of its front desk staff who are ill trained and not as friendly as the earlier staff.

Room Tip: Terrific location right next to the Galleria. Higher floors are quieter. Some rooms are bigger tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 550hashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice and clean room. Free breakfast with a lot to choose from. Small but clean pool where our kids played for an hour without complaining.... And I really appreciate the free guest laundry and the possibility to buy snacks and drinks from the shop in the lobby for a decent price. Also good location with easy walking to both the Galleria and different restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linné
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

First stayed in this Hotel some 2 years ago and was pleasantly surprised when we returned for a month in August this year to find that the welcome, standards and price have remained consistent. My husband was here on business and I always felt relaxed and 'at home' in the Hotel during the day. I could come and go from our suite at any time of day and staff always made us feel that they were there to be helpful and make sure that our stay was comfortable and relaxed. Our visitors were made to feel welcome too and the fact that coffee was always available in the lounge all day made it easy to invite friends to drop by even though we were staying in a Hotel. Thorougly recommended for families too as there is a nice safe pool (not too deep) and the area surrounding the pool is enclosed for small children.
There is a well planned kitchen area in all the suites and a large fridge freezer for storing food. Good pressure in the shower. The on site small shop carries a good selection of essentials. Drinks and light supper are provided 3 /4 times a week completely complimentary. Times for breakfast are especially well thought out and there is an excellent selection to suit everyone including children.
Location is excellent for one of the biggest shopping malls in the U.S. and there is also on site free parking - so all in all everything is provided whether you are visiting on business or on holiday.
Really comfy beds and crisp linen with beautiful fluffy towels and pool towels changed daily.
Hope to return to Houston in the future and wouldnt consider going anywhere else as its ideally situated for all connecting roads and Houston's downtown business district.

Room Tip: Have stayed on the ground floor back and 4th floor front and both rooms have been quiet at night. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I'm a Priority Club Platinum member, so I try to stay at IHG properties as often as possible. So, I was very pleased when I stayed at this property. The front desk staff was wonderful - very friendly. Due to a leg injury, I had to request a room near an elevator and my request was fulfilled quickly. My room was very spacious - one queen bed with a sofabed and kitchenette. The walls, especially in the bathroom, had a few cracks in them. But, that didn't take away from my overall perspective of the room. I was near the pool, which was a bit noisy late at night. However, I wear earplugs, so the noise didn't bother me. The bed felt wonderful. They have free washers and dryers on two floors; I used them and they didn't destroy my clothes. The fitness center was small, but nice. I only had two issues. One was having someone come in my room without my knowledge while I was gone although my "do not disturb" sign was on the door. I notified the front desk, who researched it with the head of housekeeping. For that incident, I was given 3 Priority Club vouchers worth 1,000 points each, although I asked for nothing. Secondly, the breakfast was awful! But, that appears to be a running theme with Staybridge Suites - free but awful tasting breakfast. However, my overall stay was lovely, and I'm planning to return later this year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Storm1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband, my pomeranian, and I have been staying here going on 8 weeks now, and even after such a long time period in one hotel, I give this one the highest rating. We travel for a living and have stayed in many hotels, and this one is my favorite. We've been staying in a king suite on the 3rd floor and have had no problems our entire stay. The room is large and cozy, the staff is incredibly easy to work with (we especially love Huey and Stacey), they have dinner 3 nights a week, the courtyard and pool are beautiful, our bed and room is very comfortable, it's easily within walking distance of the mall and the water wall, and we have found our room to be very quiet. Occasional "dings" from the elevator, but it's very quiet and peaceful here. The only negatives I can think of are that the 1 elevator is slow and the internet in our room is slow. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family traveling to Houston.

Room Tip: View is prettier on pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Writetaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a perfect choice for Houston because the staff is so wonderful and the amenities really put this hotel over the top. We are currently staying here and I am using their FREE wifi after enjoying the free cocktail reception with enough food to make a good dinner. The check in was flawless. A young woman with a name I cannot pronounce or remember was so courteous and professional. When I called about the reservation Vanessa was the same way over the phone. I am a platinum member and this is one of the locations where that really matters and they take your loyalty seriously. The grounds and interior common areas are well-maintained and very attractive. The only down side is that the walls are a bit thin and the furnishing, although clean and in good condition are a bit out of current style. This is an excellent choice in Houston and a place I will return to. This is the first location that has made me want to keep my platinum status!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Crow-Kain212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Houston Galleria

Address: 5190 Hidalgo St, Houston, TX 77056-6404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $124 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Houston Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Houston, Texas! The Sonesta ES Suites Houston is centrally located in the heart of the Galleria/Uptown business district. Whether you are here for business or pleasure; from the upscale shopping at the Galleria Mall to a variety of restaurants and sporting/ family venues; Houston has something for everyone. A few points of interest are: the Reliant Center/ Reliant Park - home of the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo and the Houston Texans football team. George R. Brown Convention Center, the Texas Medical Center - with the world renowned MD Anderson Cancer Treatment Center, Minute Maid park - home of the Houston Astros and The Toyota Center - home of the champion Houston Rockets and Comets. Spacious fully furnished and well equipped studio, one bedroom and two bedroom/ two bath suites offer a variety for your accommodation/ relocation needs. Release some stress by exercising in our extensive fitness center, take a dip in our sparkling pool, or enjoy our garden courtyard and BBQ pavilion area. With all of the amenities Sonesta ES Suites Houston has to offer, we are a great option for the overnight guest as well as the extended stay/relocation guest. Complimentary wireless and high speed Internet is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Houston-Near The Galleria Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing