We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Migas for brunch=happy tummy!”

White Oak Kitchen + Drinks
Reserve with OpenTable
White Oak Kitchen + Drinks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 8,207 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Southwestern, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Post Oak
Description: Sophisticated Casual
1 review
“Migas for brunch=happy tummy!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Migas plate was outstanding. It included eggs, potatoes, and jalapeño sausage (the best part of the dish)
Also ask for a roasted jalapeño on the side, adds great favor to the dish :)

Our waiter Valentin was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteOakKitchen, Administrative Assistant at White Oak Kitchen + Drinks, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Greetings Jessica C.

Thank you for the kind review of White Oak Kitchen + Drinks! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your experience with us. (And we completely agree with your menu recommendations) We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon here at White Oak Kitchen + Drinks.

Warmest regards,

Claire Ebow
Social Media Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    81
    31
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Beef Nachos”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Ate here twice on a recent trip to Houston. Once on a Friday (Oct 25) and again on Sunday (Oct 27). Had the beef nachos the first time and returned to enjoy them again. 12 loaded tortilla chips were enough for the two. (we were having large dinners both evenings so we didn't want a big lunch) The nachos are $13. Soft drink (with refills) was $3.35 and a glass of Seaglass Sauv Blanc was $11.00. Service was good and the restaurant has WiFi. On our 2nd visit we were seated underneath the speaker and the music was load. They were very accommodating when we asked to move.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteOakKitchen, Administrative Assistant at White Oak Kitchen + Drinks, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
C W B,

We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us here at White Oak Kitchen + Drinks. We also appreciate you taking the time out to write such a positive review. The next time your travels bring you back to Houston, please stop by and see us again.

Warmest regards,

Claire Ebow
Social Media Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“October 25 dinner”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Sedate and pleasant dinner, excellent drinks and able to have conversation with guest without too much ambient noise.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

White Oak has a great variety menu, but I have to say that they make some of the best homemade soups in town. Their minestrone, chicken and vegetable and tortilla soup is to die for. They have a different soup everyday, so if that is what you are after, call first to see what they have that day. I go about 3 times a month.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good Southern food with a twist.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Decided to go to White Oak after reading some of the TA reviews and on the advice of a coworker who was from the area.
Was in town on business and had dinner with a business associate. After cruising the menu we decided to go with all small plates as they all seemed very intriguing and the entrees, well not so much.
Had the Beignets which were outstanding. Great balance between shrimp and Beignet. The Pork Belly (which seems to be on the menu everywhere) was probably the best pork belly I've ever had (BTW my dining partner agreed). Melt in your mouth with just the right amount of smokiness. Perfectly matched with a bracing country mustard and nicely acidic tomato relish
Pimento Cheese was good served with a perfectly crisp (if somewhat under seasoned) fried green tomato. Grits, probably our least favorite dish. Now being from the North I will not pretend to be an expert on grits but I have traveled and have had them a number of times. These seemed to be somewhat dry compared to the creamy texture I have had other places and the mushrooms where totally overwhelmed by the blue cheese.
We also had the Pheasant. One of my favorite dishes of the night. The pheasant was cooked perfectly and the Apricot marmalade which was incredible was perfectly balanced by the crushed olive salad. Lastly we had the Oysters. Another very good salad. Oysters, again, cooked perfectly.
We finished with the Goat Cheese cake- Outstanding and the Lemon Chess pie which was OK ad the shell seemed to be very hard.
Service was friendly and attentive.
Overall White Oak came very close to 5 stars but it's definitely worth a visit. And yes the place can be very loud, even when it's not full.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cosmicdebris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Oak Kitchen + Drinks also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to White Oak Kitchen + Drinks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing