We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friends House Hostel

Friends House Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friends House Hostel
Save
You added Friends House Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Houston
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cute and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we only stayed here one night on our second stop of our USA trip and we loved it... We had a private room with share bathroom. It was very clean and tidy. Surrounded by trees and wildlife we loved the whole vibe here. walking distance to the city and staff were extremely helpful and gave us directions and a map etc. would recommend to anyone passing through Houston. Only fault was their pillows being very uncomfortable but i did keep in mind that it was a budget hostel and i am fussy with pillows. So all round great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is great. I had a private room with private kitchen and a shared bathroom. It was clean and comfortable plus you get a free breakfast in the morning. The host, Leah was amazing and very friendly. If you need any travel advice or anything she is always willing to help out. She also gives you a map, some brochures and a Space Center voucher on arrival which is great. Trust her when she says that you can't walk Houston! I tried it and my feet suffered a lot! The area is safe and so is the city. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaJM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed with a couple of friends in the dorm and were amazed of how nice atmosphere there was. I've never written a review about anything before but this place calls for one. The hosts, Leah and Danny are very friendly people and you can see they enjoy what they do. Their kindness spread through the guests without any of the hostel-hippie that you find at most places with flags all over and beer drinking receptionists.

In the common kitchen they have free noodles, phone with free calls to USA and Canada. The hostel is situated in the old German settlement of the city. I didn't care that much for the city on my travels but I did indeed enjoy the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktorfromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We finished our road trip in Houston at this hostel. It was prefect for us we stayed in the mixed dorm. It was clean with a lovely sitting area and kitchen. It felt more like a little holiday let than a hostel. The owner was lovely and had lots of advice to give on places to visit etc. The only downside to the hostel was trying to find it when arriving at night in the dark. The hostel is a house on a residential street with only a very small sign so is not at all obvious. I would recommend staying here to friends, its in a really charming neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in a private room that was minimal but acceptable -- bare wooden floors, thin foam mattress -- but with an air conditioner that really cranked. (Houston is hot pretty much all the time.) Location is great, in an older 'hood just a few blocks from the glittering downtown and a 30-min walk (20 the way I walk) to Minute Maid Park. A few street people about, but it didn't feel dangerous to me.

Free breakfast and coffee in the mornings! Hard to beat.

The couple who run the hostel are quite warm and inviting. The man, Danny I believe, planted himself in the street one morning and did tai chi with swords -- bare-chested -- more weird than interesting ... then tried to get me to sign up for classes. No thanks!

Overall, excellent value for your money, even more so in the dorm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Charming place in the oldest area of Houston, probably one of the most interesting. Lovely houses and streets. Rooms are very rough. We had a good time apart from having all our stuff moved from one (private) room to another while we were out without even receiving a phone call to ask first. And when we complained politely about that the lovely girl that works there (Leah) turned into a chihuahua. We were really surprised after the great welcoming we'd received beforehand. To balance that out, Danny was a great host and character. He provided us with a free half an hour self-defence class, which then turned into a whole evening of self-defence: exhausting but very entertaining and useful. Anyhow, we then got robbed and mugged several times during our 6 months southamerican travel (not your fault Danny!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giacomo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Leah and Danny are friends!, My business takes me to many hotels around the world, yet a hotel is just a place to stay. At Friends house, you get to sample real people and experience the real culture that Houston has to offer.
Here you have everything you need and much more Leah and Danny are the best hosts I have ever met! Friendly, kind and helpful. They helped me find my way about, advised me on some great resturants and bars. On the last day before travelling back to the UK, I lost my wallet and had no money. Leah and Danny took me to the airport in their own car! Thank you Leah & Danny you are friends forever and I will never forget you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 488 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Downtown
Athens Hotel Suites
Athens Hotel Suites
#296 of 488 in Houston
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#31 of 488 in Houston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends House Hostel

Property: Friends House Hostel
Address: 1818 Lubbock #3, Houston, TX 77007
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Houston
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing