We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tango & Malbec

Tango & Malbec
Reserve with OpenTable
Tango & Malbec is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 8,144 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Alabama
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My daughter and I popped in for a late lunch and we were absolutely blown away by how wonderful the food was! The tuna tartar app is beyond delish as is The Chiveto sandwich. We had a wonderful house salad with their house dressing, I could have just feasted on the salad along with the fresh bread and chichurro sauce, the fresh herbs were so lovely! After lunch, we had a wonderful latte and everything was just perfect. Service was terrific, our waiter took the time to explain different dishes, make recommendations and listened to what our preferences were. All in all, a fantastic dining experience! A good value for the price too; our meal with lattes, app, salad and huge sandwich with homemade fries was around $50. Complete yum! :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    100
    44
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Probably the best latin restaurant in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Went there with a friend who insisted on some Argentinian food, and was absolutely bowled over. Fortunately, we did not need an advance booking and the service was totally up to the mark. The waiter who was assigned to us knew his way around and was very good with his service.
Maybe we ordered the chef's strong dishes, maybe the chef was in-form, whatever it was, the food was just fantastic. The portions were spot-on.
We asked the waiter for his suggestions on wine and we do know what's a good wine. His suggestion led to consuming 1.5 bottles, instead of a planned 2 glasses. The desert was pretty nice and we liked the small T&M done on our plates.

Overall, a must visit when in Houston.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aUSTIN, tEXAS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not What I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was visiting my gran daughter at thanksgiving and was staying at the Embassy Suites, so I took everyone toTango and Malbec. My ribeye was a little over cooked and kind of tough, but eatable, certainly not worth the price. Every one else thought it was ok, but one young man reported that he got sick when he got home. I won't go back, which is sad because I love Argentina and the food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OPBAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good South American food and vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The food was delicious and very flavorful. Definitely a great place for a date night. The atmosphere and service was very welcoming and comfortable. They also have an extensive wine list featuring all South American wines so definitely get a bottle of Malbec.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Latin Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Interior of Restaurant so well thought out. Identification on Women & Men's Restroom Brilliant...
Our waiter original from Venezuela was a real Pro. Empanadas were delicious. The Chimichurri sauce was the best I have ever tasted. Not overwhelming with any of their ingredients, which is easy to do. Salchicas grilled to perfection!
Would return on a Saturday night to watch Tango Show.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paris317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango & Malbec also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tango & Malbec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing