We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian restaurant with nice ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arturo's Uptown Italiano - CLOSED

Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Post Oak Blvd.
Description: Arturo’s Uptown Italiano is presented by veteran Houston restaurateur Bill Sadler. The truly elegant interior features golden hues and stone walls, cherrywood floors, red booths, a handsome bar and soft lighting.This restaurant in the Galleria area between the neighborhoods of Memorial, Tanglewood and River Oaks will delight all who enter with its warmth and richness.Creativeness is the key element at Arturo’s.The menu is an exciting blend of traditional and fanciful takes on classic Italian dishes from various regional cuisines. The essential ingredients, from appetizers to desserts, are freshness and quality.Antipasti, salads, pasta, seafood and steaks are presented with a unique combination of simplicity and flair.
Houston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Italian restaurant with nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Every time I have been to Arturo's, it has been consistently good. I like the beef tenderloin salad for a lunch choice- it has nice flavors and is not too heavy. Pasta dishes are delicious as are the mains. Wonderful atmosphere with good service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merebarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“As usual great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was there for a business meeting and as usual service and food was good. Only complaint was that it was little noisey

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AIWIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Last week, I spent a week in Houston and visited 4 excellent restaurants. One was Arturo's. Good menu, great wine, great atmosphere, great service and great food. Not a lot more to say!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Uptown Staple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arturos has an excellent menu featuring quality entrees and supreme service. If the weather permits, make sure you sit outside on the covered patio. The crab cake and calamari appetizers are excellent. Specials are available each evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonahElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent dining, if somewhat cramped tables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

One less table in the restaurant would have given this an almost perfect score. Don't get me wrong we all like the buzz and ambiance in a restaurant but I also don't want to have to listen to the next tables conversation.

The food was excellently cooked, I had the veal which was succulent, cooked to the right level for me (medium. rare) and with a slight glaze which didn't overpower the sauce. Yes, the plates could have been a little warmer as the veggies had got cool waiting for the meat presumably but they were still tasty.

The wine list was impressive but erring to the top end of mark-up, wait staff were knowledgeable and friendly and all in all it was a pleasant experience but of course top dollar prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arturo's Uptown Italiano also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing