We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Maison in Midtown
Ranked #2 of 54 Houston B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We traveled to Houston in January to see an exhibit at the Museum of Fine Arts. We were so lucky to have found this wonderful B&B. Access from the highway and to the museum were easy. Parking behind the B&B was free. We could walk to lots of excellent restaurants (as well as to a drug store which was unfortunately necessary during our stay). The room was scrupulously clean, comfortable, quiet, and had everything we could want, including a terrific bed and a charming balcony. The common rooms on the first floor were welcoming and elegant. Breakfast was delicious and ample. Happy hour in the afternoon had tasty snacks and good wine. Best of all are the people. We loved talking with Sergio, the breakfast cook who is also a professional musician. Sharon was amazingly helpful and both interesting & interested. Tommi always seemed to be around if we needed anything. I have some dietary restrictions but never felt deprived because of the effort made to make sure I had good things to eat within my limitations. We would go back again just to stay at La Maison.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 84 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I travel a pretty good bit, and this is one of the best places I have ever stayed!
they really do make it feel like home. Not to mention, the friendliest staff & owners EVER! Everyone genuinely asks how are you and wants to know if there is anything they can do.
Breakfast was great! Omeletts one day & quiche the next. I usually don't like quiche, but this was great!
And don't forget the urban tea... Which means free wine & cheese.
Walking distance to great dining, minutes from downton... You could almost walk downton, but it was just a touch far for me.
Room was spotless clean, huge shower, turndown service was a nice surprise. Also, balcony access fot relaxing.
Also, I was traveling for business, & the free wifi was fast and reliable, and the desk in the room was good to work from.
100% I will stay here again if I come to downtown Houston.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hank_123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is one of the most amazing B&Bs we have stayed at. There is so much to like. First and foremost, the staff are so friendly and welcoming. Sharon consistently makes you feel as this is your second home. Sergio cooks awesome breakfasts and is very sociable in the morning. Tommi keeps the place spotless and handles many of the wine hours. The rooms are huge with lots of amenities. We loved being able to sit out on the balcony sipping the wine. The location is within walking distance of many excellent restaurants. The museum district is a short distance away and is walkable. Downtown is also not far. So when you put it altogether, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Although La Maison is a bed and breakfast with enough modern amenities to seem almost hotel-like. The rooms and common areas are nicely appointed, and the building is new construction with an elevator and electronic door locks for easy access. Parking is included and it's located near downtown or midtown. The breakfast was very good and my wife and I enjoyed are stay.

The only down-sides were the lack of a tub in our room (only a large shower with a small shower head) and the location. Although close to downtown and midtown, La Maison is also right on a relatively busy street and not tucked away in midtown proper, as I had originally expected. Even given that La Maison is an excellent value and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcnanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here just for one night to celebrate his birthday in the city (we live out in the suburbs). The place feels like a New Orleans French Quarter boutique hotel, yet it is only a few years old and in a now trendy part of Houston, just south of downtown. It is clean and comfortable. Nice upscale touches in the room were a lint removal roller and cotton balls. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony is also nice for sitting out when the weather permits and giving a feeling of extra space to the room. The co-owner, Sharon was very friendly and saw to our every need. Chef Sergio cooked up an excellent breakfast (the peach croissant with mascarpone was wonderful!) - we were even offered seconds, despite a plentiful helping first time around. The evening we arrived we had "urban tea" which is actually wine and cheese and snacks, along with several of the other guests - sitting around the breakfast bar in the large kitchen was very convivial. We hadn't made dinner reservations but Sharon got us in at Ibiza, an excellent nouveau-mediterranean restaurant we could walk to - there are other restaurants also within walking distance, including top-rated Brennan's and Damian's. This place is so much nicer than a chain hotel. Perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txcrusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Amazing! If you need to stay near downtown, there's no better option. The breakfast, staff, room and common areas were all first class. Parking only steps from your room. Walk to great bars and restaurants. In room fresh flowers. Every inch of this place was spotless.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is spectacular!!! The service is grand the food is excellent!!! I will stay here a million times over!!! It was great! Pristine, serene it was more than any bed and breakfast I've ever seen. I'm a very particular traveler and I love world class accommodations... This is perfect for upscale travelers

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
479 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison in Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison in Midtown

Address: 2800 Brazos St, Houston, TX 77006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Price Range: $191 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison in Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the city...escape to La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast and a slice of European flavor in the heart of Houston, Texas. Enjoy your choice of seven luxurious guest rooms and convenient access to Houston's finest restaurants, Downtown, the Theatre District, Museums, the Texas Medical Center, colleges and universities, and professional sporting and entertainment venues. Whether traveling for business or leisure, discover this wonderful treasure in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Maison in Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing