We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Maison in Midtown
Ranked #2 of 55 Houston B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here just for one night to celebrate his birthday in the city (we live out in the suburbs). The place feels like a New Orleans French Quarter boutique hotel, yet it is only a few years old and in a now trendy part of Houston, just south of downtown. It is clean and comfortable. Nice upscale touches in the room were a lint removal roller and cotton balls. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony is also nice for sitting out when the weather permits and giving a feeling of extra space to the room. The co-owner, Sharon was very friendly and saw to our every need. Chef Sergio cooked up an excellent breakfast (the peach croissant with mascarpone was wonderful!) - we were even offered seconds, despite a plentiful helping first time around. The evening we arrived we had "urban tea" which is actually wine and cheese and snacks, along with several of the other guests - sitting around the breakfast bar in the large kitchen was very convivial. We hadn't made dinner reservations but Sharon got us in at Ibiza, an excellent nouveau-mediterranean restaurant we could walk to - there are other restaurants also within walking distance, including top-rated Brennan's and Damian's. This place is so much nicer than a chain hotel. Perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txcrusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Amazing! If you need to stay near downtown, there's no better option. The breakfast, staff, room and common areas were all first class. Parking only steps from your room. Walk to great bars and restaurants. In room fresh flowers. Every inch of this place was spotless.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is spectacular!!! The service is grand the food is excellent!!! I will stay here a million times over!!! It was great! Pristine, serene it was more than any bed and breakfast I've ever seen. I'm a very particular traveler and I love world class accommodations... This is perfect for upscale travelers

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Clean, extremely tastefully appointed, intimate, a real pleasure to stay here. Just a few blocks away from Midtown, Houston's most vibrant neighborhood. A marvelous alternative to generic business hotels, feels truly homey yet affords much more privacy than a traditional B & B. Sharon the owner was super friendly and highly accommodating. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I just experienced a magical weekend get away for our Wedding Anniversary in our own hometown at the La Maison B&B in Houston. Although it looks like it stepped out of the French Quater in New Orleans, La Maison is only approximately 4 years old and yet has all the charm of a historical B&B. Owners Genora and Sharon have spared no expense in their furniture and decor. Although the views from the balcony aren't that great (after all it is in mid-town) it was nice to sit outside each morning and watch the bustle of Houston, so definately get a room with balcony access. (However, the rooms are extremely quiet - no problem there). AC and Wi-Fi worked great. Breakfast was also a treat each morning. This B&B is minutes away from downtown, the museum district and the fabulous selection of mid-town restaurants. We had a great time during our stay and hit the museums during the day and fine dining restaurants at night. It was a great get-away weekend. Genora and Sharon could not have been nicer. Cannot more highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms are well insulataed. Could not hear traffic at all. Some rooms don't have balcony ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Won a stay at the B&B at a silent auction and was very impressed. Rated as one ofthe top B&B's in the US by B&B.com I wasnt let down. Interior looks brand new and covers all amenities you'd need. Has a home feel to it but with enough privacy for it to equally be a great place for business or a romantic staycation. Really impressed by this place and plan on referring it a good deal. Staff was so friendly and provided free wine and urban high tea service in the early evening, complimentary breakfast, and all for the same room rate as a Holiday Inn kind of place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My parents stayed here for Thanksgiving 2011 because I was already occupying my brother's spare bed nearby in Midtown. What a gorgeous place! We went by before my parents arrived and one of the employees gave us a tour to show us all of the rooms and the common spaces. Everything was immaculately clean, very comfortable and inviting. Nothing against B&Bs with more of a Victorian decor, but this place is just so much more modern and comfortable.

The breakfasts my parents were served here were fantastic. The owners even invited my brother and me over for breakfast despite us not even staying there. One night the owner made a meal with something my mother liked and when she found out we already had a dinner reservation, she set aside leftovers for my mom to take the next day when my parents left. I have traveled quite a bit for work and holiday and I can honestly say I've never seen anywhere more accommodating and gracious than La Maison.

This B&B is highly recommended if you're visiting the Downtown/Midtown area of Houston. I would even prefer it over a hotel since it's only 5 minutes from Downtown and the parking is secure and free. It's so convenient to walk and the light rail is only a few blocks away, as are many restaurants, bars and a grocery store.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#38 of 518 in Houston
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison in Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison in Midtown

Address: 2800 Brazos St, Houston, TX 77006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Price Range: $188 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison in Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the city...escape to La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast and a slice of European flavor in the heart of Houston, Texas. Enjoy your choice of seven luxurious guest rooms and convenient access to Houston's finest restaurants, Downtown, the Theatre District, Museums, the Texas Medical Center, colleges and universities, and professional sporting and entertainment venues. Whether traveling for business or leisure, discover this wonderful treasure in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your La Maison in Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing