We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best kept upscale secret in Houston!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison in Midtown
Ranked #2 of 49 Houston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best kept upscale secret in Houston!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is spectacular!!! The service is grand the food is excellent!!! I will stay here a million times over!!! It was great! Pristine, serene it was more than any bed and breakfast I've ever seen. I'm a very particular traveler and I love world class accommodations... This is perfect for upscale travelers

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
48
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Clean, extremely tastefully appointed, intimate, a real pleasure to stay here. Just a few blocks away from Midtown, Houston's most vibrant neighborhood. A marvelous alternative to generic business hotels, feels truly homey yet affords much more privacy than a traditional B & B. Sharon the owner was super friendly and highly accommodating. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I just experienced a magical weekend get away for our Wedding Anniversary in our own hometown at the La Maison B&B in Houston. Although it looks like it stepped out of the French Quater in New Orleans, La Maison is only approximately 4 years old and yet has all the charm of a historical B&B. Owners Genora and Sharon have spared no expense in their furniture and decor. Although the views from the balcony aren't that great (after all it is in mid-town) it was nice to sit outside each morning and watch the bustle of Houston, so definately get a room with balcony access. (However, the rooms are extremely quiet - no problem there). AC and Wi-Fi worked great. Breakfast was also a treat each morning. This B&B is minutes away from downtown, the museum district and the fabulous selection of mid-town restaurants. We had a great time during our stay and hit the museums during the day and fine dining restaurants at night. It was a great get-away weekend. Genora and Sharon could not have been nicer. Cannot more highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms are well insulataed. Could not hear traffic at all. Some rooms don't have balcony ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Won a stay at the B&B at a silent auction and was very impressed. Rated as one ofthe top B&B's in the US by B&B.com I wasnt let down. Interior looks brand new and covers all amenities you'd need. Has a home feel to it but with enough privacy for it to equally be a great place for business or a romantic staycation. Really impressed by this place and plan on referring it a good deal. Staff was so friendly and provided free wine and urban high tea service in the early evening, complimentary breakfast, and all for the same room rate as a Holiday Inn kind of place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My parents stayed here for Thanksgiving 2011 because I was already occupying my brother's spare bed nearby in Midtown. What a gorgeous place! We went by before my parents arrived and one of the employees gave us a tour to show us all of the rooms and the common spaces. Everything was immaculately clean, very comfortable and inviting. Nothing against B&Bs with more of a Victorian decor, but this place is just so much more modern and comfortable.

The breakfasts my parents were served here were fantastic. The owners even invited my brother and me over for breakfast despite us not even staying there. One night the owner made a meal with something my mother liked and when she found out we already had a dinner reservation, she set aside leftovers for my mom to take the next day when my parents left. I have traveled quite a bit for work and holiday and I can honestly say I've never seen anywhere more accommodating and gracious than La Maison.

This B&B is highly recommended if you're visiting the Downtown/Midtown area of Houston. I would even prefer it over a hotel since it's only 5 minutes from Downtown and the parking is secure and free. It's so convenient to walk and the light rail is only a few blocks away, as are many restaurants, bars and a grocery store.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at La Maison in Midtown in Houston and absolutely loved it. The location in midtown is great, so close to the city and yet the area still has a relaxed feel. We stayed in room 202 which was spacious and very comfortable, with lovely decor. The bathroom was well appointed, with a rain shower and spa bath, and I especially loved the little touches such as the Gilchrist & Soames toiletries and the plush robes. My husband and I enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and chatting to the guest next door.

As someone else has mentioned, it was more like a European boutique hotel than a B&B. It was convenient with onsite parking and close to public transport. There were good communal spaces downstairs that were very comfortable, and some very helpful books about things to do in the Houston area. Sharon and Genora (the owners) and Wayne (the innkeeper) were all very nice - we even had a lovely chat to Genora one night over a couple of glasses of wine. Breakfast was home-made and tasty - southern fried chicken wings and sweet potato waffles one morning, and quiche the second morning.

We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Houston.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The good:
Large, mostly well appointed rooms, with terraces.

Owners Sharon and her partner offer exceptional, warm hospitality and service

Nicely located near the Metro train, Museum district, Montrose, access to freeways, downtown, and others.

Amenities within walking distance: Spec's market (amazing deli, liquor, grocery store), Randall's grocery store, Walgreens.

The bad:
There should be a coffee maker and mini-fridge in the room. For those travelers that want a cop of coffee as soon as they roll out of bed, a coffee maker is a must; rather than needing to go downstairs for that. A mini-fridge in the room also makes snacks and beverages far more accessible than the fridge downstairs.

There is a car wash across the street (to the southeast) that is noisy. It may interrupt your sleep if you sleep past the time they open in the morning.

Summary: It's a lovely place with pleasant indoor and outdoor spaces. The owners are friendly, service oriented, and helpful. A shade expensive for the value, but as Houston is the 4th largest city in the US, this is to be expected.

I'd definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: All but one room has a terrace or patio. Rooms across from the car wash may not be ideal for late s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGMWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Modern B&B
#62 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison in Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison in Midtown

Property: La Maison in Midtown
Address: 2800 Brazos St, Houston, TX 77006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the city...escape to La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast and a slice of European flavor in the heart of Houston, Texas. Enjoy your choice of seven luxurious guest rooms and convenient access to Houston's finest restaurants, Downtown, the Theatre District, Museums, the Texas Medical Center, colleges and universities, and professional sporting and entertainment venues. Whether traveling for business or leisure, discover this wonderful treasure in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your La Maison in Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing