We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and Dinner are top notch”

Shula's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Shula's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #263 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Polk
Description: Located in the Hyatt Regency Houston in the Downtown Energy corridor. Shula's serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 365 days a year. We proudly serve the SHULA CUT, Premium Black Angus Brand Beef that meets 10 science based specifications. Private dining available for parties from 4-90.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Dinner are top notch”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This property is located inside Hyatt Regency Houston. Valet parking is available.

Breakfast buffet had a good selection. Try the waffles and fresh eggs. I appreciate how there was never a shortage of any item, especially bacon! I heard that during this summer they are running special prices for the buffet. It is usually 18.95 per person, but for the summer until Labor Day, its 14.95 for adults, children 5 and under are free, and 6-12 pay their age. It was a great value at the discounted summer price, but is pretty pricy after taxes and gratuities for a buffet.

Dinner was amazing. Try the crab mac and cheese, calamari fingers, and the steak. For a 12 oz steak it was $48 but well worth it for the cut and how it was cooked perfectly medium. Service was top notch and I was truly impressed with the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UHcougarBdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    78
    47
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best meal in Houston”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of the best Steak houses we have been to. Our son has food allergies, and they accommodated our every need. fantastic staff. Beautiful place in the lobby of Hyatt Hotel. Everything was delicious. Expensive, yes. But you pay for what you get there. They even called us the next day to make sure we were happy. We thank you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarjanLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mother's Day brunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wait staff was very attentive and helpful. The buffet is not huge but the food was very good and well presented.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwc505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good steakhouse right off the hotel lobby”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I often shun hotel restaurants because I believe they do not rely on returning customers and word of mouth to stay in business. Shula's is different. This is a really good steakhouse that just happens to be in the lobby of the Hyatt Regency. The wait staff is sharp and attentive. The food was prepared to perfection.

The restaurant is not cheap or a bargain. It is a properly priced high-end steakhouse in every sense of the word.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The hype is not worth the price…”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Steakhouse owned by NFL legend Don Shula. We knew this would be a pricey meal, but if its really good, price not an issue for us. The décor is modern with clean lines and intimate booths. The server explains the restaurant “concept” and wheels a cart with cuts of meal for you to see. We ordered the Lobster Bisque and French onion soup and appetizers. They also bring you a hot loaf of sourdough bread, which was so good. My bisque was wonderful, very creamy, one of the better bisques I have had. I tasted the onion soup my husband liked but said was a little to salty, I agreed but had a wonderful deep beefy flavor. To the meats, I ordered the Oscar Fillet (beef fillet with sautéed lump crab and asparagus served with a side of hollandaise). Overall this dish was very good, but for the price I would have expected the fillet to be fork tender and melt like butter, I had to use the steak knife to cut it and was slightly over cooked, more med then med rare. I was disappointed in the quality of the meat. My husband ordered the bone in rib eye, said the flavor was very good, yet it lacked that tender fatty quality you should get in this cut of meat. As sides we had the roasted asparagus and the twice baked potato, both very yummy. The total cost of the meal was $165 with tip, for this price range we expected a much better quality of meat. I have had better meat at less expensive restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RominNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Steak House also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shula's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing