We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Annie

Cafe Annie
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Annie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #290 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Southwestern, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: Ambassador Way
Description: Cafe Annie is the flagship restaurant of the James Beard award-winning Chef Robert Del Grande. We offer the best in Texas Cuisine, an extensive wine list and cocktail menu.
Mannheim
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good service and good food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

On business in Houston and spending the evening alone. I decided to skip the sports bar and go to a nice "and casual" restaurant. In retrospect, I would not call this restaurant casual. It is hip, modern, trendy... A good location for a business dinner. I sat outside on the balcony / Patio / Lounge. The restaurant was full but the balcony was relatively empty, which suited me being alone. The service was surprisingly very attentive and knowledgeable. I started off with a gladd of champagne, then had the Texas Quail with bacon which was well served in a dark spicy sauce. I was a bit disappointed by the cheese selection (mostly American and English), but that is a matter of taste. Then had the Alaskan halibut, which was very good. It was served with cashew sauce and hot peppers. The peppers were unfortunately too spicy for the wine and did not quite harmonize. For desert I opted for the cheese cake with a glass of sauterne. The cheese cake was very tasty but perhaps a tad too dry. Nonetheless it was a good choice and the wine was also good. Overall a nice dining experience but it was not exactly cheap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great resto to seal a deal!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very upscale and formal. Good for business meetings and to take your client for a good dinner. The service is good. They are very attentive and constantly asks if everything is ok. The wild mushroom soup was very good and the BBQ crab saladwith jicama was excellent. The ribeye has some sweetness on it and I'm not a fan of sugary steaks. But it was very tender and cooked to my liking. The chocolate cake with candied orange is just to die for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank okidoc808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“RDG, tastefully brilliant for Houston Restaurant Week”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I looked at the menu RDG posted for Houston Restaurant Week and I thought the menu was creative and we wanted to experience the creativity. Our first course was gulf shrimp & watermelon salad with red thai curry dressing, corriander seeds, basil & mint. The shrimp and watermelon salad was a nice change from the standard "lettuce salad" as the red thai curry dressing gave the shrimp a lot of nice heat and the watermelon cooled the heat. We had the seared sea scallops with gulf shrimp and green chile risoto for the entree. This dish was plated beautifully and the green chiles gave the dish a nice finish. Dessert was a nice tasty small pecan pie with a dallop of butter pecan ice cream. The wait staff was very good. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The overall meal was a 96 out of a 100. Great job Chef Del Grande !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teddybear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food, great location near Galleria, a little pricey”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our group of 6 people was seated promptly upon arriving for our reservation. We had to snake our way through the packed bar that was full of people there for a private party. Fortunately, our table was shielded from the noise in the bar. Our service was very slow for the first 20 minutes or so. However, I give them a pass on this due to the large party in the front of the restaurant. It seemed that once the bar cleared out our server was able to pick it up. The service throughout the rest of the evening was excellent. I had enchiladas with filet. The enchiladas were very tasty and the filet was cooked to a perfect medium rare. All in all, the evening started out a bit shaky, but they pulled it off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fine food-cool menu”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The food here is always really good and the service attentive and professional. Cool atmosphere too. I felt compelled to write a review when I saw this restaurant was rated #300+ in Houston. It would be in any real "Foody's" list of top 5 restaurants in Houston for fine dining.
My own personal list of top 5 would also include D'Amarco, Marks, Brasserie 19 and Tony's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Annie also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Annie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing