We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently Built Downtown Hotel with Superior Staff and Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #18 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our visit was for a three day weekend during which we enjoyed a play at the Alley Theater (one of the best regional theaters in the country) and saw major art exhibits at the Menil Collection and the Houston Museum of Fine Arts.

The Embassy Suites Downtown Houston is the most recently built downtown Houston Hotel and has many advantages;
a. The suites have a separate living room with dining area (with refrigerator and microwave) with a second flat screen TV with a good selection of HBO and Showtime channels as well as most popular local and cable channels;
b. The bathrooms have tiled shower stalls (but no tubs) with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water, but only one sink; although there is also a lighted makeup mirror in the bedroom;
c. The buffet breakfast (until 10:30 on Saturday and Sunday and until 9:30 on weekdays), includes made to order omelets and pancakes every day) and there was plenty of searing space;
d. The elevators come quickly;
e. Heavy doors on each suite keep down any noise from the hallways or nearby rooms;
f. The free beer, wine, and house liquor brand reception with chips and dips is provided every day from 5:30 to 7:30;
g. There is room service as well as the on-premises restaurant serving lunch and dinner;
h. A shuttle, driven by the very courteous James, takes guests around downtown (including to the theater district);
i. There is a business center with four computers with free access to the internet and both a color and a black and white printer, in addition to two computers set up in the lobby for airline boarding pass printing; and
j. Service requests are promptly and efficiently handled by John Paul at the front desk.

Minor items that could be improved include:
a. Although the buffet breakfast includes cantaloupe and honeydew melon, it would be nice to have some other fruit, such as strawberries;
b. Surprisingly the hotel will not cash checks for guests, even those paying with American Express; although there is an ATM which charges $3 plus your bank's charge for using a non-bank ATM;
c. Housekeeping keeps the rooms and hallways very clean, but strangely does not necessarily makeup the rooms when a guest goes out in the morning, so you may come back to a room still needing housekeeping at 3:30 or 4 pm;
d. It would be nice if the reception included something other than chips and dip and celery, carrots, etc. every day; and
e. The store on the first floor has candy and soft drinks, and some health and beauty items, but it would be nice to also have sandwiches and other ready to eat (or heat in the microwave) food.

The hotel is located near the Hilton and Four Seasons hotels and across from the Convention Center but the hotel is about five or six blocks from the Metrorail station and the same distance from the only drugstore in downtown that is open seven days a week (the CVS). Many downtown restaurants are closed on Friday night and Saturday and Sunday. Taxi drivers do not necessarily know how to get to the museums, so be sure you have street addresses for them to enter in their GPS units. There are very few stores in downtown since they are all out at the shopping centers in the suburbs.

A big plus for the Embassy Suites is that it is only two blocks from Phoenicia Foods, which has a "food court like" eating area, stations for hot and cold take-out food and both beer and soft drinks, including great pizza, as well as a bar with food and waitress service. The food, including fancy pastries, is excellent and very reasonably priced. Phoenicia food is open long hours seven days a week. Also the hotel is next to Discovery Green park which has the Grove restaurant and is home to many events.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your excellent experience at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown with the rest of the world! We are grateful to have had you as our guest and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is our second time to stay at Embassy Suites since my husband's company has their annual meetings there. Valets Thomas and Nahoam are the greatest. Tabitha at the check-in desk, as well as Sandra, Maria, along with the others at the Grill are tops in our books! Complimentary breakfast with 'make your own omelet on request' unbeatable! The chefs were all so nice.

Room Tip: Been on both sides of hotel and views were great. Too bad others that stay there are considerate of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for recognizing our team for the friendly and helpful service they provided you during your stay with us. We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

SO close to convention center - very convenient place to stay while attending meetings. Free business center with free internet and printing. Free internet in room. Complimentary breakfast, including make your own omelets! Complementary reception in the evenings. Great stay will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank KLJdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We have shared your experience with our team. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were here for a convention across the street and we would definitely come back. The room was spacious, it was a real suite with a separate living room which can convert to a 2nd bedroom. Large table with 4 chairs, bar area, fridge & sink. In addition there was a desk area in the bedroom. Two TV's! The bathroom was also spacious with a large walk-in shower stall. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Free wired internet in the room! Free fantastic breakfast with cooked to order omelets, waffles and pancakes and a variety of beverages and other tasty food. And an evening hors d'oeuvre and drinks! They also have restaurant service and room service too. The rooms and common areas were immaculate. Parking is a rip-off in this area of town. You are better off taking a shuttle to the hotel and using light rail, cabs or Zip Cars to get around. The valets were so helpful and gracious, we had a relaxing time. My husband used the pool and Jacuzzi and I used the fitness area - also spotless and they had free headphones for the TV screens on the ellipticals and stationary bikes. Cold water on tap and plenty of towels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Operagal94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience with others. We are grateful for your business and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very nice hotel. The manager reception had a good choice of free beverages. The shuttle is a good service, but it is within walking distance to the House of Blues. Good view of downtown Houston. The Toyota Center and George R. Brown are close by.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Can't go wrong with Embassy Suites. A short walk to convention center. Excellent staff and property. Fantastic value and an incredibly comfortable home away from home. Have stayed at many Houston hotels but this one is the winner if you are attending a conference at GRB!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank 193ginag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send such a considerate review of your recent stay at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown. We look forward to providing you the same level of luxury service during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Embassy Suites are by far the best value out of all the Hilton brand hotels and this one is does not fail to disappoint. Yes the parking is expensive at the hotel but you can't park overnight at many lots close by but it's in the middle of Houston, that's expected. Everything was very nice, rooms looked nearly brand new and the bathrooms are quite nice.

Highlight of the stay is the breakfast at Embassy, its just spectacular compared to all other hotels that include their powdered eggs and unhealthy crap. If you can't find something to eat here, not sure you are able to be satisfied. Omelets made to order are fantastic, plenty of beverages to choose from for all ages and unlimited bacon... that alone is worthy of high praise.

One caveat - we stayed there with a wedding party and the rate was over $200 with the discount. It could have been the weekend we stayed but that is nearly double what the Magnolia, a boutique hotel mind you, is charging us for our wedding guests. Watch out for sales is all I can say in that regard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oufinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 518 in Houston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 518 in Houston
2,027 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $136 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing