We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #8 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Every employee has been friendly, down to the reservation agent at the hotel. Clean, updated hotel. Across from convention center. Crabtree and Evelyn bath products. Had two kids with us, got the corner suite with a pull out couch bed. Pool is nice. They were out of towels and very quickly refilled at 9 pm.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank texasSchneiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay when you wish to be near the George R. Brown Convention Center. The hotel is clean, new, and very comfortable, with large rooms and/or suites. A good hot breakfast is included, and I think they have something in the evening (but I was never back in hotel to take advantage of it). As has been mentioned, there is also a mini-fridge and microwave, plus free wireless or wired internet in room. There is no parking lot, so you must either avail yourself of the speedy and convenient valet parking (which is not free, but pretty much in line with other hotels) or find your own parking spot in one of the downtown garages. It is very easy to walk to other hotels or the Convention Center from the hotel, so once your car is parked, you might not need to move it until checkout. I loved staying here during a recent convention, and I would choose this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiltingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was the best Embassy suites I have ever stayed at. It is a prototype hotel that was built totally environmentally friendly, green, and clean. As with all of the Embassy suites line, the suites were spacious and had convenient touches like a mini-fridge and microwave. The decor is new and colorful. The FREE breakfast and manager's receptions cant be beat, especially when traveling with kids! The hotel is located near a ton of Houston's attractions: Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, Discovery Green, etc.

The only downside for us was valet parking at $28/night. I have paid more elsewhere, but it seemed a bit steep. Plus, some of the valet staff could use a course in hospitality . My car smelled like someone smoked in it and they never once helped with the door.

All other services were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rub-a-dub-dub619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here awhile back for a family trip and received horrible service upon checkin by a caucasian front desk receptionist by the name Katie. I asked her for some suggestions of restaurants to eat at and she simply said to walk two blocks and I would find restaurants. She did not seemed interested in helping me with my needs and she looked as though she was being bothered. As a guest we want to feel the human touch element and receive hospitality, not just service. She was not friendly at all upon my arrival and she should not be in the hospitality industry due to her lack of sincere warmth and kindness. She should be an accountant where she does not have to be around people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
 
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Embassy Suites in Downtown Houston is definitely a great place. Having stayed in all the hotels in the downtown area this is definitely my top pick. The rooms are exceptional, the service is great and the complimentary breakfast is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rupald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fantastic stay, staff very courteous and helpful. stayed with my daughter to attend a concert at the toyota center. Felt very safe in the area and an easy walk to surrounding venues. The map makes it look very spread out but everything was very close. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Tisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spacious suite - plenty of room to work, relax, etc. in a great location in downtown Houston at a very reasonable price for the quality and convenience. Easy walking distance to good restaurants, sports venues, many businesses, etc. Reasonable cab ride from Hobby Airport. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
479 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $142 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing