We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive reviews are, in my opinion, way overstated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #11 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Positive reviews are, in my opinion, way overstated.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Except for the flies flying around the breakfast buffet, the truly awful scrambled eggs that were runny and clearly from powder, the incredibly weak coffee in the rooms, the fact that the maid service did not give me packets of that weak coffee for use a second morning, and my witnessing a kitchen staffer loading up containers of forks and spoons dirtying the each by grabbing them with her hands at the eating end of the utensil, it was a nice place to stay.

I stayed here because of the positive reviews. And I have stayed in other Embassy Suites hotels. I just don't get the high rating. The staff was friendly, though, as others have noted. And the rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoymentOfLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinHTDN, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with our food and beverage staff have been addressed as soon as we received them with all staff. We appreciate you taking the time and alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that the Embassy Suites Houston Downtown is known for. If you would like to discuss further, please contact me directly at scott.austin2@hilton.com.

Sincerely,
Scott Austin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    232
    56
    30
    15
See reviews for
331
156
24
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. For me, it's very conveniently located - with quick access to major thoroughfares - ie. I-10, I-45, and Allen Parkway. The rooms are spacious and always clean. Love the large walk in shower in the bathrooms. My favorite is a corner suite - backs up to staircase so is extremely quiet. Wait staff, housekeeping, bellmen are all quick to respond and friendly. The valet parking - a contract operation - is staffed by the nicest people - I am always remembered and taken care of. The breakfast buffet is generous, they often make some of the best grits I have ever had. The restaurant at other times - lunch or dinner - is good to excellent and room service food is usually very good. Be forewarned - the valet parking is $28 for overnight but it is an underground parking lot and your vehicle is secure. There is no free parking. There are surrounding parking lots but I an not familiar with the process or the security. Here comes the buts! The front desk staff can be hit or miss. I have had wonderful reception from some and cool and aloof from others. Front desk reception is important to me so sometimes I am not such a happy trooper. When the hotel is full, elevators can be very busy. Also, on par with most conventions hotels - this hotel is right next to the George R. Brown Convention Center - room rates can have vary quite considerably. Check your reservation and check your bill upon leaving!!!

Room Tip: Corner suite - costs more but extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodneypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Everyone was nice & extremely helpful. The decor is kind of "busy", but the suite was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was not quite cleaned to my satisfaction, but that was corrected. Unfortunate that they do not have wireless, but they do have free internet in the room. Overall found it a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The rooms are large and quiet. The staff is excellent and you can't beat the complimentary breakfast bar. It is very centrally located to downtown, the ballpark and convention center. There is a complimentary shuttle available for trips within a mile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duggie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was easy to fall asleep at night on the comfy beds at Embassy Suites. The breakfast was absolutely delicious although the lines were incredibly long as a big event was in town. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The only problem we had was check-in. They were not ready at 3 pm like promised and insisted we either take a temporary room for an hour and then move when our room was ready or wait for an hour and then "check back." When I asked why, they responded that it was because we were bringing a pet. Someone else had checked out late and we had to wait because of their delay. Not a good start to our interaction with them, but future hotel staff were VERY helpful. As I stated earlier, if it had not been for the issue at check-in, this would have been a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: The views "park room views" allow you to see a portion of the park. This hotel is not at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiast4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the best Embassy suites in the chain. It is newly built and is one of the new Embassy designs (no atrium). The rooms were very trendy and spacious. The manager's reception was very nice and breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resortdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family of five had a great experience at this hotel on our recent vacation to Texas. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The location is great and easily walkable if you are taking in an NBA or MLB game. My kids enjoyed the heated pool. The complimentary breakfast and free managers evening reception are things we love about ES. We have stayed at several now and have never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 516 in Houston
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 516 in Houston
458 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing