We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Embassy Suites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #10 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Embassy Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay here for three nights recently and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who has occasion to stay in Downtown Houston.

Staff: Everyone I met was very friendly. Front desk staff was courteous and efficient. Check in and checkout were both a breeze. Staff in the restaurant was also very warm and open.

Facilities: Everything was clean and attractive. Common areas were modern and tidy. I didn’t make it to the gym so I can’t rate that. My room was spotless except for a stain on the carpet (not made by me). Beds were super comfortable. The room had a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator, which was much appreciated.

Highlights: Location is perfect if you’re doing something at convention center…or Toyota Center…or Minute Maid field. It’s really centrally located if you need to be in the heart of downtown. Also, I loved the voice in the elevator. A woman’s voice, vaguely British accent (actually sounded like a friend of mine from South Africa), very cool. I loved it when I got in to go to the lobby and the voice would say “Going down.”

Areas for improvement: To be honest, I can’t think of anything.

Overall impression: Loved it. If I come back to Houston, this will be where I stay.

Nearby transportation: Light rail is several blocks away. Houston is not a very mass transit friendly city unless you are into riding buses.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Discovery Green
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    220
    52
    26
    14
See reviews for
291
143
24
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been a little tough on some Embassy Suites review in the last year, but this hotel restored my opinion. It is a very new property with up to date decor and excellent amenities. Nice workout facility, excellent complimentary breakfast and a very helpful bell staff. It also has an excellent location near the basketball & baseball stadiums as well as the convention center.

I also liked the fact that it is a LEED Silver certified building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colocav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here one night for the Houston Chevron Marathon. The location is great for this event. I was very close to the Expo and the starting line. It was very handy on race day since it was cold, windy, and raining! I left the room around 6:30 to make sure I was in my corral by 6:50. I got there with plenty of time to spare. Our room had a microwave, fridge, and a wet bar. The hotel also provides breakfast, but not until 6:30 which is not available early enough when you are running a marathon.
The room itself was super nice, new and clean. The staff were very hospitable and congratulatory after the race. They didn't sweat the fact that we needed a late check-out either.
The hotel itself does not have a self-parking garage, so you either pay for valet parking at $28.00 a day, or you can park in a public lot right accross the street from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eram11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here during the Houston Marathon, when everything is crazy and books up. Another hotel had lost my reservation, so I had to find another and stayed here. It was so much better than I expected. It's right on Discovery Green, which is a fun location. The free happy hour is in an open area with TV screens for watching games. The free breakfast is great and a money saver, and I loved the style of the rooms- Asian inspired. During a busy weekend, the staff was organized and got my car out in 5 minutes like they'd said. A nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for New years eve. What a great hotel. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to assist us. The rooms were big and had everything we needed. Some friends of mine stayed at Hilton Americas close by but I think they got robbed because our stay was great and much more economical.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

On Christmas Morning around 1:15am, my Husband and I entered the hotel. We were very shcoked that the front desk agent Shawun didn't acknowledge or greet us. We proceeded to our room to find out that our room key didnt work. When we went to Shawun to let her know of the situation, She began to interupt us stating "Hold On, Let me what I'm doing First" as if we were bothering her. Shawun then began to rudly talk down to us createing a very difficult and uncomfortable scene. She signaled the security guard Tony to come over and help her as if we were the ones causing an issue. I was deeply disturbed about this situation and was unable to enjoy a nights rest due to the way we were treated.
The next morning I reported the situation to the Front Desk Manager Felicia. I can truly say, Felecia made me feel as if I mattered to her not just as a guest but as a person. Felecia went out of her way to help my husband and I forget about that horrible first night. Thank you so very much Felecia, you have saved a loyal customer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antrechelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

All good except hard to get out and visit Houston. Service staff very helpful when you need directions to get in and out of hotel. Breakfast was very good selections. Happy hour , you cant drink them dry, I tried. Nice rooms, bed, bath, living area very accomidating.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a discount when signing up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#21 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing