We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rain day in Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #8 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cameron, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“rain day in Houston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

All good except hard to get out and visit Houston. Service staff very helpful when you need directions to get in and out of hotel. Breakfast was very good selections. Happy hour , you cant drink them dry, I tried. Nice rooms, bed, bath, living area very accomidating.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a discount when signing up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    223
    52
    27
    14
See reviews for
300
145
24
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a nice hotel in the middle of downtown. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was great and everyone was so helpful. It was rainy when we were there so we did not explore around the hotel but it is located downtown and seemed to be close to a lot of things to do. The hotel is new and very well furnished. The staff was so helpful.

Room Tip: If you don't like to sleep in total darkness bring a nightlight. There were not any dimming lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My son and I stayed there last weekend while attending a pro basketball game and pro football game. He liked the hotel so much that it was hard to get him to leave the room, and it was his idea to travel to Houston to attend the sporting events.
Very clean, modern design throughout the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelm736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very nice rooms with good view of downtown area. Convienently located with a lot of police precense on the streets which made walking around at night more enjoyable. Like most hotels the parking and room service are a little pricey, but the food is excellent. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank keltoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

What a great hotel experience!

My family were in town for the Houston Rockets vs Memphis Grizzlies game at the Toyota Center -- which was just a short and well-lit 2 minute walk away!

We arrived at the hotel at 6:50 and were running late for a 7 pm tip off. The parking valet and front desk had us checked in and ready to go in less than 5 minutes. Room and keys were already prepared for us in advance.

After the game, we picked up the car from the parking valet to chase down the Oh My Gogi food truck. Although the valet parking allows for in-and-out privileges, the hotel charges an expensive $28 daily flat rate.

The hotel looked brand new and the 2 queen bed corner suite was clean, contemporary, and a perfect size for 4 adults.

And to top it off, our 1 night stay ended with a free made-to-order breakfast for the whole family!

We paid about $200 with tax for the advanced room rate on Hilton.com. Not the cheapest but manageable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dankix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here December 6. It is next to Hilton of the Americas. Very new hotel with beautiful rooms and awesome breakfast lounge! The parking fee is very standard around $25, but has heated pool for the Fall season.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were here in mid December for a wedding and found the staff ultra professional and kind, the rooms spotless and quiet (except the door to the hall which was exceptionally loud!!), the food (breakfast and happy hour) well presented and very good and the location excellent. Nothing shabby or second rate here; linens crisp and clean; (pillows a bit too thick for older necks), furnishings spotless. Nice outdoor pool on 3rd floor by fitness center.

I can't say enough about the helpfulness of the staff; they were friendly and kind-even though we were traveling with a dog! Parking is a bit tough, but not impossible if you don't want to valet. There is hourly parking on the street; free sundays,( buy parking as needed at on-sidewalk kiosks and print out receipt to leave on the dashbord) and lots behind and across from hotel. Since this is very near the convention center, parking fills up for events-but if you are aware, you can prepare!
I'm sure you will enjoy your stay here-all of us (aged 4 to 94) certainly did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing