We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Ranked #10 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Really enjoyed my time at the Embassy Suites in Houston. Generally I don't stay in Downtown hotels when I need a car, but this trip most of the business focus was Downtown.Not built as one of the Atrium designs, this hotel has a conventional feel. Great furnishings and a generous bathroom and shower. Very comfortable and fairly quiet, even with families.

Extremely friendly staff and the workout facilities were spacious and well appointed. Parking is a little steep which is alway my problem with Downtown properties, but there are other lots around which could be used. As usual at an Embassy, the breakfast is well worth it and will hold you till dinner.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvanduzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    229
    55
    30
    15
See reviews for
321
152
24
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Omg this place is one of the nicest friendliest and cleanest places I have stayed and I travel ALOT for business. I will be staying here whenever I come to Houston from now on!!! I will be back. They remember your name when you walk through the door! Never had that happen ever! The shuttle takes you where you want to go within a few miles of the hotel and it picks you up! Rooms are beautiful!!! Just lovely and they have direct tv!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjtaylor409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay here. The staff was helpful and friendly. On arrival the valet quickly helped me with my luggage and took care of my car. Check-in was quick and easy. Breakfast each day had plenty of tasty options and the portions were good sized. The rooms are standard size for Embassy Suites. The only noted problem was the mattress was too firm for my taste. The individual cooking omelets went out of his way to make sure he met everyone’s needs. Manager’s reception has a good selection of alcohol. My only critique is I have found better food options at other Embassy Suites. Check out was easy and my car was waiting when I was ready to leave. I definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again should I need to return to Houston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX-BJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times on an assignment for a client in Houston and this is a great location. You do not need a rental car because most location are walkable from here and there is a series of tunnels and walkways between many offfice buildings.

The complimentary happy hour, free cooked breakfast, spacious rooms, and modern decore are all wonderful. Service is outsanding.

Room Tip: A higher floor allows you to avoid typical big city noise, and one away from the elevator core allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here 6 nights during a conference last week. It is very convenient to the convention center. The suite was large, with comfortable living room (with work area and refrigerator).
The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and efficient. When I reported a maintenance issue, it was taken care of quickly and a small belgian chocolate hammer with a sticker on it apologizing for the inconvenience was left in the room -- a nice touch.

Breakfast was good (oatmeal, omelets made to order, fresh fruit, etc.) and once guests figured out that CNN was showing every morning in one area, Fox News in another, and a third area was TV-free, we could all choose where to sit according to our individual political persuasions and avoid having our sensibilities offended before the morning coffee.

The pool is good-sized, nice towels are provided, and it was open from about 6am till about 11pm, which is quite convenient. The 24-hr coin-operated laundry (change and detergent available at the front desk) was also convenient.

The courtesy shuttle was convenient and comfortable.

As others have pointed out, the awkwardly hanging/sliding bathroom door does not allow a lot of privacy if you're sharing the room with someone you don't know intimately. Also, the housekeeping staff seemed a little rushed and made pretty quick work of my room when they did their daily visits and did not vacuum or change the sheets every third day as was announced in flyers in the room (this was not an issue for me, but it could be for some.)

And one night when I asked the bellman whether my destination (a well-known landmark in the city) was within walking distance, he made no attempt to find out and just replied rather unhelpfully, "I couldn't say; would you like a taxi?"

All in all, though, I found the hotel convenient, comfortable, and very efficiently-run and I would gladly stay here again if I needed to be downtown, near the convention center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed for almost a week in this hotel to attend a conference at the Convention Center. Everything was great. Really friendly staff. I had parcels delivered to me in the room all the time. Breakfast was very good and as a bonus they have a happy hour from 5:30 pm. Location is very convenient although there are not too many reataurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My colleague and I stayed here during our recent trip to Houston for a Conference at the Exhibition Center. The location of the hotel was great - easy walk to Exhibition Center, but also easy to get to other locations (restaurants, metro, shops, etc). The staff were super friendly (especially the doormen and consierge). We stayed in a Suite, which was perfect for a week's stay. We had a separate bedroom with two big Queen beds, comfortable space (sitting chair, desk, TV etc) - the bedroom was like a normal hotel room with SUPER comfortable beds! We then had a full/large bathroom (bathtub/shower, full sink, etc) with a little 'kitchenette' or bar area outside the bathroom (sink, microwave and bar fridge). Then there was the living area and a large desk for the two of us to work on, after meetings at the conference. It was so comfy and ideal for sharing. ALSO - there was a door on the bedroom that kept out a lot of noise if shut -- eg my colleague could skype or work in the living area, and I could easily sleep... so quiet! The other added plusses were the "Managers drinks" 5.30- 7.30pm each night, with free drinks and nibbles (chips, salsa, humous, small finger foods). This was great for meeting up with friends and colleagues. Free wifi (ideal for business) and breakfast were also great. The pool was great, and the gym is well equipped (dumbells and everything). I could have stayed for another week......

Room Tip: No particucular tips - if travelling with a business partner though, I guess ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBaby_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 510 in Houston
1,464 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 510 in Houston
418 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010-7137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing