We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent gourmet burgers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burger Palace

The Burger Palace
Ranked #115 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Description: The Burger Palace offers delicious, gourmet burgers of all varieties in Houston, Texas. Come try our incredible Akaushi Kobe beef burger!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Houston is a place with many great burger spots, but if you're looking for a gourmet burger, this is the best I've found. Try the French Connection - you might expect something a little bitter or strange from the ingredients, but it's quite moist and flavorful, even a little sweet. Also recommend the sweet potato fries and their specialty lime drink.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    53
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never on my lunch break again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I went there on my lunch break and the service was terrible - no smile, nothing plus it took about 10 minutes before someone brought me a menu. My burger and fries were good but it took half an hour from the time I ordered it til it came to my table and the $17.50 for lunch won't bring me back. Guess I'll have to keep looking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
615 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Burger Palace.. For the King of Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Their Kobe burger is truly one of the best i have ever had. Get it Medium or Medium rare if you are true beef aficionado. The twice fried fries are awesome too and the onion rings rocked. Its a little pricey and the service wasnt fast, but the food was worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good burger, awesome Parmesan fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We had some really good burgers at this place but the fries really were amazing.

My milkshake was very average, but overall really enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank Avataarkaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
581 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“All about the burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This place had great reviews, and legitimately so. I went solo for a late lunch weekday while traveling, only a couple people in the place; while there isn't a bar to sit at, there is a row of seating along the wall so you don't feel like you're on display for eating by yourself.

Seems it used to be an order-at-the-counter burger place that has been made over with new decor. So - it is a nice place to relax now. There is also a large beer and wine selection. I was worried walking in that the prices were going to be outrageous as there are signs about it all being Kobe beef, etc. The burgers were more expensive - but not $20 or anything.

I was steered away from the "False Calamari" (deep fat fried bell peppers) and to mozzarella-tomato salad - see the pic. It was quite good with a tangy vinegar across the top. Next I went with the Vietnamese Burger (also a recommendation by the waitress), and a Napa Slaw. The burger was served on a really large, fresh bun that dwarfed the thick patty. Although the large bun was necessary to contain the large number of ingredients topping the patty.

Plenty of other specialty burgers to choose from, as well as Chicken-based sandwiches. A satisfying low-key lunch meal that was not over the top like many restaurants in this part of town, and not bottom of the barrel chain burger place that can be found nearby. Parking at peak periods will be an issue as there are a number of popular places in the strip center. I will return and try other burgers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Palace also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Burger Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing