We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Green

Discovery Green
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
NASA Space Center and Kemah Boardwalk Tour
Ranked #19 of 290 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This downtown park offers free yoga classes, movie nights and toddler story times. The park has a playground, spray fountain and Mist Tree, great for hot Houston days. Enjoy free WiFi and open air reading rooms, or borrow balls or games.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice little park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I decided to walk to Discovery Green while staying in Houston. By the time I got there I was very hot and seeking shade. Within a minute of sitting down I was asked for money so I decided to move. They were setting up for a festival so most of the park was out of bounds and the soundchecks were extremely loud in the remaining park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    198
    67
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely park, nice grounds, links the surrounding area. Can be dominated by conferences, star bucks had closed off half the park during our visit. No security worries, well used area in the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I thought it was bigger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I like the fact that we could picnic there (no alcohol) and that there was a lot of shade, however I thought the park itself was bigger and the reading room is so small! I really wouldn't go there if I lived nearby very often other than to perhaps use it for running. Also parking is a nightmare and way expensive. You HAVE to live nearby or be in a hotel nearby. Not a lot of activities during the weekend nor the day that were free and the restaurant wasn't even opened.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LolitaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“LITTLE "CENTRAL PARK" @ HOUSTON DOWNTOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Discovery Green is our "green park" in the middle of the city. Labor day weekend as every day at summer the kids can enjoy the Gateway Fountain, the Mist Tree, Kinder Lake and the playground. Besides you can play frisbee, bocce or your favorite sport on the different spaces in the park. You can join zumba, tonic o yoga class (see calendar at www.discoverygreen.com).
It's a place to relax, refresh and enjoy outdoors.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX :(
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Discovery Small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Took my two children to this park. The park was nice, however, very SMALL. This is def a childrens park. My concerns are that with so many kids running around, the park is not "fenced off", yet the dog-run was fenced off and VERY shaded. There isn't that much shade around the play-area. and at the time of our trip, there were several "homeless" individuals there.

The snack bar/barrista Keosk, are VERY overpriced. No parking associated with the Park. So if there is a game going on at Reliant or Toyota Center, your gonna pay the $$$ just to go to the park. We happened to be there durrning an Astro's game and we paid $10 just to park accross the street.

Overall, I'd like to go back when it is a little cooler and not have to pay $$$ for parking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VSPFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Green also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Discovery Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing