We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Yard House

Yard House
Ranked #80 of 8,312 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you are willing to try some really good and different beer types this is the place. Spinach cream, onion tower and huge nachos were really great. Service quality is the downside of the place. Regards.

Thank Rigotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Yard House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 307 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

When I first reviewed Yard House, it was recently opened and the City Centre complex yet to be completed. Now it is a urban hotspot of restaurants and activities, and Yard House has changed to be expensive, loud and service poor.

The prices inched up regularly but the food remains decent. The happy hour food deals are great however the crush of people is a huge putoff now. The place is always packed and difficulty to find a seat these days unless you go on the off peak times.

Still great selection of beers, however be prepared as your server will ask when you sit down what you'd like then no guarantee when you'll see them again. We now go elsewhere, especially with friends, family or clients. Its too loud!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrendaMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Manager at Yard House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Hi BrendaMurray!
We are so sorry to hear of your recent disappointment. While we value the honest feedback, we know that we can do much better than what you have described and would appreciate the opportunity to turn things back around.
If you would care to take the extra time, we hope that you will take another moment to contact us at guestservices@yardhouse.com so that we may learn more and hopefully restore your faith in us! :)
Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The perfect place to relax, enjoy great food and drinks!The restaurant was busy, but the wait was worth it! They have hundreds of beers from which to select and the staff does an excellent job helping you find just the right one for your taste. If you are not a beer drinker, the other drinks are also well done.

The food is unique and delicious. The tomato souop, the tortilla soup were perfect. I urge you to try the lobster burger with truffle fries - you'll not be disappointed.

Thank Ruffus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi Ruffus06 - Thanks for the great review, we're happy to hear you had a great time with us. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

went with a group of friends for happy hour

food is okay.
service sucks, the bartender kept asking for id while we waited a long time for a table. a waitress at our table made my gurlfriend finish her drink before getting another one. spoke with one of the store managers explaining the situation and she just walked off. wanted to speak to another manager and that one didn't do anything about it.
don't get the tall beer glasses, not worth the $12.
this place is nothing special. me and my friends will never go again. you can find better/cheaper food at so many other places in houston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I love coming here for lunch! Great prices on their lunch combos! Customer service is awesome! They have a great patio outside that is covered now with awesome fans! They also have another patio that is uncovered. They are always friendly when we go in. I've come at night and there's always a wait because of how popular this place is. I enjoy this place tremendously! Usually a group of us head over for lunch and our food is always out fast. Definitely reccomend this place!! If you want reservations, they will only take it if it's a big number. Otherwise, try their call ahead service to be sure you don't have to wait too long.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmstennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Hi kmstennis - Thank you for the great review of our Houston location! We're pleased to hear that you always have a great time when you come to visit us and are enjoying the new covered patio. We hope that you'll continue to come and see us often, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing