We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Mexican for a high end place.”

guadalajara del centro
Ranked #40 of 8,237 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
TX
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican for a high end place.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Out of town business associates wanted Mexican and having no car, they chose this. Pretty standard fare; had a great verde sauce for the never ending chips. Decent happy hour margaritas. Attentive service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freshisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    86
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Tex Mex”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Been several times with small and large groups of business associates. Great drinks and food. Service is very good. Only complaint - those warm tortilla chips and salsa keep magically reappearing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks, but they STOLE”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I should start with the positive. The atmosphere is really great, I loved the food and drinks they brought to me. It was a little overpriced but that's what happens in downtown Houston next to the hotel district. The service was alright; it was definitely clear our server wanted us to leave as we arrived fairly late and they began cleaning up out from under us. Having been a server, I understand this.

However, when we left, I got the bill, paid with a card, and left a generous tip. My server must not have thought so as when I got the bill my statement showed a higher amount than I left on the receipt. I will not return to this restaurant as I do not frequent any establishment that inflates tips after the customer leaves (it was a party of two, so don't think it was the 15% standard upcharge for 6 or more). Final thoughts on the restaurant CONSUMER BEWARE

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Drinks”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Came here as part of a conference trip. The place was extremely busy and the wait staff was a little overwhelmed, but very friendly. Came twice in the same week and loved the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice find downtown”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Their complementary salsa and chips were good enough to get us to come back, but we found everything to be very well done.

We has the ceviche of the house which was bright and flavorful. Their house special enchiladas were outstanding and the tacos were good too. All the accompaniments were also very tasty. Large portions. The only thing we didn't care for was the smoked chicken flauta. But I would definitely go back next time I'm in town.

Helpful?
Thank 5MouseFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed guadalajara del centro also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to guadalajara del centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing