We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are gross”
Review of Airway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airway Inn
Ranked #394 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was dirty, even after morning cleaning it wouldn't be vacuumed. The blanket was never changed, or cleaned. The blanket is only a half covered bottom and the only thing you get is a top sheet to sleep with. The handle on the bathroom sink came off and wouldn't turn off the water and was left like that for me the entire time I stayed. The lights in the bathroom wouldn't turn on for a whole day, the floors were stained, the lamp shades were very stained, the lock on the door wouldn't turn the fridge wouldn't work, the air/heat unit had a terrible odor when it would turn on, and the outside parking area was very dirty.

Room Tip: Check your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroncosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a layover at the Houston Airport and just needed a place to spend the night and we found this hotel on hotels.com. It was pretty cheap at $50/night and had a free airport shuttle which was convenient. It also offered free breakfast after 6 AM but our flight was too early to take advantage of this "perk". The front desk clerk was also REALLY nice, so that was another good thing about the hotel.

Now the bad: the rooms seemed pretty dirty, we kept our shoes on the whole time as the floor did not look clean. There was an empty "fast food" ketchup container on the floor and the desk was really dirty. We did not look at the sheets too closely because we were worried they would be dirty and it was too late to make a switch.

Also - when we arrived at 9 PM there was no hot water, we couldn't take a hot shower after our long day of travel. It was supposed to be fixed overnight. At 5 AM there was still no hot water so again, no hot shower.

There are no restaurants nearby, so if you stay at this hotel, make sure you pick something up before you arrive. We ended up walking to the gas station for some chips as there is really no other option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room was ok, what I can expect of a hotel of the type. It had a microwave and a small fridge which was convenient. The decor was not too nice.... even though not "old", it makes it seem like it. There was a big spider in the bathtub and on second day, I noticed tub was not cleaned properly. BUt, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. The location is not good. Only a convenience store on the gas station next door. Had do drive a couple of miles to get something to eat. Hope I don´t stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshallDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Elwood8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

dirty hand prints on bath room door, busted door handle, dirty bed sheet, dirty carpets. no hair dryer

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport
4.1 mi away
Ramada Houston Intercontinental Airport East
11.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Hwy 290 NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South, TX
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North
Quality Inn & Suites North
#349 of 517 in Houston
65 reviews
21.5 mi away
Motel 6 Houston - Hobby TX
Motel 6 Houston - Hobby TX
#399 of 517 in Houston
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airway Inn

Address: 2221 Greens Rd, Houston, TX 77032-1209 (Formerly Howard Johnson Houston)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $57 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing