We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conscientious manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Airway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airway Inn
Ranked #379 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Conscientious manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

I really appreciated the help I received from the manager working the night shift. He reassigned me a room on the ground floor when he saw that I had a heavy bag, helped me with my luggage, and staged an emergency repair when I realized, upon my departure, that my bag had been damaged in transit. Thank you, Girish.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworldin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    60
    43
    60
See reviews for
53
36
45
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

After having read the various reviews about this place thought I would give it a shot since it was near the airport. Checked in early Sunday evening ... asked for 1st floor room .. got 2nd floor room. Went to the original room on 2nd floor which way on the other end of the complex only to find that someone had attempted to break in as both the window and frame were all bent and broken. Went back to the manager's office and explained the situation .. they seemed to be dumbfounded ... but gave me another room two doors down. Wanted to go out and get something to eat and drink, only to discover that this place is at least 5 miles in any direction from a 1/2 way decent restaurant. YES .. I did attempt to find a couple of restaurants based on the owners directions/suggestions. Upon aimlessly driving in all 4 directions ... I concluded my only choices were the c-store next store or the hotel vending machines. YUCK! After purchasing some microwave popcorn (stamped 2007) and beer from next door c-store. I found that the free wi-fi did not work .. called the front desk and they simply blew me off. The bathroom sink did not have a plunger. The in wall A/C unit was extremely noisy. The place was clean and fortunately the TV did work. Would I stay there again ?? NO /\ PLEASE keep all these things in mind before ... considering staying here !!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RBucholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is relatively close to IAH. The hotel is clean and well kept. The owners are very solicitous and happy to help.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wklein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Lovely welcome from shuttle driver and manager. Comfortable room, spacious and clean. Great overnight stop.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

I chose this hotel as its reasonably priced and has an airport shuttle.

The room was large, comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. There is a gas station next door which sells Pizzas etc if you need to grab something to eat.

Overall, a good choice!

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank WillRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Nice new place flat screen tv. Clean room no problems no real issues. Nice lite breakfast no eggs or meat but lots of fresh fruit and pastries. The bad would be no pool or wi-fi also cell phone recption is iffy in the back rooms your just in a little dead zone. Over all for the price and location it can not be beat!! They have a pick van from the airport with no problem but you need to make a reservation for your return the night before.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seemyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

our son is a patient at MD Anderson Hospital and we needed a place (America's Best Value Inn) to accommodate our need for a few months. We were very pleased with the service and personnel. The shuttle and desk personnel went above their duty in making our difficult situation better. We recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momgama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport
4.1 mi away
Ramada Houston Intercontinental Airport East
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Intercontinental Houston TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush Intl Airport E
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airway Inn

Property: Airway Inn
Address: 2221 Greens Rd, Houston, TX 77032-1209 (Formerly Howard Johnson Houston)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing