We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel near MD Anderson and Medical Center Houston Texas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Medical Center
Ranked #154 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed October 26, 2010

New, pleasant, excellent staff...the best place I've found to stay near MD Anderson!

Shuttle to hospital

Good Wifi

Great LCD TV...not such great programming choices unless you pay for premium services.

Room is great, lobby is great !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atlas13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Houston Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

The hotel was new and clean and very nice. i had no problems at all. However, there were some differences from the other Marriotts (mostly courtyard) i have stayed at. 1. the shampoo was a different brand from the other hotels, i know it is NOT a deal breaker. 2. no room service, and the bistro has limited hours of operation. 3. no pay per view. but otherwise it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagles3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I made a reservation for my wife and I at the Courtyard Marriott Medical Center in Houston, Texas for 10 nights last month traveling from Las Vegas, Nevada. I am a Leukemia patient preparing for a bone marrow transplant.

My reservation was priced very reasonably and in line with other hotels that were being offered, which was booked as a room including breakfast.

My medical condition is extremely fragile and the thought of staying at a Marriott hotel with Medical Center in its name would be close, comfortable and safe. During the duration of my stay, I am attached to a pump receiving treatment 7 days a week/24 hours a day for my condition in an attempt to keep me in remission awaiting bone marrow transplant. Do you think that any additional anxiety is welcome in addition to the many health related situations that we have to contend?

Upon checking at the Courtyard Medical Center hotel; with Grace the front desk receptionist; she mentioned that the rate I booked did not include breakfast. I showed her my confirmation that stated breakfast was included. She said she would honor the breakfast and show it to management.

Management is where the weakness is as the management team should not be trusted to run any business and certainly not a hotel that has the Marriott brand attached. For the subsequent mornings my wife and I go down to the lounge to have breakfast and the staff bill our breakfast to the house account. Everything seemed to be fine with the breakfast being included in our room rate.

After eight nights at the Courtyard, we sit down in the lounge to have breakfast at 9:15am on the morning of June 23, 2010. I order my breakfast and sit down in the lounge, awaiting delivery. Mr. Charles Lewis, Assistant Manager, comes to my table and mentions that breakfast is not included in my rate and that I owed $17.00 for that days breakfast for wife and myself. He also mentions that I would be charged for breakfast on the previous days, which were billed to the house account. Additionally, breakfast for our remaining two days would be billed my account.

I went up to the room and returned showing Charles Lewis, Courtyard Assistant Manager the confirmation email stating that breakfast was included. He said it didn’t matter! He was rude and curt. There is a way to deliver unwelcome messages in a caring and compassionate way. Keep in mind; I am connected to a pump machine still waiting on that mornings breakfast. We both left without waiting on breakfast and headed back to our room. We needed to prepare for the days appointments at MD Anderson.

At this point, my wife and I were both livid on how we were just treated. We called the front desk every ½ hour until 11:30am asking for the manager, Barry Shank, but we never heard back from him. The front desk stated that Barry Shank was in a meeting, and then needed to go to the bank, but that he was receiving all my messages. The front desk apologized for his lack of attention.

Charles Lewis’s, Assistant Manager's attitude cost us missing our appointment for that morning at MD Anderson and a lot of unneeded anxiety. We decided to check out of our room because of his unapologetic attitude and lack of compassion. We recognize that people have a choice on how to deliver a message to a guest that is fighting for his life with two remaining days left on our room reservation!

From our experience, this situation was a dramatic letdown from the superlative service that we usually receive from Marriott. This is definitely a franchise property that does not care as much as a corporate property. Barry Shank, Manager or his Assistant should be fired for treating a Cancer patient fighting for his life this way. They do not care!

Stay away from this property!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank rbartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, Manager at Courtyard Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

I am reaching out to you in reference to your tripadvisor posting back in August of 2010 and on behalf of the Marriott family. I’d like to resolve this matter in your favor.

My name is Joseph Sherfield and I am the Assistant General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott Houston Medical Center located in Houston, TX. I am confident that given a chance to speak with you in person or over the phone you will see that I can turn this negative experience around, I kindly request you to give me this opportunity to see what I may be able to do for you and in turn help me and my associates earn a positive reputation for this property and motivate us to do a better job and enjoy coming to work on a daily basis.

Looking forward to hear from you at your convenience, please feel free to call me directly at 832-214-6200 or 713-668-4500 ex 4908

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I live in the metro Houston area but every few weeks I have meetings that cannot be missed, so I stay in the city to avoid rush hour.

My past two trips have been this hotel whereas previously I stayed at Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn Med Ctr.

This place is ten times better than my past experience with courtyards. It's totally different, open lobby, no disgusting buffet and an awesome view from a balcony room.

My first trip was during a convention and I had no trouble parking in the garage. Couldn't sleep one night so I ran down about 2 am and got a snack in the store and sat out on my balcony.

Very nice lady checked me in and a very professional young man checked me out around 5 am. The employees they have say a lot about Marriott or the franchise company (not sure who owns this one). They do an awesome job.

Other than that, like my title says the location cannot be beat. A mile from Reliant and 610 and 2 miles from the medical center.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sappington535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Andreina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, Manager at Courtyard Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank joaoppcoimbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, Manager at Courtyard Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
Thank Rodolfo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard M, Manager at Courtyard Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Comfort Suites
#204 of 517 in Houston
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Medical Center

Address: 7702 Main St, Houston Medical Center, Houston, TX 77030-4406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#45 Family Hotel in Houston
#65 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $125 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Houston Medical Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing