We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little noisy from the freeway, but nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Houston Marriott Energy Corridor
Ranked #100 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My first reaction was this was going to be awful as hotel is right next to Katy Freeway, ie noisy.

However, they try to make up for that with very good staff. Everyone is very friendly and helpful, from the security guards to the serving staff in the bar and the breakfast room to the maids.

The rooms are perfectly fine. The bed was excellent, one of the most comfortable I've ever had.

The restaurant (ie the bar) is not bad. Not great, but not bad. Hamburger excellent.

The gym is pretty good, and the breakfasts very good.

Overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from freeway as possible, although not sure if it really makes much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We're happy to hear that our friendly staff made you feel special throughout your stay. I am very glad to hear the freeway was not overwhelming. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 233 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this new construction Marriott in west Houston and was impressed by the service and hotel. New design Marriott with a nice bar area and seemingly larger guest rooms. Great access to I-10 and good selection of restaurants nearby. Only complaint is that the Concierge Lounge was a bit small (there were approximately 10 people in there at 7:00AM and all the tables were used) and the breakfast food quality was not up to typical Marriott standards......I'll chalk that up to being new. Will definitely give them another chance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We're happy to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A typical Marriott in comfortable & well know décor (clean & tasteful), friendly staff (they know you & say hello), comfortable rooms.

As I was in the property for 2 weeks on business you do not want any surprises and expect all the features of Marriott

My features in this review are:
A big parking lot so easy to park
VERY convenient to the numerous Oil & Gas Companies
Shuttle van
Music in the bar
STARBUCKS in the lobby

No bad rooms & inspite of being adjacent to the Katy Freeway limited noise. The morning breakfast is adequate. My only gripe is a limited dinner menu.

Safe Landings Mike N

Does this help?

Room Tip: No bad rooms that I can see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We're happy to hear that our friendly staff made you feel special throughout your stay. I am very glad to hear you were able to utilize our dining options as well as our shuttle. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very clean and modern. The staff are outstanding. Very helpful. Very keen to make your stay a good one. Great shuttle service as well. Good bar area and bar menu is good. There is also a daily healthy option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireandpaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that out Friendly team made you feel special throughout your stay. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service was friendly and the hotel was very modern looking. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms. The pool was nice, private and quiet when I was there. I stayed for four nights and there are plenty of shopping areas, grocery stores, and restaurants in the area. The room had a mini fridge so I could keep some drinks in the room too. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that out Friendly team made you feel special. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrived here very fatigued from weeks of business travel and lack of sleep. Dragged ourselves into the lobby and were greeted by Kris and Neil at the reception desk. Immediately we were welcomed w exceptional cheer and friendliness and also humor. We felt like we were talking w old friends. Kris was wonderful, and quickly accomodated us into a "quiet room at the back." The staff here are amazingly friendly and in a genuine fashion. They seem to put alot of value into having the guests feel welcomed and a bit "at home." Even the general manager stopped in the hallway, introduced himself, and asked if I was finding everything I needed, and then proceeded to walk me to the breakfast nook. Every staff member has exemplified this spirit of friendliness and hospitality. Our housekeeper was great.

Our room was updated, meticulous, comfortable and spacious. The large bath w soaking tub and freestanding shower is awesome. We have had the daily "healthy selection" which is posted in the elevator; a meal around 400 calories. They are delicious and the portions are quite ample despite the limited calories. I wish other hotels had this option. There is the Derrick's lounge w an outdoor waterfall for relaxing and meals and the outdoor pool complex is larger and much nicer than the pictures on the website.

There is a freeway in the front, but that is the nature of the energy corridor, so request a room in the back if you are a light sleeper. The only con is the distance to downtown as there is no metro in this area.

Would stay here again for a business trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have less freeway noise. Ask for a room ending in 29. They are wonderful especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissafromNorthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that out fantastic team made you feel special. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here again for the second time in a year. This time I could not get my suitcase open, but Gilbert from maintenance came by and helped me out, he was just as friendly and service minded as are all the staff at the hotel.
At breakfast though, I did experience that I never received tea and juice unless I was active in getting it myslef. There is also a loose bit of flooring at the fromt end of the restaurant that needs to be sorted out before someone has an accident.
Beds are excellent, so are the amenities, all in all a very comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the intersate are noisy, so pick one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your return visit to our hotel, it is always wonderful to see familiar faces. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that out Friendly team made you feel special. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt House Houston-West/Energy Corridor
2.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Houston Energy Corridor
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston I-10 West/Energy Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Houston I-10 West/Park Row
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Houston West Energy Corridor
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston West Park 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Energy Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Energy Corridor

Address: 16011 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77094-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#69 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $128 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Energy Corridor 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a vibrant place to stay and play when you reserve accommodations at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, offering modern amenities that cater to the modern traveler. From powerful energy companies and expansive malls to lush parks and popular sports complexes, find it all around our West Houston Energy Center hotel's accommodations located on I-10 Katy Freeway in West Houston. Treat the kids to a stop at the American Girl Store at Memorial City Mall, cheer on your favorite Little League baseball player at Queenston CFSA Baseball Complex or attend a social gathering in one of our elegant event rooms. After a rewarding day out, order some classic Texas fare at The Petroleum Grill, our popular restaurant, and grab a refreshing drink with friends or colleagues at The Derrick Bar. Take advantage of our state-of-the-art fitness center and relaxing outdoor pool before returning to your well-appointed guest room or suite to complete your stay in Houston's growing Energy Corridor! Feel the power of hospitality at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Houston Marriott Energy Corridor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Energy Corridor Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing